We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value plus affordable luxury”
Review of Beach View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Large, well maintained apartments with virtually every amenity you could want. We have been to most parts of the Carib and this is one of the best. Beach is across the street from the apartments. It is the same beach with the same sunshine with the same delightful waters and sand as the luxury resort down the way. If you like to do it your way, this is the way. If you want to be waited on, go someplace else. It is clean and the people are delightful. I would go back any time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skfitzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed for just one night prior to taking a cruise. These apartments are very spacious and well managed by the friendly staff on site. They offer good value for those seeking accomodation on this rather expensive Island.
One draw back, the road is busy and rather noisy and the beach is very small and rather dirty. A hire car is a must if you want to access the Island.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The hotel is attractive, although our room on the 3rd floor was totally overrun with ants, even on the bed. We had an awful time with them for three days. The place is isolated and difficult to go get things - have to take a bus or taxi. The apts. are attractive and roomy (we had a suite) but we had absolutely no cleaning service the second day we were there. By 4:00, we saw the cleaning lady and notified her but said it was too late and we wanted to use the room and to just give us some towels. She didn't seem to care one way or the other. The breakfast is ONE thing, which is included - like yogurt and fruit, OR cereal, OR bread but one thing is not enough to keep hunger away. They need to give you more food. The inhabitants who live behind the hotel also burn trash, which is very close to the hotel and literally inundates the property. I couldn't breathe at all and came down with an asthma attack. The acrid smell is just overwhelming. There is also a very loud road in front of the hotel and makes a great deal of noise at night, making it very difficult to sleep. The pool is also not clean - sides scummy and Chlorine and PH balance are way off. This place is overrated for the price and you can do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lhotse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to escape February in Chicago in 2010 and happened to stumble upon the Beach View. We booked our stay with them and headed off to the sun and sand of Barbados. We could not have been happier with our entire experience there. The location is on the Platinum Coast- think stunning beaches and water, fantastic restaurants, and access to stores, as well as a bus to get you anywhere on the island. The rooms (or should I say condos) are very spacious, very clean, and all have a fantastic view of the Caribbean. Best of all, the staff are incredibly friendly and incredibly helpful- everyone we met there were lovely, genuine people who made our entire stay the best vacation we have had yet. We were so pleased with our experience in Barbados, that we booked another stay at the Beach View and brought 2 of our friends with us this year. Once again, we all had an incredible time. I was a bit hesitant on writing a review about the Beach View, because I am selfishly afraid that they will become so popular that we won't be able to book another vacation with them again. My boyfriend and I are already talking about going back to the Beach View for a 3rd year in a row.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snora88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My lovely husband took me to Beach View, Paynes Bay for my 30th birthday. I had never been to the Caribbean before and did not know what to expect. We arrived in time for the Monday night BBQ and were greeted by Robin, the owner, who set the tone for the rest of the holiday. We were handed a Rum punch and introduced to Bajan BBQ fish and macaroni pie by Atticus, divine and just what was needed after a long flight! The apartment was perfect, immaculately kept and everything we could hope for.

The week continued with a cocktail party at Robin's stunning house, which is really not to be missed. We took a day trip on a catamaran with El Tigre which was a real treat, snorkeling with turtles and over wrecks. The afternoon was a little quieter, relaxing with Rum punch (there is a theme here) and sun bathing while sailing across the bays.

The location of Beach View is utterly perfect, walking distance to both The Cliff and Daphne's which both exceeded expectations.

If you are looking for a place to stay that is incredibly friendly, relaxed and gorgeous, choose Beach View. We are already saving for our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsCKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Agree with all of the positive reviews as the rooms were incredibly clean and spacious, the staff extremely accomodating and attentive, and the location could not have been better. Staff arranged everything from groceries to taxis to island tour for us. The food at the on site tiki bar was great. Cocktails at the managers home are a must do. In short, everything about the resort and Barbados itself was incredible. I highly recommend both for couples and families. We will definitely be returning to Beach View Barbados.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bme250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

All the other trip advisor reviews tell the story which is why we came and we weren't disappointed. Yes, you have to cross the road to get onto the beach, but there is no need to walk up to the more crowded part in front of the hotels, unless you want to swim out to the catamarans and see the turtles. Sit by the pool under the umbrellas for shade and thein nip over to the beach for a fabulous swim.

Beach View/Barbados meant for us minimal bugs, no snakes, no jellyfish, crystal clear water, a safe environment, incredibly friendly locals and great fun on the BD$2-a-ride yellow buses - do not bother hiring a car!

Beware the DVD players are American region only so no good bringing your own commercial DVDs from the UK or elsewhere.

Atticus's included rum punch at the Monday BBQ is heavenly nectar - you may need help getting back to your room afterwards!

Best excursion ever is Cool Runnings Catamaran which you ought to ask Beach View to book for you in advance - see separate reviews. Also the Atlantis subamrine if you want to dive to 150ft to see the local coral reef.

Barbados isn't cheap but for this experience we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDB-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
646 reviews
7.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
405 reviews
9.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#2 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,933 reviews
6.3 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
13.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View

Address: Paynes Bay, BB24009, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $176 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach View is a family run self-catering hotel, located on Barbados's beautiful West Coast. All suites feature full kitchens and open plan living and dining areas offering fantastic ocean or garden views. A large communal pool area with separate adult and children's pools, bistro style cafe, rooftop bar, in room grocery stocking, airport transfers and a range of other convenient services combine to provide all the ingredients for a totally hassle free holiday. Winner of Traveler's Choice award for 'Best Service' every year since 2014! Beach View is currently constructing a brand-new extension to the existing hotel and adding 10 villas, 9 suites and great guest facilities. Together, the properties create a 55 unit boutique hotel set amongst five acres of lush gardens. The new facilities include a large reception, full-service restaurant, small gym & spa, and 2 more swimming pools. The new villas & suites will open in November 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beach View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach View Saint James
Beach View Hotel Saint James
Beach View Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing