We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sassy cuisine above the fray!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sassafras - CLOSED

Sassafras
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sassy cuisine above the fray!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We always love a hidden gem and Sassafrass is no exception but it is exceptional! Open only two evenings a week, Sassafrass is beautifully nestled into the luxury neighborhood of Sugar Hill, across the road from Royal Westmoreland. This dining experience is glorious. The live music wafted across the infinity pool, the dining room and over the roof tips of the multi-million dollar homes in the restaurants wake. But enough about the scenery as it hardly competes with the terrific service and sensational food!
Last night, the house Gnocchi appetizer was so fantastic that I nearly changed my order mod dining! I did not, however and salvaged the chance to experience the best crab cakes I have ever eaten. The Tuna Tartar was perfect with the minor exception that it begged for some savory crisps. My husbands catch of day, Mahi Mahi, was cooked to perfection.
We are fortunate to own a Villa in lovely Sugar Hill and are delighted that the owners of Sassafrass have graced our neighborhood with this fine dining establishment;)
Happy Dining, Regina Kirshbaum

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Agabhumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Excellent a true hidden gem of Barbados, excellent food, of a very high standard, with smily service too boot! Well done

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oscardogBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great dining experience in peaceful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Romantic location. We were there after dark, but the view is supposed to be fantastic.

Service is fast, and great. Food was very tasty.

Even after trying Daphne's and The Tides, this restaurant still stood out as a great dining place.

NB! only open for dinner 2 nights a week.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iTravelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We have been visiting Sassafras since they took over Nico's opposite The Cliff and have always loved the food and atmosphere. Since they moved to Sugar Hill I'm not sure the food is quite so stunning but it's still great and definitely worth a visit. Dining out in Barbados is an expensive business and can be very hit and miss but Sassafras always delivers. The service is friendly and efficient, the menu varied and interesting and the location is spectacular. They are open for lunch most days and for dinner Wednesdays and Fridays and it's worth booking in advance as they are often very busy. We will be back next year - can't wait.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenaaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great for a casual lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

the restaurant is in the club house of Sugar Hill, a gated community near Holetown. Casual, friendly and serving imaginative and freshly cooked food, its a favourite - ideal to escape from the heat of the beach and to enjoy views in a cooler setting.
Very relaxing and no wallet damage ( our lunch came to about £30 a head including drinks).
another highly rated Rum Punch!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephenf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassafras also viewed

Mount Standfast, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
Fitts, Saint James Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing