We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Settlers Beach Villa Hotel
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
East Mids
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This is a great self catering option on the west coast. Great location only a 10 minute walk into Holetown with it's good selection of restaurants and shops and supermarket. The villa was a really good size, with two double bedrooms, an outside covered courtyard dining area, lounge and indoor dining area and fully fitted kitchen with washer, dryer, microwave, coffee machine etc. We found the restaurant, Spago, to be excellent, lovely food, reasonable wine list, not as overpriced as some of the other posher eateries on the west coast. We travelled on a package with Virgin who arranged for a small welcome pack of groceries. The beach was disappointing and it has clearly shrunk since the photos on their website were taken, but there was never a shortage of loungers in the pool area and each villa had its own garden area with loungers. Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Note that the Virgin brochure states the restaurant serves breakfast, but this was not the case while we were here. However the Sandpiper Hotel next door serves a spectacular offering, very well worth sampling during your stay. Offers free wifi, but verrrrrrry slow connection speeds making it unusable at times. Photos on their website are a pretty accurate reflection of what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We've been going to Barbados since the 1970's but have only just found Settlers Beach Villas - what were we doing! Having just returned last week, we still have withdrawal symptoms.

The resort is excellent, beautiful villa - No 1 - with the lovely maid Cheryl who was very friendly and welcoming. Great reception staff too. Gorgeous surroundings with wonderful gardens and palm fringed pool with just a stroll through the gardens to the beach.

For nature lovers there were mongooses, monkeys, humming birds and the nightly Frog & Cricket Chorus!

We will definitely be returning to Settlers Beach on our next visit to Barbados.

If the management of Settlers Beach read this, please, please don't sell out to condo capitalists.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Having read a few poor reports on Trip Advisor re the Restaurant (Spago's) at Settlers we went with an open mind - it totally exceeded our expectations - the staff very friendly especially Gina and Samantha - very helpful. We ate at The Fish Pot but Spago (certainly with the Scallops) were far far nicer at Spago's. All staff at Settler's are a dream - a real home from home - always a cheery smile - cant do enough for you - cleaning staff excellent - we enjoyed the complimenatry newspaper every day - the turn down service was a real treat with the chocolates on the pillows as was Toni the beach guy he was always around when you needed him - Gina and the team at reception were great as well - thank you Settlers for a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devereaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonSydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at Settlers Beach Villa as the location was spot on. The beach the swimming and sun sets were fabulous. Our holiday was made exceptional due to the wonderful Celia and her staff. Also special thanks to the flamboyant (mustang) Sally who totally spoiled us at her wonderful Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captianmice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I booked this hotel a week before we travelled to our first time in Barbados, and was very pleased with my find. We stayed in a 2 bed townhouse on Settlers Beach, and found the accomodation to be very spacious and a great layout in terms of how each villa is set out in the grounds. The staff were very nice and helpful and made you feel that nothing was a trouble. My 2 year old daughter loved the gardens which were safe for her to run around, and we liked to be able to walk into Holetown, but it that little bit further along the road not to be right in the heart of it.

The downside, like others have said is the beach, lovely it probably was but has reduced in size due to the high tides. At the start of our break there was no beach at all, and we were quite disappointed, especially as the seas on the West coast were very rough. But about a week in the seas calmed and the beach returned just enough to get a around 8-10 sunbeds on. Also very dissapointing was the restaurant Spagos at Settlers Beach. We had terrible service and the food was very average. Such a shame as the accomodations is so nice. shame the restaurant is not run by the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveMonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The grounds were lovely - set within tropical gardens, with a pool and beautiful, albeit small, beach. Very peaceful and relaxing with a different feel to the other hotels on the west coast.
We stayed in the apartment above the reception - great value for money. Lovely rooms, enough space for two, balcony with views of the gardens.
The location was perfect - walking distance to Holetown where there are some great restaurants and shops etc.
The only complaint we would have is with the restaurant staff. They were unfriendly and unhelpful - in complete contrast to the hotel staff. The restaurant was contracted out so it was separate to the hotel but it was a shame that they let the hotel down. We wouldn't choose to eat there again despite the beautiful setting and decent food.
We had a lovely time at Settlers' Beach. We would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platinumcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I am writing this from the viewpoint that I am not absolutely sure what some of the other units are like but so here goes.

Its hot here in Barbados but I was surprised on arrival here how much warmer it felt, I had already been on the island for three weeks, so was acclimatised but the stillness of air here somehow made it feel somewhat oppressive.

Forget the Beach bit of the equqtion as it seems that most of the west coast now has big problems with shifting sands even at the prestigeous Sandy Lane due to whatever influences whether global weather changes or as is clear the changes being brought about by some greedy developers.

Half the west cost is either subjest to developments of some sort or soon will be. I had just spent 3 weeks a little further north in St Peter and the beech was much higher by some feet than last year and here at Settlers its just not there now, gone, forget the carfree walk along the beach.

Settlers itself looks like it needs an upgrade, a bit edgy in places and not brilliantley equipped.

The restaurant is franchised and whilst the food is surprisingly good there seems to be a lack of cheer here somehow, which somewhat takes the edge off.

The WiFi leaves a bit to be desired with weak signals other than on the roof hanging by ones toenals, not a good idea after another bottle of Mount Gay rum I can tell you.

IIs clean and tidy but nowhere near up to date and as far as I can honestly say a little dissapointing

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint James Parish hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#13 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Treasure Beach
Treasure Beach
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.9 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Beach Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Beach Villa Hotel

Property: Settlers Beach Villa Hotel
Address: Holetown | St. James Beach, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Beach Villa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Settlers Beach Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Beach Hotel
Settlers Beach Saint James
Settlers Beach Villa Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing