We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a highly elegant setting”
Review of L'Acajou

L'Acajou
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The stunning open-air beachfront setting of our chic fine dining restaurant is magical. The romantic L'Acajou specialises in light cuisine paired with an impressive range of Old and New World wines. Dining in Barbados under a canopy of mahogany trees with the gentle sounds of the ocean is a very special experience.
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food in a highly elegant setting”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The chicken we had for our main course was our favourite dish over our 10 night stay on the island - cooked in a different way to bring out the flavours and it was awesome. Also a extensive wine list with over 2000 wines to choose from (although the chap that served us the wine was slightly annoying with his constant story telling each time he poured)

Great setting - good view of the beach. Very elegant surroundings as you would expect from sandy lane.

Bar area and the monkey bar are also good for pre dinner drinks.

It was very quiet when we visited, so the atmosphere was somewhat lacking, but other than this, an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Toms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    21
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but you could be in London, Paris or New York”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A wonderful fine dining experience, but lacking in Bajan charm. The food and service, as you would expect are excellent and the decor tasteful and elegant, but with out the gentle leaping of the ocean outside you could be in any great restaurant around the world.
Would probably return but perhaps for lunch as opposed to dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Special Night with Very Special Staff..”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I would like to thank four special staff members at L'Acajou for making our experience so extraordinary. Kieren, Shawn, Jac, and Karen were wonderful! We saved L'Acajou for last after dining at the coast's best restaurants all week. We had high expectation, but were not let down one bit! Kieren, our main waiter was friendly, cheerful and had the most pleasant demeanor. He wanted to make the night special for us. He explained various dishes in detail to us, and surpassed us with a few little bites from the chef he thought we would like... Even a "Bon Voyage" dessert for our last night! The lamb entree Kieren suggested was so fabulous, my boyfriend told him to kiss the chef for him! Shawn was also friendly, knowledgeable, and we trusted him with our dinner and port wine's. He shared wonderful stories, and was truly a dynamic, charming server. Karen consistently checked in with us, and he kind nature made us feel at home. Jecoliah was so friendly, beautiful and professional. Being from NY, we told them that although we dine at amazing restaurants sometimes, we will miss their wonderful service. We hope to return to L'Acajou, and we are raving about it to our friends, and will be sure to tell them to request Kieren as their server! Thank you for an amazing dining experience!
Caitlin & Pete

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Resort dining in comfort”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

In the Sandy Lane resort. Great view over the beach, clever array of traditional and Caribbean drinks with fine bar tending, good menu which does not change much night to night, for better or worse.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeneWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyLaneHotel, Resident Manager at L'Acajou, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
The entire team at Sandy Lane joins with me to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for your review of our L’Acajou restaurant.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the “great view” of our oceanfront, fine dining L’Acajou restaurant. We appreciate that you highlighted the “clever array of traditional and Caribbean drinks”, fine service and good menu. Our culinary team is always planning many exciting additions to our menus, wine selection and cocktails and we look forward to welcoming you back to dine with us again soon.

If you have any photographs or videos from your dining experience that you think capture the essence of the restaurant, please do upload onto Trip Advisor and visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and YouTube where you can share your L’Acajou memories with other guests.

With regards,
Eric R. Mapp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Much Better than Expected”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

As most visitors to the Island we enjoyed the hospitality of most of the famous restuarants. I didn't have high expectations for Sandy Lane and was expecting the typical staid Hotel experience you can often get.

Instead, we got an excellent meal that was in a great location and a really fun evening with drinks and live music to follow. I would thoroughly recommend!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyLaneHotel, Resident Manager at L'Acajou, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Myself and the entire team at Sandy Lane thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for your kind review of our L’Acajou Restaurant.

We are pleased you enjoyed dining with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your glowing recommendation and that you highlighted our location, on the oceanfront, live entertainment and excellent meal.

If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of your dining experience, please do upload onto Trip Advisor and visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and YouTube where you can share your Sandy Lane memories with others.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming back to L’Acajou Restaurant.

With kind regards,
Eric R. Mapp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Acajou also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to L'Acajou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing