We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edison, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had a great time at Beachview. The room was very spacious and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our daughter has a minor injury during a nightout and management was very concerned and attentive to our needs. Breakfast in the morning was just delicious and the staff at the Hut was always charming and friendly. The beach is a short walk and is calm and perfect for bathing. Karibou and roti den is also a very short walk and have really good caribbean food. In all we could not have booked at a better place. Looking forward to our return to Beachview!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuba63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    137
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
340
551
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at the Beach View recently for 3 nights. I had booked in a 1 bedroom apartment but as the hotel was relatively quiet I was put into a 3 bedroom apartment which had 2 of the bedrooms blocked off. The apartment had a good sized well equipped kitchen. The option of being able to cook meals is a good one, given how hideously expensive meals are on the west coast.

The hotel is in a nice location at Payne's Bay, across the road from a nice little beach. The hotel grounds and pool are nice. The only downside being across from the beach is that the hotel does not have any facilities (eg sun lounges) on the beach. However, there is a large pool at the hotel.

The rooms are well appointed and are quiet.

The hotel staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. The manager of the hotel hosts drinks / canapes at his home each Thursday night for guests of the hotel, which is a lovely touch.

My only complaint about the hotel is that the rooms only have air conditioning in the bedrooms. This is on a sensor and will only work when you are in the room and if you have the door to the bedroom closed. As a result the rest of the apartment (which only has ceiling fans) becomes extremely hot, so much so that I didn't spend anytime in the apartment except when I wanted to sleep, which is a shame as it would have been nice to be able to relax in the sitting room overlooking the pool. I understand from another guest that they are intended to upgrade soon and include air conditioning throughout the apartments.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

No AC in living area which makes it unbearable to sit in.

You get AC in rooms but no control to adjust temperature (I had to literally beg for a control so I could be comfortable at night)

On top of this AC only works when you shut the door and you also must be in the room as it has sensors which switch it off if you're
not in there!

If they stopped being so miserly
and sorted out the AC issues by letting you have controls then this would be a great place but unfortunately this one issue really spoils things.

Only other minor gripe is that the breakfast menu is tiny so we quickly got bored eating bacon and egg
buttie every day!

Had no other issues though so once they (hopefully) sort out these two issues it will be great

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyWeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvbarbados, Manager at Beach View, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear AndyWeths,

We thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are currently upgrading 9 apartments & by the end of September they will be fully air-conditioned throughout. We also plan to install air-conditioning units in the living rooms of most of our other units over the next few months. We do not in fact currently advertise fully air-conditioned apartments but will soon be able to offer that feature also.

To address your more specific remarks:

1. Perhaps it is a bit of an exaggeration to say that you had to ‘literally beg’ for a remote control. Yes, we do not typically give out the control but if you think the air-conditioner is too warm, a phone call to the office would have brought someone up to your room to make the temperature cooler for your comfort.

2. Oftentimes in hotels, guests will go out for the day & accidentally leave the air-conditioner running. This is a tremendous waste. For this reason the sensors are in place, to ensure that the air-conditioner is only working when there is in fact a person inside the room.

3. In recent years, the entire world is trying it’s best to become ‘greener’. We are merely trying to do our part to keep our energy consumption to a minimum. ‘Energy conscious’ may be a better way to describe us rather than ‘miserly’.

4. There are other options on the menu besides the egg and bacon buttie. We are a self-catering hotel but we do have a small cafe for our guest’s convenience, we do not offer or advertise a restaurant with an extensive menu.

I am pleased that you had no other issues with our property and we hope to welcome you back to one of our fully air-conditioned units sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Beach View is a beautiful and reasonably priced property. You walk across the street to the beach. Really, it is not a problem. You might wait 1 minute-it's not a 4 lane highway. You can walk down the beach a short distance to find some roped off swimming areas and people also swim directly across from the property. The pool is beautiful, clean and large. There is also a large kiddie pool. We visited some other properties and Beach View won hands down. The apartments are large, well appointed and have nice large patios. The staff is very attentive and can give you advice about attractions and they will book it for you. We took the Glory Tour and loved it. We went to the Mangager's cocktail party at his home- that was fun as the home is incredible and you get to meet people from around the world. Barbados is expensive, but here you have the fresh fish market across the street and some food stands that operate on the weekend within in walking distance that are good. You can get a reasonable breakfast ( some plans have breakfast included) and lunch at Beach View. Otherwise, you can expect to pay $80-100 and up for a nice beachfront restaurant for dinner. You have a kitchen but it was too hot to cook as only the bedroom is air conditioned. The management is planning to add air conditioning soon and it is needed! There is alot ot see and do here. Barbados is beautiful! Enjoy!

Room Tip: room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Thanks for a lovely holiday.
Beach View and staff lived up to all the excellent reviews.
We visit Barbados often and if you prefer Self Catering and exploring the Island, this is a great base. Also great for chilling, if you just want to lime around the pool to swim and read.
Having read all the reviews we were a little concerned about crossing the road to the beach. No problem at all, and with the pool being open from 7.00 am. I enjoyed an early morning swim every morning. The noise from the road was occasionally irritating, but most of the time we did not notice it.
The managers cocktail parties hosted by Robin and Hazel were most enjoyable, they certainly know how to "go the extra mile" for service and warm hospitality.
Nothing was too much trouble and any little niggles were put right within hours. Tours car rental etc were all arranged by the staff after we got there.
The villa was extremely well kitted out and very large. Home from home, only better. We don't have an ice maker or a pool at home. There is even a lift for when you don't feel like walking up the stairs, so high floor no problem for disabled guests either or those of us with creaky knees!!!
The area around Beach View is served by many Restaurants within walking distance and long walks on the Beach passing lots of other Hotels and homes. If we got too hot the sea is right there to cool down, lovely.
Looking for something negative to say, had to come back to cold windy rainy all day UK. Barbados has a lot of rain, (which results in a beautiful rich array of flowers and vegetation,) but it is quickly over and most of the daylight hours are sunny and hot hot hot.
Kay P O. Chislehurst, Kent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights with my partner and my parents. The hotel has 2 swimming pools (kiddies and adults) and a kiosk from which you get your breakfast from and you can also get lunch from there. The brekkie consists of an item which you choose from the menu. It's not a big selection, but it's serviced by very nice people and it filled my stomach adequately.. it was also tasty. Lunch was delicious, but since the breakfast was only a moment before, often we were not hungry until it was too late. Rooms were clean and very comfortable, view was great. Service by the reception was also very good, everyone was very helpful and nice. Car rental was also very handy and we were also happy with the car service company. We organised diving with high tide water sports... well, the diving was great but their services leave a lot to hope for. I was very impressed though that when the dive shop didn't come to pick us up one morning, and we complained at the reception, they promptly called the dive shop and the manager himself from there came to pick us up. I was very impressed with that. The only down side would be that to go to the restaurants you have to take a taxi unless you want to walk on the road (there isn't a pavement all the way to holetown, where most restaurants are, and the road is dark). Hotel provided us with numbers for taxis and brochures for restaurants which deliver food to your hotel. When you call a taxi though, ask for the price in advance! they have completely different prices! (in fact we never got in a taxi without asking how much it would be to eg. go back to the hotel). i don't think i would go back to barbados, as it's pretty expensive and i am sure there are nicer places in the caribbean, but if i did, i would be happy to stay at the beach view again! P.s if you have trouble sleeping.. there are roosters who shout the whole night within 50m from the hotel..

Room Tip: write emails with the hotel and book directly !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flyingscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

My wife and I spent 9 nights at Beach View at the beginning of June, and it was everything that we hoped it would be.

The staff was amazing. From everyone in the front office, to the housekeeping staff, security, and of course Atticus, at 'The Hut'.

We ate breakfast at The Hut every morning and had lunch there whenever we were by the pool around lunch (which was a lot). Now my wife is a pickier eater than I am, and some of her favorite meals came from The Hut during our stay on the island. It's simple, delicious food. Plus Atticus' spin on rum punch was awesome. (the nutmeg was a nice touch). Our only regret with The Hut was that there wasn't enough people while we were there for the Monday night BBQ.

The pool was great. No matter what time of day you headed down to the pool you were always able to find a pool lounger. And if you wanted to hit the beach, it was right across the street. Although we usually chose to walk down the beach a little farther.

The rooms were like a home away from home. We had planned to use the kitchen more than we did, but between the convenience of The Hut and the delivery service, there was no need to. (The grilled marlin from Just Grillin' was one of our favorite meals).

Whenever I visit someplace I like to ask myself the question "would I go there again?". Well the answer for Beach View is ABSOLUTELY!!!! (even if it was just to see the sunset at Robin's Cocktail Party on Thursday nights).

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
620 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,029 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,484 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Property: Beach View
Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' 4 years running! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing