We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Cariba Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 16th Wedding Anniversary on September 12th, and decided to go somewhere other than our usual place to celebrate. We chose Cariba - the experience was delighful, the server was attentive, the drinks were fabulous just the right amount of everything and the food was delicious, had the shrimp curry and my husband the jerk pork, the banana spring rolls were divine. In all we left with a sense of satisfaction and pride, bajan food and ambience so well presented at reasonable cost. Thank you Team Cariba

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coleentm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    175
    66
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Local Gem”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Cariba is a quaint neighborhood place. We were politely greeted and seated on the patio. There's a full bar with a nice selection of wines and liquors. The menu is small but so is the place. They seem to do a few things very well. We ordered the daily catch of Kingfish with vegetables and it was a delicious, ample portion beautifully presented. For desert we had bread pudding and it too was excellent.

We were visiting for vacation and it was the best meal we had during our visit. In fact it's our last night here in Barbados and we're going to return for dinner this evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyLikeAnEagle_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Very local experience, good food from barbados”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

You arrive to Cariba and you have the feeling to enter in a very typical barbados house.
The food is "original", you have the feeling to eat the real food from carabiean.
The curry fish prawn is very good. Good catch of the day, nice the dorado food. Dessert are just fine.

Staff are lovely, the husband is cooking and the wife is managing the restaurant. I would however expect a little bit of more local atmosphere.
It has not been my first choice, but food was ok, and I will go back, or if it was my first time I will at least try it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Return visit tonight”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Food and atmosphere fantastic and delightful. Refreshing change from seafront "designer" restaurants. Staff friendly and welcoming. Starters amazing; lobster spring roll very tasty. Returning tonight not just for the shrimp curry. Jerk pork - generous portions and really beautifully cooked.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Nice quaint little restaurant. Quiet atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Positives = Food very good!!! Prawn curry fantastic!! The staff were lovely. Good service.
However = The restaurant itself was a little warm for us and the fan by our table didn't work. We also felt there was a lack of atmosphere.... We could hear other tables conversations... I'd recOmmend having the music played in the main room as well as the bar area.

Overall we had a really pleasant evening, fab food and wine and we would return. It was nice to get good grub without paying the silly prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladylooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cariba Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Cariba Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing