We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel in a great location”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel in a great location”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Robin and his staff were simply amazing during our stay at Beach View. Wonderfully landscape gardens, beautifully decorated, spacious apartments with stunning views of the Caribbean Sea. We could not have asked for more from a hotel, which contributed in making our holiday memorable. I wholehearted recommend this hotel for a great stay in Barbados.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    137
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
341
551
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Let me start off by saying that I have traveled all over the world and stayed in some of the best hotels, so I am pretty hard to impress. The staff and service was comparable to the Mandarain Oriental, yes I am serious...read on
My best friend and I traveled to Barbados over Christmas (2012) and were couldn't bear the thought of the paying 600 a night for a Hilton or 500 a night for a "boutique hotel" -- trust me, no place in Barabados knows how to pull of a boutique experience. My friend and I checked out several other "luxury" places during our stay and were glad we didn't spend the money. We read the reviews on Beach View and despite the great reviews we still had low expectations, I think largely because it is portrayed on the website as condo/apartment living. We were blown away by our room -- it was gigantic with a fantasitc view of the ocean. It also had brand new applicances, internet, washer/dryer etc. -- It felt like we were visiting rich friends. Having a kitchen turned out to be essential -- we got sick of paying for overpriced food at the different places in Holetown and ended up buying fresh caught fish from guys on the beach which they cut into filets for us.

Robyn the owner invited us over for drinks at his house down the road. It was like something of Architectual Digest -- someone needs to do a feature on his place. No hotel in Barbados will give you this kind of personal experience.

Everything is really expenisive in Barbados, even if you do go grocery shopping, but the one thing I would highly recommend blowing some cash on is The Cliff, which is right down the road from Beach View. Great views, great people watching and amazing deserts and drinks -- expect to spend 200 a person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Christine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our flight was late but the welcome was so warm and we were helped into our apartment so quickly the delay was soon forgotten. A lot of care and attention goes into Beach View, the gardens and the property, inside and out, are very well maintained. Our 3 bed apartment was huge, very comfortable and exceptionally well equipped. We liked everything about it and not being charged for things like wi-fi is one of many examples of management with great attitude. The road noise really is not an issue - it's there but we like the fact that the location means you have a 100M to get a bus and 200M to half a dozen restaurants from one end of the price spectrum to the other.
Big covered terrace and lots of umbrellas means that the rain was never an issue, and although the whole property looks quite large from the photos, because the apartments are so big, it is never going to feel crowded as there aren't that many people - compared to other places where a lot are packed into a small area.
The little Hut that served breakfast was just perfect - wide enough choice for breakfast and lunch - nice food, fair prices and very nice people.
Beach - great; cross the road and walk along for a bit and plenty of space. This gives a view of some of the hotels fronting to the beach itself, most of which looked down at heel - despite their flashy entrances.
Supermarket in Holetown is easy, we went by bus - don't be put off by the exuberant driving style - they're cheap, fast and frequent. But cabs are readily available too.
We hired a car - had two trips out - easy, safe place to drive - the 'H' on your hire car gets you a lot of tolerance!
Definitely do the East Coast - it doesn't take long, lots of scenery and history - and beaches.
Only tourist thing we did was the submarine - great value and if you have never done one, got to do it.
We went to the Manager's drinks -really not my thing but even I had a great evening - nice thing to do - don't miss it.
So that pretty much repeats everything that has been said by others but this really is an exceptional, welcoming place with really nice people and they deserve another top marks review. We can't wait to get back - probably for two weeks rather than one next time and in the summer to spend a bit more time out on the island - which I would sum up as the perfect mid point between over-trimmed Bermuda and sometimes a bit scary, Jamaica. Very friendly, very safe feel.

Room Tip: One of the two centre blocks, ground floor - we were in 109 which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ducati100ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Robin and his staff made us feel very welcome. The Thursday cocktail party at Robin's house on the beach, just up the road was a great idea, lovely way of meeting the other new arrivals. As others had experienced, we rented a one bedroom apartment, but had a 2 bedroom (the 2nd room was looked) which meant the living space was a great size for 2. The breakfast included was very fresh, simple food in a relaxed atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again. We stayed the weekend before Christmas for 4 days, so there were many young families with grandparents too, staying inthe 3 bedroom apartments. We would probably pick outside of children's holidays next time to stay. We were in one of the middle blocks, farthest from road, didn't get bothered by traffic noise at all. Didn't hear the other guests in their apartments either, so must be well sound proofed. We caught the local bus into Holetown and Speighstown for restaurants, very handy and safe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cedar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

What can I say? The photos do not do Beach View justice. We spent 10 days here in December and could not fault the place or the service we received. Our apartment was spacious and spotless, and equipped with everything we needed including wi-fi, beach towels, plastic glasses for the pool etc etc and we had three balconies / terraces overlooking the beach. The pool area was great too and very peaceful to lounge around all day.

Robin and Carrie and the team could not have been more welcoming or helpful, they really do go the extra mile. We loved going to Robin's house for cocktails. Beach View fully deserves 5 Stars on Trip Advisor.

Tips - We loved Daphne's and Cariba for dinner (both walking distance) and we bought fish from the fish market (tuna, marlin, swordfish, huge portions and very cheap) over the road most lunchtimes and cooked in the apartment. The Cliff is very impressive, even just for cocktails, a definite 'must see'.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our experience of the service received at Beach Views apartments was the best we have ever had in over 30 years of regular holidays. The Apartments are stunning & Robin & all of his staff provided a service second to none. The Apartments are generous in size, excellent fittings with superb appliances. We will be going back next year. The cocktail party at Robin's house was a nice touch. We can see why they won best small hotel of the year in Barbados.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDBSEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We've only been back just over a day from Beach View and like last year and the year before that, are already missing it and the team who make it function so well.
Plans are already in place to return in both April and December of 2013, because it is just simply a wonderful place to go and stay on a very beautiful island.

This was our 3rd time at Beach View and our 9th on Barbados in total and everything I have already stated about Beach View still rings true and the trip was faultless once again. Every detail of our stay was superbly executed as always and this time they had the added complications of getting my race bag and number for the Barbados 10K as I was only flying in on the day of the race!!

All our emails to Carrie prior to the trip, including working out all of the logistics around my late arrival on the island to run the Barbados 10K were responded to in super quick time and everything ran like clockwork, which was just as well as we arrived into Barbados at 14:00 from JFK and the start of the race was at 16:30 so there was no margin for error. Needless to say, all the arrangements went without a hitch and I made the start of the race with well over an hr to spare!

In summary, and as mentioned previously, we are already planning our next trips back to Barbados and there is only one place where we would want to stay. Robin & Carrie and all the team run an extremely efficient and tight ship and Beach View is THE perfect place to spend some time chilling out on the beautiful beaches of Barbados.

As is mentioned extensively on here, all the accommodation's are tip top and are always kept immaculate.

Our only regret is we never managed to get to one of the wonderful Manager Cocktail Parties at their magnificent home but I'm sure we will manage to do so again, next time we stay.

Thanks once again for another fabulous stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CubanboyShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
621 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,031 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing