We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for the right price”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for the right price”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I went with friends to Barbados for Memorial Day weekend and our stay was quite short. In the minimal amount of time we were there, we absolutely loved this hotel. It's located across the street from the beach and is a short ride on the bus to Holetown or even Bridgetown. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and they even supplied us with bagels and water in the room. The suite is spacious, very clean, and overall perfect. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. The staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable and the service is superb. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suga620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    141
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
353
552
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2010

This place was really good. Very neat maintenance. Security guards are really helpful and they showed us the way to go everywhere and how to go. Rooms were very neat with a/c facility. There is a pool and a beach just opposite the hotel. Its the best place to stay for the money you are paying. Management was very helpful especially Carrie. I requested her so many things before we left and she gave me everything possible.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

this is perfect for folks who want to stay close to holestown, paynes bay, you can get back and forth with 1.5 babados dollars by bus. we stayed here 4 nights and saw all of oistins, crane beach, bath sheba etc... the apartments are well equipped and the room service is great. good size pool to enjoy the sunset in. loved the place and definitely recommend to all. the staff, security guardds are great. they make the safety and staty of guests the priority. mayers and rogers are the best guards on duty who took care of us and advised on getting around.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank png_travelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

So many good things to say about Beach View. Just returned from a brilliant 2 weeks in Barbados and Beach View was the perfect base.

We booked with Virgin holidays from the UK and upon arrival they upgraded us to a 3 bedroom apartment. It was really spacious and fully equipped.

Free wifi worked all the time, daily housekeeping with great attention to detail and without being intrusive. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, snack bar perfect for breakfast or lunch.

I really cannot fault this place and will be rebooking for next year.

The only changes we will make next time is use the grocery pre order form on the website for a chilled beer on arrival (we only noticed it day before we left and it covers a good range of food and drink).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmck225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed at the Beach view for 5 nights during our 2nd trip to Barbados. It was our first time staying on the west coast; usually we stay on the south east coast. We chose to stay here for the price, kitchen, and positive reviews on Trip Advisor.

1) Our unit: We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit equipped with a full kitchen. It was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. We were on the first floor, just a quick walk to the pool and had a nice view of the garden. The ocean view rooms must have a beautiful view though.
2) Property: The property is well maintained and has limited amenities, pool, small cafe for breakfast and lunch. They do not have a gym here though and it there aren't many options for running/walking. It is not like Carlisle Beach so I did not feel comfortable walking/running the beach on my own. It is also across the street from the beach; if you are planning on sitting on the beach, this may disapoint you, but if you walk 10 minutes, you can find a decent beach. NB. The beach is a little rocky in some spots, but you can find spots that are completely sandy. The pool is nice and you can swim laps if it is not crowded. I was quite content doing yoga on my porch too.
3) Location: The location is a little secluded if you do not have a car, but you can take a taxi or the bus (1.75$BD) to H'Town or S'Town or even to B'Town. We took the reggae bus (yellow bus because they give change and they're quite fun all the time); you get to H'town in 10 minutes, S'town and B'Town in 20 minutes. The supermarket is in H'Town but has limited stuff compared to the one in Warrens and there is a fish market across the street; bought 2 pounds of tuna for $13.00BD.

Overall review: Some people complained about the noise from the road, and yes it can be a little loud at times but it did not keep me from sleeping or relaxing. Housekeeping is also pretty good and regular. We had breakfast included in our package and enjoyed it. Best options: the granola and the egg and bacon buttie, although the banana bread is really good too. We like to walk and well that was a challenge at times due to the lack of sidewalk. You can walk on the beach all the way to H'town during low tide. The service was pretty good; Carrie was very helpful and welcoming. We had free wireless internet and it worked about 75% of the time. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet and off-the-beaten path kind of experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDL_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Beach View this past April for our honeymoon. We selected the Adventure Package, which included airport transfers, three adventure/outdoors trips, breakfast and room stay. It was a fantastic deal for everything! The staff was wonderful, especially Carrie, who answered all of my questions via email very promptly, and arranged all of our trips and transfers prior to arriving. The entire staff was accommodating in every way. Atticus at "The Hut" provided a wonderful atmosphere and food for breakfast.

The rooms were more like apartments, with full-size kitchens stocked with pots, pans, plates, cups, small appliances, and a washer/dryer.

Beach View is accessible to Holetown, which is a touristy center for shops and great restaurants, and within walking distance of our favorite restaurant we ate at, Cariba.

I was so impressed by Beach View and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Need I say more ! .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turnleftisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
623 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing