We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crystal Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Essex UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from crystal cove, great food and drinks. It's a shame the downstairs restaurant doesn't have some sort of cover, if it rains you have to go to main restaurant which is not air conditioned and turns into a buffet night, this became a bit much and really don't like buffets. Beach and watersports great fun.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    430
    104
    56
    43
See reviews for
394
869
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

If you are an Olympic swimmer training for Rio then I suggest you don't stay at Crystal Cove if you don't think the pools might be quite big enough. However it is perfectly situated next to the Caribbean Sea.
If you want a relaxing holiday in a well maintained hotel with fantastic food and staff who can't do enough for you then this is the perfect choice.
My wife and I booked the hotel after consulting Trip adviser so we were not quite sure to expect. Quite simply it was perfect. The staff are amongst the most naturally friendly and warm people I have met. They are a credit to their hotel and Barbados. We will definetly be going back in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Doccraignewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our belated honeymoon and loved every minute if it. The hotel is perfect. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The food is excellent. We liked the option of a formal and casual restaurant. We particularly enjoyed cocktail of the day from the cave bar. The pools are attractively set amongst well tended flowers. The evening entertainment was low key but enjoyable. The beach is stunningly beautiful and one highlight for us was the glass bottom boat trip to swim with the turtles which Randy organises. Our room was a garden view room but because it was on an upper floor, we got a great view of the sea. Overall, our trip was just perfect and we would love to return at some point.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frizzante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at the Crystal Cove recently what a lovely place to stay. As soon as you arrive you are looked after pampered you mite say. Rooms, Restaurants the who'll place is kept to a high standard. The staff are just great they can't do enough for you and are very friendly. As you can
tell I cant praise this hotel enough thank you Crystal cove we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in 321 area room great but the noise of the sea against the rocks can keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 23 of june till 7 of july for our wedding... Amazing hotel, staff very friendly so helpful. Huge Thank you to lisa who aranged our wedding it was just perfect! Beaches beautiful and clean staff worked very hard raking the beach every morning. Amazing food, Helpful staff, we had a power cut and all staff coped really well making sure all was ok. we had a sea view room 234 amazing view. Best holiday ever and will be returning in the future... if anyone finds a white gold wedding ring my husband lost it in the ocean 4 days into the marriage. Please contact the hotel so thay can contact us ...Russell and Donna. ..

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

You always have certain expectations when you go away on holiday, especially in a region such as Barbados! Crystal Cove will exceed everything that you will ever expect from a Caribbean holiday! Cleaned rooms daily, multiple pools for kids and infants with a pool bar for adults! Fantastic dining facilities of both a dressy up and casual nature depending on how your feeling, and water sports on the beach all included, an incredible package deal.

But the best part of the holiday had to be the staff and their commitment to your stay at their hotel. No one can do enough for you to make you feel comfortable, happy and having a good time. The main toilets became out of use in the main restaurant while we were staying, and to say sorry and for being an inconvenience the hotel put on a trip tour around the island and on a separate day a tour to the capital of Bridgetown free of charge. It was no inconvenience as you only had to walk a minute and there were toilets in your room! But it really highlights the length that these people are prepared to make your stay as comfortable as it could possibly be. The price can be off putting to some people, but in this scenario you really do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Let them know what you want, and it doesn't matter, they will accommodate you no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel was in need of a complete re-furbishment, you could not call them swimming pools they were more like ponds, only 20 beds by the pool and if you were not up at 6 you would not get one, only one restaurant to use if it rained, cave bar far too small, was it value for money- no. would I stay there again- no, was I disappointed with the holiday overaull - yes. Must say the staff were more than friendly and could not do enough for you, very pleasant, why you had to book a restaurant for average food I will never know, this hotel was recommended by Virgin - must not have been to decent hotels as this was not one of them, I called into virgin shop in Liverpool and voiced my concerns as I had read on trip advisor before we went and she told me that is was too late to change to sister hotel as was told that it was far nicer she made a note of my concerns, feel like we have wasted a huge amount of money, best part of our holiday was upper class on the plane and will now stick to emirates and Dubai, or St Lucia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.6 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
2.8 mi away
Colony Club
Colony Club
#2 of 3 in Porters
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 2 in Paynes Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
7.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.3 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove

Property: Crystal Cove
Address: Appleby, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An enchanting blend of vitality and Caribbean charm."A colorful and vibrant beachfront all-inclusive property with 88 rooms offering a seductive Caribbean charm that will make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Crystal Cove's warm, relaxed ambience and friendly service which includes all-inclusive accommodation as well as a Supervised Kids Club (for children aged 3-11) appeals to families and couples of all ages, many of whom return there year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Saint James
Crystal Cove Barbados/Saint James Parish
Crystal Cove Hotel Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing