We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property. Huge suites, unparalleled value.”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Property. Huge suites, unparalleled value.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Even if the price where doubled, it would still be a solid value. While it's not technically beachfront, beach access is super easy and it's not very crowded. The view of the water from the room is excellent, even on the first floor (it's on a bluff, so it's actually above the road that parallels the beach). The suites are massive. It's not really a hotel, but more like a condo, with a full kitchen, living room, master bedroom, and laundry facilities. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is excellent. The staff is super friendly and go out of their way to make sure your stay goes wonderfully. I've stayed at many places throughout the Caribbean (St. Kitts, Caymans, Mexican coast, etc.) and this place is the best I've found. It's also on a great part of the island...much quieter than St. Lawrence Gap but still near pretty much everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    133
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
325
533
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My Husband and I and two grown up teenage boys just returned from a fantastic holiday in Barbados in great accommodation at the Beach View. Arrived there quite late from a long flight from England, but Robin the owner was there to greet us in person and we were just in time not to miss the Monday night BBQ. We had been looking forward to it for 9 months and done our homework, it definitely lived up to expectations.

It took us some time to scope out where was best to visit and dine, but we were happy to relax round the pool and go on the beach.

Robin invited us to his home and we met other people that were stopping there, Judy and Tony and Max and Mel, we got a better feel for the place. (If you read this was great to meet you xx).

The quality of the accommodation is excellent with daily maid service. The location is great too, dined at some top quality restaurants. The Cliff is amazing, with views, service and great food, maybe a little expensive for some, but well worth it. Daphne's, also great just for cocktails or a fine dining experience, always remember to ask for a waterside table, its the best. We were also recommended Scarlets, which we would normally walk past as its just a red shack from the outside. Made the mistake of not making a reservation at this one, but so glad they accommodated us as the food and ambiance was really good. Also tried some truly Bajon cuisine, which was also good, but being me I like to get dressed up for an evening out.

Had some good trips too. Harbour Lights and Jolly Roger Boat Cruise, great for letting your hair down.

The beaches near Beach View are also great, you just have to walk a little further than the beach across the road to find the best beach, not far, just 10 minutes, but well worth it, especially if you want to do the water sports or just swim out to where the turtles are.

Didn't rate much of the 'happy' buses, mainly because the they were generally overcrowded and not very happy people, so would recommend a car if you want to travel around the island.

In summary, if a quiet holiday in very nice accommodation and in a good location is what you are looking for in a holiday, then you wont be disappointed. If like me you have teenagers wanting WiFi, they have this too.

Also, would like to thank Robin for allowing us to keep our apartment much later that the check out as we were leaving in the evening, a massive bonus, especially when the flight was delayed for 90 mins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peteandsam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently returned from a great stay at the Beach View. We carefully chose the Beach View based on reviews on Trip Advisor and recommendations from family in Barbados. We were not disappointed. Our family of 5 fit perfectly into the 3 bedroom apartment! The kitchen and washer and dryer were also a great benefit. Our apartment was at the top floor of our building allowing for a great view of the beach. Our unit had only a small open balcony from our master bedroom, and enclosed balconies for the rest of the unit- allowing my daughters plenty of room to play while in an air conditioned environment- we viewed this as a great benefit! (Most of the other units had open air balconies). Robin and Carrie have anticipated your every need- from a few treats stocked in our refrigerator, to umbrellas in each unit just in case you forgot to travel with one. Our children enjoyed the pool and the St. James beaches are ideal for swimming and water play. The road is very busy- we benefitted from having access to car to get to the local beaches, shops, and restaurants. The Roti Den was just a quick walk away, and Just Grillin' a short car ride away. We also enjoyed a wonderful lunch at The Beach House. One highlight of our trip was the cocktail party at Robin's home- simply lovely! A storm did threaten our stay- closing down almost everything on the island for one day- I felt a bit nervous as only security was available for assistance- but was thankful for our kitchen as all of the restaurants were closed most of that day. Hopefully Robin and Carrie have a plan to help their guests if a true hurricane arrives. I truly believe this is an ideal place for families and seasoned travelers looking to explore this wonderful island! Thank you Robin and Carrie for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dionne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic two weeks holiday staying in Barbados at the Beach View apartments.

First off let's make one thing clear. To those who just choose a place to stay on TripAdvisor because of the rating, make sure you know what you are booking first. Most of the tiny amount of bad reviews on here are from people who haven't done that and have booked what they think iis a hotel, with full service, bar etc. This isn't that. It's self catering apartments, and it's a far better experience! If you want an all-inclusive, book somewhere else.

The owners: Robin and Carrie, as many of the reviews below will testify, are amazing. Friendly, knowledgeable and can't wait to help you out with whatever request you may have. They are also warm, and very friendly, so much so that they welcome you into their home. I don't know many places that do that, and I've been to a lot of countries and hotels.

The rooms: Huge, spacious apartments that are so much better than there pictures. There were only the two of us but we had our very own home from home with a huge lounge, TV, kitchen facilities and an enormous bed (very comfortable).

The place: Great friendly place with nice pool and a small pool bar that is open in the mornings and for a light bite for lunch. Very tasty and reasonable. The pool is nice and big, it could do with touching up a little as it has worn slightly since new, but nothing that should put you off. Plenty of places to sunbathe

The area: We went in rainy season (July) which is not a problem. Loads of sun, a few showers now and again and perfect beaches. It is a little quiet on night life, so don't go in July expecting a huge party. Save that for the main season. You can still find places though, just ask Robin and Carrie, and you'll be fine. Holetown is a 5 min bus ride away. There are several very good value restaurants and a couple of high end ones within walking distance.

The beach: The beach over the road is small, but if you walk a few hundred metres round the corner you'll hit Payne's beach and Treasure beach which are the best beaches in the island. Perfect sand and the ability to snorkel out and swim with Turtles which we did every time we were on the beach.

Tips:

Places of interest
- Take a car for a couple of days and get around the island. Just explore and have fun. It's a small island so you won't get lost. R&C will sort a car out for you for very cheap.
- Harrisons cave - very good fun and well organised.
- St Nicholas Abbey - you must go there and see the film from the 1930's of old Barbados - very interesting
- Oystin's Fish Fry - excellent fish market (catch the Oystins bus or go on the organised one that Carrie will set up for you. Make sure you don't sit on the edge of the market but go in the middle as the food is better and cheaper
- Bridgetown - Not much to see. Worth a morning but nothing more.
- Diving - EcoDives do a good dive. I don't myself, but my wife does and she loved the experience and it was very good value. Several small wrecks but loads of sea life including a huge lobster and seahorses and turtles! R&C will organise for you.

Restaurants & Nightlife
- We had an excellent time at Lexy Piano bar in Holetown. Leila and Andrew (the pianist) are very friendly and will entertain you for hours! The owner is an ex broadway singer and likes to get on the mic after a few too many rums :) It became a staple after hours place for us.
- Carizma. Amazing little tapas place in the chattel village . Book on Tuesdays and Thursdays for the Tapas evenings with a great little band playing. It's always full and excellent value for money.It's a 2-3 stop trip on the Reggae buses from Beach View
- Fish Pot. Nice view, good food but not the best on the island and quite a way up north.
- Laurence Gap. Fine if you are in your 20's. We found it a bit too commercial for our tastes(British and Irish pubs etc) but if you like that, it's fine.
- Beach House - Probably our best restaurant on the Island. Great value and very tasty local fish and good quality meat.
- Mr Vics - Very good simple food. He's a very friendly guy too. Highly reccomended for a quick simple dinner.
- The local Fish shop. Just down the road is the fish shop. Go there and buy the best fish on the island (they will fillet it for you) for nothing 16 BDS for two huge Kingfish steaks and go back the 100m to your room and shallow fry it for lunch.
- Coconutz. Walk up Paynes beach to the top and meet JJ in his DJ box at Coconutz bar and experience the best Pinacolada's you can buy and the best fish and chips for 20 BDS. It's the best place to hang out on the beach.

Overall:
What a trip! You should definitely go and stay with the warmest and most lovely hosts at Beach View. Enjoy the freedom it brings and make sure you go to Robin's Thursday night cocktails at his house.Don't take Taxis, get on the buses. 2BDS to go anywhere and they're a real experience! Epic food, lovely hospitality and warm beautiful beaches. Not much more to ask for really.

Room Tip: I'd try and get one in Sea Grapes. It's a good block away from the road (not that it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Worldtriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My original review back in 2011 says everything that matters and so many before me reiterate the same considered appraisals; it's just the most relaxed & wonderful retreat.. So much so we've just spent our third holiday here, twice in the November periods and most recently in July. Effectively we've visited 3 times in 18 months.
How to put into words the constant attraction of this enclave of lovely, beautifully run apartments/suites? ..Well that's without doubt down to the amazing team that are at the heart of this development. Both Robin and Carrie are true professionals along with their trusty back up crew who make sure Beach View runs seamlessly.
I have little time for people who write poor reviews about a place when they are actually the ones at fault for NOT doing their homework before booking and I would urge readers to always check official websites for full and accurate material regarding any prospective trip. We are all responsible for our own choices, likes and dislikes. This isn't a typical hotel, nor is it part of a resort chain and for us personally that is the magic formula.
Beach View affords you freedom to be self catering without the restrictions of the afore mentioned. If you are free spirits who love to be independent within a framework of unobtrusive professional caring support then this is surely for you! If you want breakfast or light lunch prepared, you have that choice at the quaint hut at the rear of the pool area.. Superbly run in laid back style by Joanne, Henrietta & the chief,Atticus. A newly arranged sundowners bar on the rooftop of Seagrape ..another fun aspect to enjoy.
I've travelled extensively in my lifetime and apart from owning a ski resort apartment in Europe I have never returned to a holiday venue until now! This is the one place that has truly captured our hearts.
So when we decided to get married last year the choice for honeymoon was easy, this just ticked all our boxes. Carrie was always on hand via email to alleviate any concerns I had, she helped with all sorts of recommendations including the wedding planner; everyone was so incredibly supportive. Our venue was the renowned Cliff Restaurant for a sunset service on their beach with a celebratory dinner there to follow; a moments walk away from here.. although we were driven!

We have much enjoyed the mixture of people we have been fortunate to meet here thanks to the cleverly arranged social gatherings. There's equally an intimacy attached to this place whereby you can just use it as a base, tour the island, eat/drink at any number of great places and know you are returning to a haven in Paradise where you can close the door and relax with so many comforts of home with the added joy that your apartment is serviced daily. :-)
- choose to take from the experience what you want..

We have nothing but high praise for BV and yes of course we will return, again & again... It just remains for us for us to say heartfelt thanks for yet another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just got home from Barbados where we stayed for 17 nights at Beach View.
I chose Beach View based on reviews on Tripadvisor back in January, and in short it's just an excellent place to stay.

Robin, his daughter Carrie and all the staff are just wonderful people who are very helpful.

On mondays go to atticus's barbeque party at the hut for food, unlimited beer and rum. Go to the sunset bar for a nice drink and watch the sun set, it's open 3 days a week. On thursdays everyone is invited to Robins house for the weekly cocktail party. Robin and his wife are excellent hosts and the place is just awesome, great way to socialize with other guests.

The pool area is very crowded and you can always find tanning beds.

The hut is open for breakfast and lunch every day or a gold beer or a nice rum punch!
I wish they would serve dinner as well. You don't feel like cooking or eating out (restaurants outside the premises every day), especially with many restaurants being closed sunday and mondays. It would have been very convenient.

I'm just going to steal the text from beachviewbarbardos.com because it's all true! :)

"Beach View is a small all suite self-catering hotel set on 3 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, just across the road from the stunning waters of Paynes Bay beach in St. James. A favourite spot for the famous Barbados sea turtles!

Enjoying a prime location on the famed West Coast of Barbados, Beach View is just 15 minutes from the capital city of Bridgetown and 5 minutes from exciting Holetown which offers a selection of restaurants, nightlife, shops and other services.

36 spacious and fully equipped one, two and three bedroom suites feature high quality tropical furnishings, air conditioned bedrooms & living areas, complimentary in room internet access, full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas.

A large centrally located pool area with separate children’s and adult swimming pools, bistro style cafe, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday.

Whether you are planning a quiet escape from your busy schedule, a fun getaway with friends, wedding, romantic honeymoon or family holiday – think Beach View, your perfect island home."

Also Beach View is great value for money + great location.

We will be back :-)

Room Tip: 3rd floor apartments has the best view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank palvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at Beach View apartments with my two teenage children. The rooms were spacious and kept to an excellent level of cleanliness. It's a great place to stay if you prefer a little more independence and prefer to choose where to spend your time. There were always sun loungers by the pool available (no reserving here!) and the reception team and the security team (after hours) were great. I would suggest hiring a car while there so you can get the most out of your stay on the Island. There is a beach across a busy road that you can walk to but a five minute walk along the beach heading north will take you a beautiful sandy stretch to lounge on. We brought our towels as there are no beach chair facilities there but didn't mind as we like to hop in the car to explore as many other beaches as we can. We went to breakfast most days to a place called Indigo in Holetown, where you can get a full english at a reasonable price. We have stayed in many places in Barbados as we go every year (hotels, villas) and found that this gave us good value for money in a central location. If you want the facilities of a hotel, this place is not for you, but if you like good value, self-catering, non-crowded pools, this is great!

Room Tip: Top floors have a better view and we didn't get bitten once (we normally get eaten alive!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fgbgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing