We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Convenient, and Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly, Convenient, and Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic two weeks holiday staying in Barbados at the Beach View apartments.

First off let's make one thing clear. To those who just choose a place to stay on TripAdvisor because of the rating, make sure you know what you are booking first. Most of the tiny amount of bad reviews on here are from people who haven't done that and have booked what they think iis a hotel, with full service, bar etc. This isn't that. It's self catering apartments, and it's a far better experience! If you want an all-inclusive, book somewhere else.

The owners: Robin and Carrie, as many of the reviews below will testify, are amazing. Friendly, knowledgeable and can't wait to help you out with whatever request you may have. They are also warm, and very friendly, so much so that they welcome you into their home. I don't know many places that do that, and I've been to a lot of countries and hotels.

The rooms: Huge, spacious apartments that are so much better than there pictures. There were only the two of us but we had our very own home from home with a huge lounge, TV, kitchen facilities and an enormous bed (very comfortable).

The place: Great friendly place with nice pool and a small pool bar that is open in the mornings and for a light bite for lunch. Very tasty and reasonable. The pool is nice and big, it could do with touching up a little as it has worn slightly since new, but nothing that should put you off. Plenty of places to sunbathe

The area: We went in rainy season (July) which is not a problem. Loads of sun, a few showers now and again and perfect beaches. It is a little quiet on night life, so don't go in July expecting a huge party. Save that for the main season. You can still find places though, just ask Robin and Carrie, and you'll be fine. Holetown is a 5 min bus ride away. There are several very good value restaurants and a couple of high end ones within walking distance.

The beach: The beach over the road is small, but if you walk a few hundred metres round the corner you'll hit Payne's beach and Treasure beach which are the best beaches in the island. Perfect sand and the ability to snorkel out and swim with Turtles which we did every time we were on the beach.

Tips:

Places of interest
- Take a car for a couple of days and get around the island. Just explore and have fun. It's a small island so you won't get lost. R&C will sort a car out for you for very cheap.
- Harrisons cave - very good fun and well organised.
- St Nicholas Abbey - you must go there and see the film from the 1930's of old Barbados - very interesting
- Oystin's Fish Fry - excellent fish market (catch the Oystins bus or go on the organised one that Carrie will set up for you. Make sure you don't sit on the edge of the market but go in the middle as the food is better and cheaper
- Bridgetown - Not much to see. Worth a morning but nothing more.
- Diving - EcoDives do a good dive. I don't myself, but my wife does and she loved the experience and it was very good value. Several small wrecks but loads of sea life including a huge lobster and seahorses and turtles! R&C will organise for you.

Restaurants & Nightlife
- We had an excellent time at Lexy Piano bar in Holetown. Leila and Andrew (the pianist) are very friendly and will entertain you for hours! The owner is an ex broadway singer and likes to get on the mic after a few too many rums :) It became a staple after hours place for us.
- Carizma. Amazing little tapas place in the chattel village . Book on Tuesdays and Thursdays for the Tapas evenings with a great little band playing. It's always full and excellent value for money.It's a 2-3 stop trip on the Reggae buses from Beach View
- Fish Pot. Nice view, good food but not the best on the island and quite a way up north.
- Laurence Gap. Fine if you are in your 20's. We found it a bit too commercial for our tastes(British and Irish pubs etc) but if you like that, it's fine.
- Beach House - Probably our best restaurant on the Island. Great value and very tasty local fish and good quality meat.
- Mr Vics - Very good simple food. He's a very friendly guy too. Highly reccomended for a quick simple dinner.
- The local Fish shop. Just down the road is the fish shop. Go there and buy the best fish on the island (they will fillet it for you) for nothing 16 BDS for two huge Kingfish steaks and go back the 100m to your room and shallow fry it for lunch.
- Coconutz. Walk up Paynes beach to the top and meet JJ in his DJ box at Coconutz bar and experience the best Pinacolada's you can buy and the best fish and chips for 20 BDS. It's the best place to hang out on the beach.

Overall:
What a trip! You should definitely go and stay with the warmest and most lovely hosts at Beach View. Enjoy the freedom it brings and make sure you go to Robin's Thursday night cocktails at his house.Don't take Taxis, get on the buses. 2BDS to go anywhere and they're a real experience! Epic food, lovely hospitality and warm beautiful beaches. Not much more to ask for really.

Room Tip: I'd try and get one in Sea Grapes. It's a good block away from the road (not that it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Worldtriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    132
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
312
526
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My original review back in 2011 says everything that matters and so many before me reiterate the same considered appraisals; it's just the most relaxed & wonderful retreat.. So much so we've just spent our third holiday here, twice in the November periods and most recently in July. Effectively we've visited 3 times in 18 months.
How to put into words the constant attraction of this enclave of lovely, beautifully run apartments/suites? ..Well that's without doubt down to the amazing team that are at the heart of this development. Both Robin and Carrie are true professionals along with their trusty back up crew who make sure Beach View runs seamlessly.
I have little time for people who write poor reviews about a place when they are actually the ones at fault for NOT doing their homework before booking and I would urge readers to always check official websites for full and accurate material regarding any prospective trip. We are all responsible for our own choices, likes and dislikes. This isn't a typical hotel, nor is it part of a resort chain and for us personally that is the magic formula.
Beach View affords you freedom to be self catering without the restrictions of the afore mentioned. If you are free spirits who love to be independent within a framework of unobtrusive professional caring support then this is surely for you! If you want breakfast or light lunch prepared, you have that choice at the quaint hut at the rear of the pool area.. Superbly run in laid back style by Joanne, Henrietta & the chief,Atticus. A newly arranged sundowners bar on the rooftop of Seagrape ..another fun aspect to enjoy.
I've travelled extensively in my lifetime and apart from owning a ski resort apartment in Europe I have never returned to a holiday venue until now! This is the one place that has truly captured our hearts.
So when we decided to get married last year the choice for honeymoon was easy, this just ticked all our boxes. Carrie was always on hand via email to alleviate any concerns I had, she helped with all sorts of recommendations including the wedding planner; everyone was so incredibly supportive. Our venue was the renowned Cliff Restaurant for a sunset service on their beach with a celebratory dinner there to follow; a moments walk away from here.. although we were driven!

We have much enjoyed the mixture of people we have been fortunate to meet here thanks to the cleverly arranged social gatherings. There's equally an intimacy attached to this place whereby you can just use it as a base, tour the island, eat/drink at any number of great places and know you are returning to a haven in Paradise where you can close the door and relax with so many comforts of home with the added joy that your apartment is serviced daily. :-)
- choose to take from the experience what you want..

We have nothing but high praise for BV and yes of course we will return, again & again... It just remains for us for us to say heartfelt thanks for yet another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just got home from Barbados where we stayed for 17 nights at Beach View.
I chose Beach View based on reviews on Tripadvisor back in January, and in short it's just an excellent place to stay.

Robin, his daughter Carrie and all the staff are just wonderful people who are very helpful.

On mondays go to atticus's barbeque party at the hut for food, unlimited beer and rum. Go to the sunset bar for a nice drink and watch the sun set, it's open 3 days a week. On thursdays everyone is invited to Robins house for the weekly cocktail party. Robin and his wife are excellent hosts and the place is just awesome, great way to socialize with other guests.

The pool area is very crowded and you can always find tanning beds.

The hut is open for breakfast and lunch every day or a gold beer or a nice rum punch!
I wish they would serve dinner as well. You don't feel like cooking or eating out (restaurants outside the premises every day), especially with many restaurants being closed sunday and mondays. It would have been very convenient.

I'm just going to steal the text from beachviewbarbardos.com because it's all true! :)

"Beach View is a small all suite self-catering hotel set on 3 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, just across the road from the stunning waters of Paynes Bay beach in St. James. A favourite spot for the famous Barbados sea turtles!

Enjoying a prime location on the famed West Coast of Barbados, Beach View is just 15 minutes from the capital city of Bridgetown and 5 minutes from exciting Holetown which offers a selection of restaurants, nightlife, shops and other services.

36 spacious and fully equipped one, two and three bedroom suites feature high quality tropical furnishings, air conditioned bedrooms & living areas, complimentary in room internet access, full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas.

A large centrally located pool area with separate children’s and adult swimming pools, bistro style cafe, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday.

Whether you are planning a quiet escape from your busy schedule, a fun getaway with friends, wedding, romantic honeymoon or family holiday – think Beach View, your perfect island home."

Also Beach View is great value for money + great location.

We will be back :-)

Room Tip: 3rd floor apartments has the best view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank palvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at Beach View apartments with my two teenage children. The rooms were spacious and kept to an excellent level of cleanliness. It's a great place to stay if you prefer a little more independence and prefer to choose where to spend your time. There were always sun loungers by the pool available (no reserving here!) and the reception team and the security team (after hours) were great. I would suggest hiring a car while there so you can get the most out of your stay on the Island. There is a beach across a busy road that you can walk to but a five minute walk along the beach heading north will take you a beautiful sandy stretch to lounge on. We brought our towels as there are no beach chair facilities there but didn't mind as we like to hop in the car to explore as many other beaches as we can. We went to breakfast most days to a place called Indigo in Holetown, where you can get a full english at a reasonable price. We have stayed in many places in Barbados as we go every year (hotels, villas) and found that this gave us good value for money in a central location. If you want the facilities of a hotel, this place is not for you, but if you like good value, self-catering, non-crowded pools, this is great!

Room Tip: Top floors have a better view and we didn't get bitten once (we normally get eaten alive!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fgbgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

First all the reviews are erroneous...

1). The beach is across the busy street

2). The beach across the street has no room for you to lay out. It smells like dead fish because there a fish market on the beach

3). I will recommend you to stay either at crane or turtle beach

4). The pictures of this hotel not a resort is misleading

5). No restaurants are available for dinner

6). No access to front desk after 5 pm

7). Limited towels

8). We really regret staying here false advertisement

Trip advisor was so wrong about this hotel

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jensju18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvbarbados, Manager at Beach View, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
This review is really quite biased and posted by guests who clearly did not spend a lot of time researching the property that they booked. Had they done even minimal research & not booked us solely on our rating, they would have realized that we would not have been a fit & would never have booked with us in the first place.

We are not beachfront but we do have a beach view and the first line of our website clearly states that we are across the road from the beach.

The 2 resorts that they have mentioned are both lovely and are great choices for those looking for a resort experience. We are not a full service resort and we do not advertise as one. The first line on our website also says we are a small self-catering hotel. We are more suited to families or couples who are looking for a quiet, ‘home away from home’ holiday.

We also don’t advertise a restaurant for dinner as we don’t have one. We have a café for breakfast & lunch and are in walking distance of nice restaurants for dinner.

Our reviews are posted by guests who have enjoyed their stay with us and have booked with Beach View knowing what they are booking. We are highly rated on Trip Advisor but not necessarily for any of the things that these girls were looking for in their holiday. We can only hope that future readers will be able to see through this review.

All the best,
Carrie and Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband, and I have just returned from our 2 week stay at Beach View.... we have never wanted to return to the same place twice, but love Beach View so much that this was our fourth visit in as many years...it is just that good!

Robin, Carrie and all the staff make us feel so very welcome and are there to assist with anything you need - they have great suggestions for where to go for meals, entertainment, trips around the island etc. They are also the perfect hosts at the weekly cocktail party at Robins house - it is a great place to go to meet and socialise with all the other guests who are staying at Beach View.

The apartments are large, clean and fully equipped for your stay - all you need are groceries and the local supermarket now offers on-line shopping with free delivery so you can order in advance and your groceries/beer/rum etc will be delivered when you arrive! No need to shop when you arrive..just go straight to the beach or pool! Perfect!

All rooms have great views of the sea or the pool and the sunset bar on the roof top is open several evenings for guests to enjoy a drink and take in the most amazing sunsets views too.

The beach directly across the road from Beach View is great for a morning or evening dip and for snorkelling too (Beach View have snorkel gear that you can use) and if you walk a little further up the beach there are some great areas to just relax and soak up the sun. Sunbeds are available to rent here and there are lots of watersports available too.

There are several great restaurants nearby, Scarlets and Cin Cin are our favourites, and Holetown, which is just a 5 minute bus ride away, has lots more. A ride on the yellow bus into town is a must..it is a great experience! lol!

This year our 2 sons (aged 21 and 24) joined us for a week and both realise why we love the place so much! Barbados is a beautiful island with such lovely people and staying at Beach View makes for a great vacation... we are already looking forward to our 5th visit next year :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Beach View early June and had a great holiday! If you are looking for high level self catering accomodation with the comfort of great hosts to help you, this is the answer! The whole place was clean and well looked after and Robin and his staff were always there if you needed them. Never " in your face" but always there! Also great location for Bridgetown and Holetown (on the Reggae buses), with lots of restaurant choices. Don't need an excuse to go back!

Room Tip: Garden view are ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a small self-catering condo hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Certificate of Excellence 4 years running and Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 2 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing