We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Settlers Beach Villa Hotel
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Eastleigh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights. The property is self catering and is 5 mins walk from the center of hole town, the villa was ok, slightly tired but well equipped and suitable for a couple and families too.

When we went the time was slightly off season and was very quiet, this was unfortunate as there was not a great deal of excitement to be had. We found this to be an expensive option as we usually go to all inclusive hotels. There is a restaurant on site called SPAGO, this served breakfast lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: request a sea view, with this in mind you are less than 1 min to the beach anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I had been here before, but the friend I came with had not. It was her first visit to the Caribbean so it had to be good, and it was. Settlers Beach has its own atmosphere - the freedom to do as you will, but near enough to adjoining facilities to make use of them easy. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - my Mum, aged nearly 98 died whilst I was there, but I was givem every facility to contact family members. Being right up there in St James', if ever I had the chance I would return to this special place.

Room Tip: Best to stay slightly away from the kitchen/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scilla-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Beautiful place. Specially for family's with kids. Very well maintained and the stuff are very smart and helpful. Will probably come back again with the friends.

Internet connection/Wi-Fi was TERRIBLE. I hope the management will read this and realize that reliable connection is a MUST, not an option. My wife had to be in touch with her work all the time and poor connection made her frustrated many times. I will definitely check before I come next time if any improvement has been made.

Spago Restaurant is so, so. Good if you don't feel like going out or have nothing in your fridge.

I must say that the whole complex is a little bit tired and in need of refurbishing, but than again, cost- benefit ratio is well on Settlers side. Sandpiper resort next door is little bit more luxurious, but very expensive. Probably double what we paid for our accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdrecun-zadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for one week in February for our honeymoon. This was my first trip. My husband stayed once before for 10 days while on a cricket tour and loved it so much that we went back. He stayed in one of the bungalow villas. We were in a town house.

SETTING: The villas are situated around a beautiful garden that hides a lovely swimming pool and the whole place is situated directly on the beach with two villas looking out over the sea. There is a third villa that has a partial view of the sea from the upstairs balcony (i know because that's the one we stayed in!). We were situated away from the road and found it extremely quiet. With the windows closed and the fan on you could hear the lapping sea...very relaxing!

VILLAS: The room was spotless with a beautiful, big bed. The downstairs was functional - a litle dark - but that kept it fairly cool and we didn't feel any need to spend too long downstairs anyway. We were too busy enjoying the balcony, the garden and the beach. My husband felt that the bungalow living areas were a little nicer but overall preferred the townhouse villa.

SPAGOS: We only ate in Spago's once and found it to be absolutely fine. They certainly have an amazing location and wathing the sunset with a cocktail was lovely!

BEACH: We thought the beach was perfect but we're not really beachy people, although we managed it quite well this holiday. It is very small and the sea on some days came right up and under the loungers. Worth bearing in mind if you know what you like. We actually thought this added to it's charm and it kept it quite quiet as well. They put out about 8 or 10 loungers each day, and they were never full while we were there. There are also lovely people staffing the beach hut and they are happy too put out more beach loungers/cushions/brollies as required. They can also lend snorkels, buckets and spades etc.

FOOD: The location regarding restaurants is great - it's a short walk into Holetown. So expensive of course, which makes having the self-catering option very good. The supermarket in Holetown seems really expensive as well. We would recommend Jordans supermarket in Speightstown for a slightly cheaper option!

STAFF AND COST: The staff are lovely as well. Very helpful and welcoming. I have given it five stars because we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would love to go back. However, i was torn slightly between 4 and 5 stars simply because it is very expensive and I don't know how it might compare to a hotel charging roughly the same per night. (Obviously you get a whole villa for your money at settlers). I don't know, Barbados is expensive anyway. We would love to return but certainly wouldn't be able to afford one of the villas. Will be saving up to stay in the apartment though as the overall atmosphere, the gardens and the beach are worth it.

BARBADOS: Such a lovely, welcoming island with friendly people proud of their island. If you like exploring there's plenty of it to do. There is a lot to see, we would certainly recommend a trip to the East Coast with the wild Atlantic and the warm tidal pools - beautiful big empty beaches. Atlantis restaurant is well worth a visit. Huntes garden was also a lovely experience. If you like golf, Apes Hill is nice.

Sorry for the long review.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JimLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

8 nights at the Settlers. The Staff are smart and professional. The location was terrific. Accommodations were very comfortable with an extremely well equipped kitchen (not that it was used that much). The on site restaurant 'Spago' was the weak point with simple dishes that really lacked any flair or depth of taste. Having said that, the thin crust pizza we enjoyed at lunch was good but sadly the dinner menu just does not stand up.
We ate at some superb restaurants. I recommend the dining next door at The Sandpiper, superb service and one of the finest renditions of a foie gras appetizer I have ever enjoyed. Daphne's was good but does not live up to the hype in terms of service, a very attractive and stylish staff came over as being a bit pompous. Cin Cin was excellent with superb food and an enthusiastic and efficient staff. Tides was close to perfect with a great bar staff of talented mixoligists and a wonderful menu nicely prepared. The Cliff was as it should be in its stunning location, special! Leaves a sting in the wallet though!
A little Indian restaurant around the corner from Settlers was credible if you crave a decent curry. The Vindaloo provided all the heat I could handle. A sushi restaurant (the name escapes me) at the end of the same road as the Indian, Sitar was very good. Owned by a most amiable Englishman the welcome was warm and real.
At the Settlers' the GM, a Kiwi by the name of Vanessa runs a tight ship and one that I would recommend to everyone. Book it, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The villas to the rear of the property get a lot of road noise but its not too intrusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here Nov 21st - 28th, 5th time on the island, to keep it brief this in our opinion was first class self catering ( not that we did any we just ate out ) accommodation situated on a supurb small stretch of beach, crystal clear sea yards from your villa door, just 5 mins stroll from Holetown.
Huge spacious villa some bungalow style some two storey we could not beleive the size of the place, clean nicely furnished new air con in all bedrooms, excellent friendly helpful staff, would reccomend to anyone and gladly return.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Villa number 7 can be one or two bedrooms literally 30 yards to the beach, faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MattB812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I have just returned from Settlers beach and it was great. I stayed with two friends sharing a two bed, two story house which was very spacious and comfortable. My only critisism was that there was no air conditioning downstairs and it became very hot especially in the evenings when we resorted to sitting upstairs in the air conditioned bedrooms to keep cool.

Our house (no. 12) was very nicely furnished we did have a few maintenance problems but these were immediatley put right including a brand new cooker which arrived a couple of hours after we reported that the oven wouldn't work.
Some of the other houses and bungalows we saw looked a little tired but we heard that the complex has been sold and is about to undergo a renovation programme.

The beach is small but idilic with no trouble getting a sunbed. The pool is well maintained and a very pleasant area.

Shops, including a very well stocked supermarket just a few minutes away, taxi's just across the road.

Everyone in Barbados made us so welcome and I will return just as soon as I can.

Room Tip: If there are more than two of you request a house instead of a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 907Chris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint James Parish hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Treasure Beach
Treasure Beach
#13 of 26 in Saint James Parish
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Beach Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Beach Villa Hotel

Property: Settlers Beach Villa Hotel
Address: Holetown | St. James Beach, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Beach Villa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Settlers Beach Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Beach Hotel
Settlers Beach Saint James
Settlers Beach Villa Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing