We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is a Reason Beach View is Number One”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Napa Valley
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“There is a Reason Beach View is Number One”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Beach View offered good service in an excellent location at price to value ratio that we don't think can be bested in Barbados. The apartments are large and well appointed and the pool area is large and enjoyable. The beach the property views is one of the few undeveloped ones on the west side of the island and while you have to cross a road to get to it, that is no impediment to its enjoyment.

While enjoying all the comforts of a major hotel except room service dining, Beach View offers daily maid service with limited linen change, free parking and excellent security as well as a quiet environment. Some of the best restaurants on the island are within a short walking distance. The staff is well trained and happy to help with problems large and small. Kitchens are large and have all major appliances, Wireless internet had some hookup problems in the bedroom but an ether net cable resolved that matter. There is one TV set in the living room and none in the bedroom and there is an ipod dock as well. Units have washers and dryers which is very helpful.

Air conditioning has been mentioned in other reviews as an issue and it was one we were concerned about. The units are zoned by room and turn on when one enters and stay on for the most part until you leave. It promotes economy but we found it less than satisfactory and would suggest the owners and staff rethink the benefit of saving electricity versus resolving this matter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winetraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    133
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
323
527
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our time here was some of the most relaxing of our lives! the hotel itself was lovely- the apartments were extremely well-appointed. Full kitchens, with dishes and all, a washer and dryer, a large living room and bedroom- complete with a patio overlooking the pool. It was the perfect spot to enjoy a home cooked breakfast every morning. The bedroom had also had a small patio, and with the sliding glass door open, you could hear the waves crash as you drifted off to sleep after along day in the sun. Some people might not appreciate it early in the morning, but the sound of the roosters was so fantastic. Not loud enough to wake you up, but loud enough to enjoy once you were.
the parking was great, safe and plentiful, as was the location- it was close to everything, most importantly Holetown for shopping!
The beach across the street was a bit rocky- but so pristine! Perfect for an early morning dip before a day of exploring the island. And of course, the sunset! it was like out of a movie- so beautiful! Definitely something to be enjoyed each day of your trip!

Room Tip: away from the main road- which can be noisy/ busy during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Beach View, on the west coast of Barbados and the the top rated hotel on Barbados as I write, is lovely. But it is not the best hotel on Barbados, not even close. It is a Trip Advisor Best—a TABBY—which is not the same thing.
The eastern coast of Barbados is beautiful, with cliffs, more or less secluded beaches and a few charming hotels. But the beaches, although suitable for surfing, are rough and are not well suited for swimming, snorkeling or other water sports. The beaches in the south are not as beautiful and still windy. The hotels on the southern coast, and the coast more generally, greatly lack in charm. By far the nicest beaches on the island, warm and calm waters, lots of sand, good facilities are on the west cost. The coast, from Bridgetown north through Holestown and beyond, is lined with about a dozen high end resorts directly on the beaches. Some look a little shabby. Some do not. But they are universally expensive: So far as I could figure out, there would not have been a room directly on the beach on the west coast for less than $800 a night.
Beach View is not directly on the beach. It’s across the road from a small beach that is itself adjacent to the beaches where the more expensive resorts are located. But Beach View is also less than half the cost of the hotels directly on the beach. Although I would be astonished if anyone really thought it the best hotel on Barbados, regardless of cost, it may well be the best bargain on Barbados.
The virtues of the beach Haven: large suites (all with living rooms and kitchens, some with multiple bedrooms, making it well suited for families or groups of friends); good management; excellent standards of cleanliness; good views from the second story apartments and even better views from the third story; a nice pool; a terrific location, right across the road from a beach (with, by the way, excellent snorkeling in the coral just to the left of the beach, accessible without having to swim more than a few feet, let alone getting on a boat), near some terrific restaurants (the roti joint, just north for casual lunch or dinner, Cariba just south for an excellent upscale meal in a casual setting).
The downside: It isn’t directly on the beach and the beach across the road (itself exposed to the road) is not as nice as the beaches just north and south. There is also significant noise from the road, not awful but noticeable when sitting outside or by the pool. The facilities are also limited—a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch but not dinner, no exercise room.

Would I stay at Beach View again? Sure, unless I won the lottery (a big pot) in which case I would shell out $800 to $1900 a night for Sandy Lane or Treasure Beach or the House. More likely, I would not go back to Barbados at all. I would look for an island (Culebra would be one choice) with better beaches, less development, and lower prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank RLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in Feb, although the weather was against us as it rained hard most days, we really enjoyed our holiday and will definitely return to Barbados and Beach View. The view from our 3rd floor apartment was fantastic although we were in Paw Paw building which was on the road and on our next stay we would try one of the apartments that overlook the pool so that we had a bigger open balcony. The apartments were beautiful. The pool more than adequate, All the staff were super friendly, nothing is too much trouble for any of them, i've never felt so 'at home' on holiday.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms give great views, apartments over looking the pool have lovely large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liselou4769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a three bedroom apartment on the third floor but as there were only two of us the second and third bedrooms and the famiy bathroom were locked off, nontheless it was a superb apartment with a large kitchen and living room (fit for six) and great balconies. Well furnished with a very comfortable bed and superb seaviews.
The only downside was the main west coast road, which unfortunately runs between the complex and the gorgeous sea just a few metres beyond.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PBW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

This was my first holiday in Barbados and I enjoyed staying here at Beach View. I will definitely be coming back to Barabdos and staying here again. The apartment was clean with a great view of the beach. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. My friend and I were invited to a BBQ put on by the Beach View staff and the food was excellent. Highly recommended.
From Mr Makari

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I've reviewed Beach View before, and I'm updating my review. My boyfriend and I have flown from Chicago to Barbados for the past three years, and we've stayed at Beach View every time. Their apartments are clean, spacious, comfortable and modern. The entire staff is incredibly friendly, respectful and accomodating. The views of the Caribbean and surrounding beaches are breathtaking. Holetown is just a few minutes away and there are fantastic restaurants in the area for food and drink, including a supermarket in case you just want to cook your own meal in the spacious kitchens.
I can not imagine many other places that are as satisfying as our stays at Beach View. I'm looking forward to 2013, in hopes of staying at the Beach View as a winter escape again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snora88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing