We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Beach View between 22 November and 6 December 2013. We were virgin travellers to Barbados but have vowed to go back as soon as possible as we had a really fantastic holiday. We found that Beach View is extremely well run with attentive and very pleasant staff. They are happy to book excursions for you and offer advice about the local area and available activities. The are also very hospitable, involving guests in cocktail evenings at the manager's home once a week, a weekly barbecue evening and a rooftop bar 3 nights per week which we frequented. We were totally relaxed throughout our stay and that was helped in no small measure by the friendly, relaxed atmosphere at Beach View. Our accommodation was a one bedroomed apartment that was actually a 3 bedroomed Condo with 2 bedrooms locked off. It was spacious, very well equipped and had a daily maid service so was always clean. The pool area was spacious and there was food and drinks available from 7.30 AM till 2 PM at "The Hut". This was also a real hit with us as it was convenient when we were on site and very reasonably priced. The staff at "The Hut" were also very friendly and Atticus, who ran it, also organised the barbecue that was so popular. Be warned though, his Rum Punch is lethal! I would recommend it to anyone who wants to relax and feel at ease in their holiday surroundings, knowing that the staff can be relied on to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Only down side is the noisy road but even that didn't spoil our enjoyment. (The noisy road is the same for all establishments on the road from Bridgetown to Holetown). Barbados itself is also a fantastic place and the Bajan people among the most friendly I have met, Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked months in advance to have a family reunion from Christmas to New Year's. (Or Old Year's Night as they say in Barbados.)

The rooms were big, comfortable, and homey. The kitchens had complete sets of dishes and cookware.

The staff was incredible; especially Carrie. With 15 of us, she was helping to schedule activities even though we kept changing the numbers up until the last minute.

Thirty days before our arrival, I couldn't find any cars to rent on the internet or calling the rental companies. I called Carrie from the US telling her of our plight. She found what seemed to be the last 3 cars available on the island.

The sea in front of the Beach View is gorgeous, the sand is perfect, and the snorkeling right of the beach is quite good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

There were 4 of us staying here, the staff were amazing , fun, laid back, informative and supr helpful! Carrie always went out of her way to make sure our stay was excellent, any questions i had, which i seemed to bug her alot :) were always met with with a smile, and just honest good advice, alot of the activities we wanted to do, Carrie arranged for us! Loved our stay, didnt want to leave, will 100 % be back !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Really good base for a family holiday in Barbados - the rooms are large and very well appointed (washing machine, dryer, kitchen). The reception is extremely helpful and everyone on site is super friendly. The beach close by is really good for families - we spent one day on the beach and the water is crystal clear - even Rihanna (born in a Barbados... chose to buy her apartment here!). There is a small cafe on site for breakfast which was okay but as the kitchen is so good it is worthwhile just driving 5 minutes to Holetown to stock up. The only draw backs are the air conditioning which is impossible to operate to the satisfaction of all the family, the thin walls coupled with noise from the road and the inconsistent WiFi. for a family I would highly recommend this and we wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterNandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Absolutely fabulous. Service was amazing - staff couldn't do enough for us. We would definitely return - can't recommend the place enough. The apartment was clean and superbly equipped - if only all places could be like this.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We chose this place based on the reviews here and there were no surprises or disappointments.
The two negatives were the road noise - very loud at times and the beach location - the beach was great further along from the hotel but a hot sandy walk to the best area.
Neither of these negatives spoilt the holiday and is probably why it is such a good price.
The accommodation was excellent (room 312) spacious and comfortable with an excellent fitted out kitchen. Great views from the spacious veranda. We asked to be on third floor which had great views but probably should also have asked to be in one of the two central blocks which were further from the road.
We found the aircon to be quiet and efficient although the lounge took a while to cool down due to the unit being by the entrance door some way from the main lounge area.
The free WiFi was good in the lounge but non existent in our bedroom which was a self contained unit some way from the router and a fairly weak signal by the pool.
All of the management and staff were extremely friendly and helpful and could not have been better.
The rooftop bar (3 nights weekly) was a great opportunity to meet fellow guests as was the bbque which was great fun. The highlight was the Thursday night cocktail party which is a must - breathtaking location and excellent hospitality and its free.
We also went on the trip to Oistens fish fry one Friday - good value and an interesting experience but we could probably have left an hour earlier as we are not party people. The food and atmosphere was great and excellent value.
The hut was ideal for breakfast and lunch on lazy days - it also usually had ice creams and great lemonade to enjoy round the pool. Pity it closed at 2pm !
The pools were relaxing and quiet while we were there.
Snorkelling was good from the beach opposite the hotel but there were some fast moving boats and jetskis travelling fairly close to shore so care was needed.
If you go shopping remember to take your passport to prove eligibility for tax free savings and the supermarket in Holetown requires photographic identity to accept credit cards.We did not remember and needed two trips to save tax.
The fish market just over the road from the hotel was interesting - not always lots of variety but good quality fresh fish at good prices.
The area had plenty of good restaurants within walking distance - prices about 25% higher than equivalent places in UK . Best to book direct or through hotel reception - Best value for basic location ( streetside) was Backyard Barbeque which you don't need to book. Our favourite smarter restaurant was Scarlet then Cariba then Daphne.

Room Tip: Top floor for views but potentially noisy Middle two blocks are further from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StuartL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at Beach View for 4 nights at the end of November after our Seabourn cruise, we were not sure what to expect but after reading through the reviews on here and emailing back and forth with Carrie we decided to go for it, we are so pleased that we did, it was perfect for us! So perfect that we have booked again for next year. We had just spent 3 weeks on a cruise ship so did not need or want much food, we took the bus (yellow one) to the supermarket in Holetown and stocked up on essentials and spent our time walking the beach, relaxing by the pool and using the spotless kitchen to make simple meals, it was wonderful!!!! We were charged $1 for each dishwasher tablet which I found a little petty but the price of our accommodation was great value so I shouldn't complain. We were in the Paw Paw building on the ground floor, the first night we did hear the traffic on the road but after that we got used to it and would not mind staying in the same room on our next stay. A big thanks to Carrie, Robin and all the staff who made our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank cruisemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
636 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,142 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,814 reviews
6.3 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $187 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing