We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 glorious nights”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“9 glorious nights”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our experience of the service received at Beach Views apartments was the best we have ever had in over 30 years of regular holidays. The Apartments are stunning & Robin & all of his staff provided a service second to none. The Apartments are generous in size, excellent fittings with superb appliances. We will be going back next year. The cocktail party at Robin's house was a nice touch. We can see why they won best small hotel of the year in Barbados.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDBSEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    133
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
325
535
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We've only been back just over a day from Beach View and like last year and the year before that, are already missing it and the team who make it function so well.
Plans are already in place to return in both April and December of 2013, because it is just simply a wonderful place to go and stay on a very beautiful island.

This was our 3rd time at Beach View and our 9th on Barbados in total and everything I have already stated about Beach View still rings true and the trip was faultless once again. Every detail of our stay was superbly executed as always and this time they had the added complications of getting my race bag and number for the Barbados 10K as I was only flying in on the day of the race!!

All our emails to Carrie prior to the trip, including working out all of the logistics around my late arrival on the island to run the Barbados 10K were responded to in super quick time and everything ran like clockwork, which was just as well as we arrived into Barbados at 14:00 from JFK and the start of the race was at 16:30 so there was no margin for error. Needless to say, all the arrangements went without a hitch and I made the start of the race with well over an hr to spare!

In summary, and as mentioned previously, we are already planning our next trips back to Barbados and there is only one place where we would want to stay. Robin & Carrie and all the team run an extremely efficient and tight ship and Beach View is THE perfect place to spend some time chilling out on the beautiful beaches of Barbados.

As is mentioned extensively on here, all the accommodation's are tip top and are always kept immaculate.

Our only regret is we never managed to get to one of the wonderful Manager Cocktail Parties at their magnificent home but I'm sure we will manage to do so again, next time we stay.

Thanks once again for another fabulous stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CubanboyShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney Bay, St Lucia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Short but lovely stay at Beach View with my wife 09/12 to 12/12. The property location is absolutely perfect near the best restaurants and beaches. So is the condo accomodation, which offers truly tremendous value for money. We had unit 308 with king size bed, fully equipped kitchen, a vast amount of space inside and on the west facing terrace, as well as breathtaking views over the ocean from both the living room and the bedroom. All of this tastefully decorated, clean and perfectly maintained. In fact, management of the property is led by a most dynamic team of father (the owner) and daughter. Attention to details is excellent and any help and assistance we asked for was met without delay. If resting by the the large and beautiful pool is not the daily objective, renting a car is a good idea, which was expectly arranged for us by Sonia at the reception. We had such a good time at Beach View that I feel a little guilty in mentionning that there is a bit of traffic noise at rush hours as the property is close to the west coast road.

Room Tip: A high floor will have a more spectacular sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surferdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon Ontario Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Beach View Hotel in Barbados is first choice on our list of places to stay. The large condo accomodations with only 3 three units per floors are great. Absolutely anything you need in a kitchen is stocked in these units. The clothes dryer was a bonus. A bus stop is in front of the hotel. Walking is a breeze to restaurants and bars. Even Holetown is easy to walk. We walked there daily each morning as excercise, no big deal.
The beach is right right across the road and feels very safe. The hotel has some chairs and beach umbrellas they will lend you for beach use. We never used the pool but it was clean and a good size.
The housekeeping staff clean daily and the units are 10 out of 10.
The reception staff are the most friendly and helpful people you will ever meet. All staff at the Beach View are the most helpful people and seem to be able to accommodate any request. The welcome cocktail party is a MUST, just go and you will see.
Any negative comments regarding the Beach View are completely unfounded in our opinion, we do not have one complaint. A 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: We didn't have a problem with noise because we are used to the caribbean street noise. But perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level Contributor
426 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our second visit to Barbados & this time we decided to move further north, which proved to be a good decision and should we decide to return to Barbados we would certainly like to stay at Beach View again. Our apartment was on the ground floor - complete with a spacious terrace. It was never our intention to cook - but the kettle, fridge etc were most useful (enjoyed our breakfast at the "hut", snack for lunch & out for dinner). The quality of the furnshings were excellent, although I am not a fan of showers over the bath - I regard them as potentially dangerous, particularly for small or less able persons.

Very pleasant & helpful staff including the security people

Attractive swimming pool area - with pleny of umbrellas for shade. The adult pool is not a "swimmers" pool - it is a bit limited; you should note that there are steps/ ledges in the pool which are not marked & therefore a danger particularly for partially sighted guests.

We made a decision before visiting Barbados that we would eat at the Barbadian restaurants - rather than the internationals close by - we do enjoy those at home instead! Our favourite was the atmospheric Mr Vics & his flying fish; also liked was Cariba recommended by Robyn (both a short walk away). Sadly our Liat flight was late - so missed the visit to Robyn's house and the BBQ was cancelled/ postponed at the time of our visit.

Paynes Bay beach is some 10 mins walk - just past Mr Vics, where we hired 2 comfortable loungers & an umbrella for a couple of hours, also visited the turtles. A visit to St James Church in Holetown & the NT Arlington House in Speighstown are recommended

Tip - take your teapot to the Hut for a really good cup or two of tea at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 18 nights at Beach View in November on our first ever trip to the Caribbean. We had been attracted by the brilliant Tripadvisor comments and the place lived up to the hype. The appartment was beautiful with everything you could wish for. Kitchen was modern and fully equipped. The bedroom and bathroom were lovely and the main room and balcony stunning with the views over the sea. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.We got particularly friendly with Therese the security guard, a lovely lady.The Thursday cocktail parties at Robin's house were super as was the Monday bbq evening. The pool was very welcoming and large enough to actually swim lengths with loads of room to sunbathe and plenty of loungers. We went to the beach most days- the beach directly across the road is fine but a bit too near the road for our liking so we would generally walk 5 mins up the beach to find our idyllic spot. You can borrow snorkelling equipment, beach chairs and umbrellas from reception. The sea was beautiful and we snorkelled regularly. The appartments were very handy for a number of local restaurants. Daphnes 5 mins walk away was super for cocktails watching the sun go down and we had a lovely meal there. We also tried Scarletts which was good. The best restaurant we went to was Tides in Holetown--fabulous service to match the views over the sea. Ragamuffins in Holetown was also good. We cooked for ourselves half of the time and the supermarket in Holetown had everything you needed plus the fish market across the road from the appartments had a good selection of fresh fish most afternoons.The yellow reggae buses were the highlight of the holiday --noisy and vibrant and at 2 dollars ( 60p) a trip they were a bargain. They stopped outside the appartments and so Holetown was only 5 mins away whilst Bridgetown was 25 mins. The buses also gave you chance to mingle with the exceptionally friendly locals. Places of interest to visit were St Nicholas Abbey - a very interesting old sugar plantation, Harrisons Cave ( a bit expensive), the Kensington Oval cricket ground ( note--only open for tours Mon,Wed and Fri despite the notice outside advertising daily tours!) and neighbouring cricket museum, the museum in Speightstown, the north and west coasts of the island with some spectacular scenery, Oistins fish market on a Friday evening ( Beach View will organise a mini bus). We can also recommend the catamaran snorkelling trip with Calabaza - it was worth the extra few pounds to go on a trip with only up to 12 people so you could get close to the turtles and the fish without there being too many people around.We hired a car for 3 days and it was well worth it to get a real feel for the island.We have to say we felt very safe on the island and whilst you did often get approached to buy things on the beach, the vendors were just as happy to chat even if you didnt want to buy. We were a little worried beforehand about possible noise from the road but we can honestly say that it did not bother us at all and whilst you could often hear the reggae buses going past, we thought that it actally added to the fun and vibrant atmosphere. Finally, if you are wondering about going to Barbados and wondering about these appartments, then we can honestly say 'go ahead and book. You will not be disappointed! '

Room Tip: We were in room 204. This had 3 rooms although we only used 1. Fabulous view over the garden and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our 7th visit to Barbados but the first to beach view. We brought our friends with us and really enjoyed showing them the beautiful Island. The staff and the accommodation at Beach view are excellent. Nothing too much trouble and a very very pleasant stay. We can really recommend a stat here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing