We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday at Crystal Cove”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday at Crystal Cove”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

First time to Barbados and could not have chosen a better hotel. Clean and tidy with friendly and welcoming staff in all departments. Food very good with friendly service, especially from Hazel and Giselle who we seemed to be served by most nights. Also, A la Carte predominantly in Reflections which was unexpected but a refreshingly pleasant change from the normal buffet. Booking your time to eat was also a pleasant surprise and very welcome since one did not have to wait for a table. Pools are quite small but the sea was perfect for swimming. Beach excellent with unexpected service of drinks, fresh fruit and ice lollies.
Evening entertainment better than other Caribbean islands we have visited. Overall a great holiday and we will return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oskeete, General Manager at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Brian S,

Many thanks for your warm review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are so glad you had a wonderful experience at Crystal Cove, and we appreciate you taking the time to highlight all of the great aspects that we offer at our resort. Giselle and Hazel are thrilled to have been mentioned as well, and send their best regards.

We look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

Olivia Skeete- Baptiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    469
    120
    57
    44
See reviews for
443
986
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We went as a party of 4 to Crystal Cove in September of 2013 and had a wonderful holiday, the staff are the best I have ever encountered in any hotel - nothing is too much trouble and always willing to go the extra mile to make your holiday special. Olivia the manager is amazing and even sorted out a prescription for me for migraine tablets. The food was good, and the evening entertainment excellent.
The sunbeds on the beach were amazing - we called them 'pods' and they were very comfortable, and the service on the beach was great.
Only down side to this hotel is that is needs a refurb. particularly the bathrooms, but for what time we spent in them it was not a problem. When you are just steps from the most amazing Sea in the world you dont want to stay indoors :)
Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday such an amazing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oskeete, General Manager at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Annette H,

Many, many thanks for your wonderful comments from your recent stay with us.

With the happiness of our guests as our main priority, we are thrilled to read about the lasting impression our dedicated and friendly staff left on you. It is truly encouraging to hear about the superb experiences our guests enjoy while on holiday here at Crystal Cove.

We are delighted to hear your positive remarks regarding our food items, evening entertainment and our beautiful beach.

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to identify specific areas that we can improve to enhance the overall guest experience.

We can’t wait to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Olivia Skeete-Baptiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable two week holiday at Crystal Cove.Staff were excellent from the time we arrived to the time we left ,complete with welcoming drinks on arrival .Very friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble,they always had a cheerful greeting for you.(This we found all over the island with the locals we met who were all friendly and helpful, including beach vendors, no hassle what so ever ).Hotel in a lovely position right on the beach with plenty of well padded sunbeds with individual shades.Beach service during the day with various drinks,fruit and ice lollies ! A nice touch.Drifters bar easily accessible if you wanted more.Excellent complimentary water sports and water taxi ,no problem with booking.Recommend the water taxi to the sister hotels even if its just for a round trip ride.Hotel gardens well maintained on a daily basis.Nice outside seating areas.Good choice of well presented food in both restaurants ,though in our second week Drifters was not open on a couple of occasions which was disappointing.Excellent selection of good quality drinks and the bar staff were always happy to make any drink you asked for !
Entertainment though on every night with some good acts started too early, if you ate in Drifters you missed the majority of the act due to the early 10-30pm finish. Even though the bar was open till 11-45pm most people left at the end of the entertainment. Personally would have preferred a later finish for the entertainment.( Though talking to guests at other hotels this seems the norm for the island ) Another personal touch was the weekly managers cocktail get together for all guests to chat to the hotel management team and fellow guests.
Highly recommend the Jeep Safari tour of the island( good fun and you see most of it ! ) and the Catamaran along the west coast to swim with the turtles ( magical).
Island easy to get round with good cheap plentiful local bus service,(can get a bit overcrowded !)Locals will always tell you when you need to get off if you ask ! Easier to take Barbados dollars ,though US dollars and pounds accepted even by the local beach vendors.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelabirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our second visit, almost a year after our first. It is easy to see why people return year after year because Crystal Cove is so good at what it does.

It's both small enough to be intimate and personal but big enough to incorporate all the amenities needed.

I could just repeat my review from last year as it was just as good this time; the staff were just as friendly and sincere and everything from the room to the water sports to the evening entertainment was excellent. We had asked for a room close to where we were last year and they were able to accommodate this. The chilled Brut and food was welcome as we arrived very late on our first night.

If I could be slightly picky on one thing, only to help with making something great even better, it would be the dining options. One of the things we really enjoyed last year was the choice of a la carte most nights in both Reflections and Drifters. In addition (not that we indulged) there was usually an a la carte option for lunch at Reflections.

This year, for 2 of the 7 nights we were there, there was only a buffet choice dinner on those evenings (don't get me wrong it was very nice, but we preferred being waited upon) and only one evening where both restaurants had a la carte options. In addition, an a la carte option wasn't available at lunch time (perhaps because few wanted it given breakfast was so good).

However,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellent location and layout of the hotel. Small hotel with easy access to rooms.
Beautiful gardens attended daily by staff. Omelettes and fresh fruit at breakfast should be noted. High quality plated dinners. Good quality wine and beer. Colourful cocktails.
Wonderful daily water taxi that covers nearly all the Platinum coast.
Only minus is the rocky sea bed. Limited access to the sea but possible for sea lovers.
Friendly and helpful staff. Coffee available 24-seven.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex. England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

What a fabulous holiday we have just had at Crystal Cove. From the minute we arrived, the staff made us feel so welcome. The accommodation was lovely, clean and comfortable, we had a suite (which we didn't bargain on) The food in both restaurants was delicious, loved the fact you could almost sit on the beach for your meal in Drifters restaurant. We loved everything about this Hotel but the most important was the staff, from the Manager's Olivia and Sophia, the receptionists, Lisa and the other's, Shaunna and all in the restaurant and bars, everyone was there to make sure you had a fantastic holiday! What a high standard you have at Crystal Cove, we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was perfect, near the beach, not near the road. Number 138.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

After another fantastic holiday at the Crystal Cove Hotel Barbados I would like to point out the standard of the hotel improves every year, Welcome on the first day excellent, room standard clean and comfortable, Air - Conditioning working well, beach cleaned and looks like each year more space, staff clean the beach every day, swimming pools look great, new beach sun loungers and new furniture around the poolside excellent, staff available all day to provide help and drinks. The staff are well motivated and well trained and can't do enough for you. Food is plenty in both restaurants and variety of menu is good .Drifters restaurant has also new furniture and umbrellas [sun shades]. Water sports are great and the staff there are so helpful. The two managers Sofia and Olivia have really made big changes and get involved in the daily running of the hotel working along side the staff. Yes you guessed we will be back again later this year.

Room Tip: Garden View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
2.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
7.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
13.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#5 of 26 in Saint James Parish
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels

Property: Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Address: Appleby, Barbados (Formerly Crystal Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An enchanting blend of vitality and Caribbean charm."A colorful and vibrant beachfront all-inclusive property with 88 rooms offering a seductive Caribbean charm that will make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Crystal Cove's warm, relaxed ambience and friendly service which includes all-inclusive accommodation as well as a Supervised Kids Club (for children aged 3-11) appeals to families and couples of all ages, many of whom return there year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Saint James
Crystal Cove Barbados
Crystal Cove Hotel Barbados
Crystal Cove By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing