We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good, fast service”

Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Sample our new menu, a fusion of Italian fare and our much loved timeless Lonestar classics. The lunchtime menu sees the introduction of pizzas from our woodfire oven sure to be a favourite with our younger customers as well as an array of mouth watering salads. Sunday lunch is still a must at the Lone Star.... Some things never change! Enjoy a rum sour at sunset or a post dinner glass of champagne at our new cocktail lounge. ALSO - Breakfast on the Boardwalk - enjoy your breakfast served right on the beach on our Boardwalk.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently good, fast service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This is our 'go to' restaurant when we come to Barbados. The chef at our regular hotel, Cobblers Cove, always used to come here and you can't get a better recommendation than that. Of all the West coast restaurants - Cliff, Tides, Daphne's etc. - we have found this to be the most consistently good. Service is very slick, almost too fast, which will suit some and not others. I won't describe the dishes we have had but they have been diverse and all good.

Helpful?
Thank Colinstips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    496
    248
    120
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had one free night on the island and was recommended several restaurants. Could'nt get into the others but did manage to get a late table at lonestar. We arrived 45mins early and thought we would be in for a long wait, but there were several empty tables. We had the fish and vegetable tempura which was very good. We had to ask our server several times for lime for our water and after the 4th attempt and 3rd server managed to get it, by which time we had finished our drinks. I had the barracuda which was good, but a huge portion, on a bed of oily and overcooked vegetables. My husband had the tuna which was very dry, and a tiny portion. We decided not to bother with desert or coffee. I would'nt go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passeportLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

On arrival we arrived at the top of the stairs where 2 girls were chatting and it took them about 10 seconds to acknowledge us. We had book so they told us to go down stairs. When we reached the bottom the staff just stared at us ad we had to ask for someone to show us to the table. We were shown to a table where we had to ask for a wine list and to order a drink. When the drinks finally arrived my partners G&T tasted of chemicals, so we asked for it to be replaced and when it came back it tasted the same, so he ordred wine instead. We were informed that there was nothing wrong with the tonic. If you go there i wouldnt drink it.
The food when it came was distinctly average and i can cook better myself.
I feel that if this resturant was not on the beach then it would not do well. Dont waste your money here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simplebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better and better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

There were nine us on a Niovember Friday eveniing for dinner and we wanted to take no chances so off we wnt to the Lone Star.

It was superb. the caribbean fish pie deserves a special mention as does the faultless friendly and relaxed service.

We chose Chateau Minutey Rose from a very extensive list which complemented the meal perfectly.

My only suggestion to improve woulf be for the Lone Star to resolve their long running dispute with American Express and start taking it again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B G G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tired menu lets down wonderful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visit this restaurant 3 or 4 times whenever we visit the Island. The location is right on the beach and its a very firm favourite with the family as the children can swim in the sea barely 30 feet from your table. The menu really hasn't changed much in the last 9 years or so and quality of cooking does sometimes vary from day to day. By and large the food is ok to pretty good but for some dishes the prices are possibly bordering on being over priced. The service is good and the staff are always very attentive and friendly. It will always be one of our favourites especially for those long lunches by the sea where the children are free to get up and go off for a swim and you can just pass away the time gazing at the amazing view.

Our average spend for a family of 5 with just main courses, a couple of rum sours and a bottle of rosé was $600 Barbados (US$300 or £190) .

Well worth a visit but would like to see either a few more daily specials or a change in the menu but we will keep going back.

After lunch there are a couple of local bars on the beach no more than 2 minutes walk which are both great places to watch the sun set (Ramshackles and Ju Ju's).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing