We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family holiday in Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a family holiday in Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our 3 bedroom apartment was very spacious, modern, cool and clean and suited our family of 5 perfectly for our 12 night stay. We had requested top floor and sea view when booking direct through the website and this was what we received. We had been a little bit anxious before arriving that we might be bothered by noise from the road but we can honestly say it was minimal, and the beautiful gardens shielded most of this light traffic from view. The sea view beyond the gardens was amazing.
We only have one tiny niggle, which has been commented on elsewhere, the A/C in the bedrooms, whilst efficient, was a little noisy. However, we did get used to it. I certainly wouldn't be put off by it because everything else was perfect.
Thank you to the staff who were all efficient, welcoming and helpful. We hope to return some day.

Room Tip: We were top floor Sea grape block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    133
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
322
526
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We recently rented a 3 bedroom unit for a week with some friends from Illinois. I was on crutches due to recent injury so I was a bit apprehensive of what we might experience. First, the space was very clean. Everything worked including all the kitchen appliances, and all the furnishings were very nice. The rooms were comfortable and we were close to the beach. The entire staff was pleasant to work with and took care of anything we needed. The hotel is very near many nice restaurants, several within walking distance or a short bus or taxi ride. Overall this property is an excellent value for what you get. We would definitely go back and stay there again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve4009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Beach View - Barbados
The Beach View has received loads of praise from Travel Advisor contributors but most of them are from the UK. Our friends from Seattle and us from Florida decided to try the Beach View after we completed a week long cruise through the Windward Islands and the sailing ship, The Royal Clipper.
Making our reservations was easy and Natalie from the Beach View was very accommodating. Each of our couples booked a single apartment for three nights.
At check in the staff was ready for us and we were struck by the well manicured grounds and the beautiful condition of our apartment. Everyone went out of their way to see that we were well situated in our unit. The view across Haynes Bay was stunning and set the tone for our entire stay.
I can only give the HIGHEST MARKS to the Beach View. No it is not on the beach but the beach with clear blue water is right across the highway. No you don't pay beach front rates. The other resorts we checked in the Holetown area on the beach were much more expensive.
One note of caution is the air conditioning system in the rooms. Evidently the bedrooms were the only rooms originally with A/C and it was added later to the living - kitchen areas. It only works when all the doors and windows are closed but sometimes you have to open and close the doors a couple of times to get the A/C to kick on. It is pretty noisy while it is running.
The pool area is very nice with two pools - both are really set up for families and kids. One is a wading pool and the lower pool sports a sloping entrance which is perfect for the little ones. However, for adults with no kids in tow it is pretty noisy with all the kids around. If you want solitude just walk across the street to the beach. There you can watch the local fishermen launch and retrieve their boats and sell the days catch. The snorkeling gear we borrowed from the Beach View was in poor condition.
We hit three of the best restaurants in Barbados during our stay and they are all quite near the Beach View - The Cliff, The Tides, and the Beach House. All are reviewed by us.
We rented a car and toured most of the Island. Our favorite by far was St. Nicholas Abby. Be warned you US drivers, in addition to driving on the left, the roads are terrible for the most part and you must avoid some of the Bajan drivers who are out to kill themselves and you along the way. Thank goodness we opted for the GPS in the car from Venture Car Rentals, the roads are poorly marked but the GPS kept us heading in the right direction. We survived with no problems.
All in all a great end to a wonderful West Indies vacation and the facility and the staff at the Beach View had much to do with our satisfaction.

Room Tip: Depending if you want a pool view or like we had a beach view, the enclosed veranda was great as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hineconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Before arriving we wondered how Beach View was the highest ranked hotel in Barbados. It is lovely with out being exceptional but it does the small things very well and why I think it is ranked so high. The apartment was spacious, clean, well-appointed and had a good view, the pool and grounds were great and the staff could not be friendlier. We stayed an extra night because we enjoyed it so much. The down side is the road runs between the hotel and the beach and the beach immediately opposite is not the best as it is right on the road, but still pretty good and you don’t have to walk far to get the beautiful Barbados west coast beaches. If you are a light sleeper you will hear the local rooster quite early and the a/c while being energy efficient is a bit annoying as you need various internal doors to be shut for it to work in each zone. Overall this is an excellent self-catering hotel with in easy access, by car, to the main action around Holetown. The amazing Cliff Restaurant is a very short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DwightCupit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have just returned from Beach View apartments after spending a fortnight there. The rooms were very spacious and had everything in them that you could need. We were in a ground floor room and this was perfect for us as we have a small child. Even though the air conditioning only works when you're in the room we didnt find this a problem as our room seemed to be in the shade and the airconditioning cools the rooms quickly. The maid service was fantastic. The pools were always clean. The staff were always friendly and happy to help you with anything they could.

Robin invites you into his home every thursday for cocktails. His home is amazing and this goes above and beyond what anyone expects but is a great touch and all his family make you feel welcome.

We didnt get taxis or hire a car we got buses everywhere. There is a bus stop at the end of the road and the buses come about every 5 mins.

You do have to cross the road to get to the beach, this isnt a problem as there is a zebra crossing and even when your not on it people stop to let you cross. I would not say the road is a very busy road.

When we return to Barbados we will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 108 it was shaded so made it cooler and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank phillippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Beach View with our two teenagers. The apartment was a wonderful choice for us. Having two bedrooms, two full bathrooms and so much living area (a full living room, a separate eating area and a full kitchen) made our stay so much more comfortable and relaxing than a stay in a standard hotel room. The ocean view from our apartment was stunning. The grounds were beautifully landscaped, the apartment was clean and pleasantly decorated, and everything was well maintained. Management was friendly and helpful.

The Beach View is not on the beach; you must cross a busy street to reach the beach, which is small and quiet (in a good way). A somewhat livelier beach (sand chairs, water sports operators) is a very short beach stroll north. We had a rental car so we didn't use the convenient bus stop across the street, but bus service appeared to be frequent. Nearby Holetown had groceries, convenience stores, bank ATMs, numerous restaurants, and other shopping.

We hope to return to Barbados on future holidays and would stay again at Beach View.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelerdd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

There's not a lot in Payne's Bay - a fish stand, The Cliff and these apartments. But it's absolutely great. You've your choice of the 2 public transport bus services or BV will sort you a good driver to wherever on the island including the supermarket, places to see and be seen, and the shiny new designer shopping centre. The reviews have explained the benefits of the apartments and they are right. Great facilities particularly for kids as the children's pool is very large and only knee deep. Nice touches like pool toys, barbecues and the breakfast hut create a community feel. One thing to be aware of... all of the apartment blocks have a lovely view but one is closer to the road so have larger rooms but no large outdoor balcony (there's a tiny one but the rest is closed in by glass). May not bothers you, but make it clear when you book if it does. You can spot the two types on the website photos. This is a smoothly run operation and there's a determination to give a quality customer experience... It's why people return year after year.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trillian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing