We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service, worse food”

Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Sample our new menu, a fusion of Italian fare and our much loved timeless Lonestar classics. The lunchtime menu sees the introduction of pizzas from our woodfire oven sure to be a favourite with our younger customers as well as an array of mouth watering salads. Sunday lunch is still a must at the Lone Star.... Some things never change! Enjoy a rum sour at sunset or a post dinner glass of champagne at our new cocktail lounge. ALSO - Breakfast on the Boardwalk - enjoy your breakfast served right on the beach on our Boardwalk.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bad service, worse food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had lunch here in the first week of Feb 2013. I had the penne with Italian sausage and my husband had the fish pie. My meal was very salty, oily, and had hardly any sausage in it for US$35. My husband's fish pie was tasteless and comprised mostly mashed potato with hardly any fish for US$27.50. To top it off, the wait staff was rude and unhelpful. You can do a lot better with your money, just not here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joyToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    495
    247
    119
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - Staff are a little less friendly”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food can not be faulted and was great value. The service was functional but nothing more. Later in the evening one of the staff did have a very pleasant exchange with us but earlier, we struggled to even get a photo taken.

If the service here had been as good as our nearby Fairmont Hotel, this restaurant would have been right at the top of our experiences. A real pity but hopefully they can address the staff issues. We noted that this was the first restaurant that did not add service automatically to the bill. Maybe adding service (Which most people expect to pay) would improve staff morale. They work hard and are hopefully rewarded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing.....”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place has a good reputation and a great location, but it is average at best. The service was poor and the food was uninspiring. There are plenty of amazing places to eat in this part of the world, and this is not one of them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frome, somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very over rated”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

There is no doubt that the setting for The Lonestar restaurant is sensational. But that is as good as it gets.

The staff were miserable,lazy and uninterested. It was such a shame because this restaurant was recommended to us. The food was also very disapointing. It came far too fast and the chicken that i had was boney and inedible. I would suggest the management take their staff to The Tides or Champers to see how an excellent restaurant is run. The Lonestar is very expensive for what you get and very, very over rated.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SOMERSET1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just too long to wait.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I know this is Barbados where everything takes a long time to happen as everyone keeps reminding you. I have been coming here since 1972 so get used to that. But at Lone Star Restaurant where all the clients are pretty well off Europeans and Americans and where they are proud of their service and quality I have just had the slowest lunch I can ever remember. There were 4 of us and we had been telling our friends this might be the best meal we have on the Island. Oh dear! We arrived at 1.00 p.m. and had a cocktail at the bar during which we ordered our food. We sat down at 1.15 pm and the starters and wine came pretty quickly, but they were only crudités and fish soup. It was 2.50. p.m. when the main course came, two bottles of wine later. By this time the waiting staff seemed to be avoiding our table sensing our displeasure but not apologising or explaining. We were very close to paying and leaving at this stage. The food was about average for a top restaurant and nothing special. At £50 per head pretty disappointing I would say. The manager explained that there had been a mix up with the order in which the orders had been accepted in the kitchen. Relaxation is the point of a holiday but this was more like hanging about wasting our holiday time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing