We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Crystal Cove"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I have never written a report on Trip advisor before, but after taking so long to choose a hotel in Barbados and using the site I thought it was only right that I now write one.
We had originally booked the Almond beach Club but after reading some bad reviews and subsequently speaking to people at Crystal cove I know we made the right choice in swapping.
Crystal Cove is a super hotel, in fact I would go as far to say the best all inclusive hotel in Barbados. The setting is lovely right on the beach which is super, and not to full of stones, you dont need beach shoes, the sea is crystal clear and calm. The water sports are great and the team of guys who run it absolutely fabulous. Our daughter learnt to water ski, we skied every day, went on the sailing boats, donuts, banana boat, snorkeled. you could even hire jet skis if you actually wanted to part with some money.
The food was great, usually at all inclusives its all buffets with the same food every day. At Crystal cove there are two restaurants, one out by the beach which we had lunch at everyday, that was self service but really great food, never any waiting in line though and no wait for a table. You could also eat there in the evening with waitress service. For dinner you needed to book a table at either restaurant and it was a four course meal with three different choices, so different every night. we really thought the food was good and we are fairly fussy.
We did eat out at two other restaurants "The Cliff"( which is just down the road) very expensive but brilliant, and "Lone Star" also good but not The Cliff standard.
The room was very clean and tidy, bathroom not so great but adequate, pool towels left in you room every day. Try to book a sea view room worth the extra cost.
Very important point, house wine was quite ok!!!! and no real waiting at bar as other people have said. Drinks were carried round the pool on trays daily. fruit was also handed out at around 11am daily.
Kids club very good, even sometimes when there was only a couple of children there. Our daughter went to movie night a couple of times and had her dinner delivered to her with a whole gang of children, parents were then able to have a romantic dinner together.
Finally the staff are great, nothing to much trouble and the majority of people at the hotel were returning clients, who had nothing but praise for it.
So, thank you Crystal Cove and staff for a truly amazing, relaxing holiday, we very much hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: Beach front, but all very good really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 333michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,360 - 1,366 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is an excellent hotel, if you prefer your accommodation to be slightly more on the smaller more intimate side. The whole place has a really nice village type feel to it but without being too big.

The pool is conveniently located next to the beach, so you get the best of both if lazing around the hotel for the day. Evening entertainment is pretty low key, but is bustling Barbados there is plenty to do in Bridgetown or the Gap.

Staff were excellent and facilities great too. Especially the watersports!!

Newly refurbished rooms are very well done, we upgraded to a sea view room and having the sound of the sea lapping at the beach each morning and evening was perfect.

Food also excellent, especially the weekly beach bbq - great sea food!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My husband and I spent 10 days at Crystal Cove to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversay from 9th to 19th Oct. We had a wonderful time, despite my husband getting sunburnt! The staff and hotel are just the best. The three course meals were excellent, and so were the cocktails, especially the BBC and Bajan Mudslide!! The water sports are very good and the team very friendly. We met a local Bajan called Jeoff who fixed us up with Captain Rick who took us to swim with the Turtles, a very memorable trip, thanks guys. One of the best things about the holiday (and there were many best things), was the wonderful sea and beach, we snorkled for hours or just splashed about in the warm turquoise sea. Thanks to everyone at Crystal Cove, we had a FAB time. The people of Barbados are wonderful and I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorcestershireGibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I recently wrote a very negative review about the Almond Beach Club in Barbados, so I thought I would add another review.... This time a very positive one about the Crystal Cove in Barbados...... my husband had been working in Trinidad and because his visa had run out, he was decanted to the Crystal Cove for the weekend, not bad eh? My daughter and I were invited to join him courtesy of the company, again not bad... This place is just perfect.. this is what the Almond Beach is trying to kid itself that it represents... Old plantation style at its best... we stayed in a ground floor room with terrace surrounded by lush planting filled with humming birds, and our daughter had her own room upstairs with balcony. So we had the best of both worlds.. All rooms are on two levels, so no hiking up loads of stairs in the heat, like you had to do at the Almond Beach.
Both of our rooms were lovely, and although we didnt have a sea view, our views were out over the beautiful gardens.
The beach was breathtaking, with just the right amount of water sports, supplied by friendly locals, who never became a pest. We made friends with a lovely guy called Malcolm, who took us out in his boat to swim with the turtles, an amazing experience...
Came back at sunset, and ended the night sitting on the beach talking to Malcolm and his friends. Fab.
The restaurant, like the Almond Beach, was open to the outside... But the difference was that this was well ventilated, and netted to keep the birds out.
The entertainment was ok, nothing mindblowing, but again it suited the hotel. Maybe one night a group with a singer, and another night a steel band.
I cannot find any fault with this hotel, and my daughter and I have already been back.
If you are looking for a smallish intimate hotel, with really really friendly staff, great food, gorgeous beach, well air conditioned..... then this is for you.

Room Tip: choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LINDA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We arrived at Crystal Cove earlier than the check in time, our bags were taken and we were directed to lunch. The buffet lunch in Reflections was good and there was a good selection of drinks. We got our room with a view out to the sea. We actually had an apartment which was very spacious and clean. During our stay there were a couple of plumbing issues that were resolved within an hour of calling reception.

Staff were very friendly, bell hop Corey was a laugh.

We definitely recommend Crystal Cove.

Room Tip: Room near road with view over complex to sea was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Capper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have had many lovely holidays over the years, but this place takes a lot of beating. If you want the luxury of 5 star 'Dubai' style accomodation, then don't come here. But if you want value for money and people who go out of their way to try and make your holiday special, then this could be it. The food was excellent and those people who feel the need to go and spend in restaurants down the road like 'The Cliff', then I feel sorry for them ! Why do that when you have paid already for perfectly adequate all-inclusive food served with a smile ? Fresh fish everyday and two lovely restaurants, one overlooking the sea. What more do people want ? Anyway thank you Crystal Cove. Your rooms were lovely and we shall definately return to experience the upliftment and relaxation that your accomodation and staff provided. Thank you very, very much and particularly to Neville and all his team who provided wonderful boat trips and got me on a banana boat for the first time ever, at no extra cost! Keep smiling. You are special people.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I went on 7 October until 18 October, we have been to many hotels, but we found Cristal Cove very nice and comfortable, it needs a little tweaking, but overall very nice, the food was excellent, my husband is very fussy!!! The locals and staff very friendly, did not feel intimidated outside the hotel at all!!. Ryan our barman was both professional and friendly at all times!!. We will definitely return!!.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.5 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.8 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
318 reviews
7.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels

Address: Appleby, Barbados (Formerly Crystal Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $423 - $1,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An enchanting blend of vitality and Caribbean charm." A colorful and vibrant beachfront all-inclusive property with 88 rooms offering a seductive Caribbean charm that will make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Crystal Cove's warm, relaxed ambience and friendly service which includes all-inclusive accommodation as well as a Supervised Kids Club (for children aged 3-11) appeals to families and couples of all ages, many of whom return there year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Saint James
Crystal Cove Barbados
Crystal Cove Hotel Barbados
Crystal Cove By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing