We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach View= A Total Gem.”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beach View= A Total Gem.”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to escape February in Chicago in 2010 and happened to stumble upon the Beach View. We booked our stay with them and headed off to the sun and sand of Barbados. We could not have been happier with our entire experience there. The location is on the Platinum Coast- think stunning beaches and water, fantastic restaurants, and access to stores, as well as a bus to get you anywhere on the island. The rooms (or should I say condos) are very spacious, very clean, and all have a fantastic view of the Caribbean. Best of all, the staff are incredibly friendly and incredibly helpful- everyone we met there were lovely, genuine people who made our entire stay the best vacation we have had yet. We were so pleased with our experience in Barbados, that we booked another stay at the Beach View and brought 2 of our friends with us this year. Once again, we all had an incredible time. I was a bit hesitant on writing a review about the Beach View, because I am selfishly afraid that they will become so popular that we won't be able to book another vacation with them again. My boyfriend and I are already talking about going back to the Beach View for a 3rd year in a row.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snora88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    134
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
334
542
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My lovely husband took me to Beach View, Paynes Bay for my 30th birthday. I had never been to the Caribbean before and did not know what to expect. We arrived in time for the Monday night BBQ and were greeted by Robin, the owner, who set the tone for the rest of the holiday. We were handed a Rum punch and introduced to Bajan BBQ fish and macaroni pie by Atticus, divine and just what was needed after a long flight! The apartment was perfect, immaculately kept and everything we could hope for.

The week continued with a cocktail party at Robin's stunning house, which is really not to be missed. We took a day trip on a catamaran with El Tigre which was a real treat, snorkeling with turtles and over wrecks. The afternoon was a little quieter, relaxing with Rum punch (there is a theme here) and sun bathing while sailing across the bays.

The location of Beach View is utterly perfect, walking distance to both The Cliff and Daphne's which both exceeded expectations.

If you are looking for a place to stay that is incredibly friendly, relaxed and gorgeous, choose Beach View. We are already saving for our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsCKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Agree with all of the positive reviews as the rooms were incredibly clean and spacious, the staff extremely accomodating and attentive, and the location could not have been better. Staff arranged everything from groceries to taxis to island tour for us. The food at the on site tiki bar was great. Cocktails at the managers home are a must do. In short, everything about the resort and Barbados itself was incredible. I highly recommend both for couples and families. We will definitely be returning to Beach View Barbados.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bme250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

All the other trip advisor reviews tell the story which is why we came and we weren't disappointed. Yes, you have to cross the road to get onto the beach, but there is no need to walk up to the more crowded part in front of the hotels, unless you want to swim out to the catamarans and see the turtles. Sit by the pool under the umbrellas for shade and thein nip over to the beach for a fabulous swim.

Beach View/Barbados meant for us minimal bugs, no snakes, no jellyfish, crystal clear water, a safe environment, incredibly friendly locals and great fun on the BD$2-a-ride yellow buses - do not bother hiring a car!

Beware the DVD players are American region only so no good bringing your own commercial DVDs from the UK or elsewhere.

Atticus's included rum punch at the Monday BBQ is heavenly nectar - you may need help getting back to your room afterwards!

Best excursion ever is Cool Runnings Catamaran which you ought to ask Beach View to book for you in advance - see separate reviews. Also the Atlantis subamrine if you want to dive to 150ft to see the local coral reef.

Barbados isn't cheap but for this experience we would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDB-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We just returned from our first trip to Barbados and the Beach View. We were disappointed to discover that the hotel is not right on the beach and is in fact next to a busy street. We could hear the road noise from our room, but the friendliness of the staff made up for everything. All of the reviews we read prior to booking said how friendly everyone was, but they definitely surpassed our expectations. Natalie and Carrie in the office went out of their way to book a car for us, make dinner reservations, etc. The room was very nice and clean, the grounds are beautiful and the proximity to the shopping and restaurants in Holetown is perfect. Overall, it was a wonderful experience, and we definitely plan on going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyoop02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2011

my wife and i just returned from our trip to the Bardados and must say we would highly recommend staying at the Beachview. As stated by most posts here, Robin and staff were fantastic. Walking distance to the best restaurants and clean,clean,clean. pool was great, recommend a car rental for day trips. Have Fun...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We read the great reviews for this resort and they lived up to our expectations. Beautiful, clean, and excellent friendly staff. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PELFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
755 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
6.7 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#23 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing