We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to write home about”

Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Sample our new menu, a fusion of Italian fare and our much loved timeless Lonestar classics. The lunchtime menu sees the introduction of pizzas from our woodfire oven sure to be a favourite with our younger customers as well as an array of mouth watering salads. Sunday lunch is still a must at the Lone Star.... Some things never change! Enjoy a rum sour at sunset or a post dinner glass of champagne at our new cocktail lounge. ALSO - Breakfast on the Boardwalk - enjoy your breakfast served right on the beach on our Boardwalk.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you like comfort food and don't mind paying premium prices, then Lone Star is for you. Personally, something sticks in my craw about paying $51 (£17) for a small starter portion of Linguini and $55 (£18.30) for a simple fish pie. However, the food is good quality 'comfort' food with few frills. Crabcakes are a nice starter, well presented and tasty. Service is attentive and quick.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobbyJBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,013
    496
    248
    119
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Lovely restaurant in a great spot.
It happened in another restaurant we visited and that was a smaller menu than peak season which disappointed us, it reduced the options (no seafood mixed grill for me) and the only dish my wife could find to eat was a chicken tikka massala and at $75 or thereabouts it certainly wasn't value.
Service was good and the quality of what was served was very good, if you go be sure to ask for a table on the veranda - sitting further inside on a calm night becomes very warm.
Also, there are a number of steps to negotiate down to the restaurant, anyone with an mobility issues/injuries I would suggest call the restaurant to see if they have a lift

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UK2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Level Contributor
601 reviews
453 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Negative experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I' m from Italy and it was my first day in Barbados. At lunch we decided to pamper ourselves so we stopped at Lone Star.The place is really beatiful and it was the only positive aspect.The waiters weren't kind at all,spending their time asking if we wanted something from the bar.If I rember correctly ,we were asked seven or eight times.We had been waiting for our food ( a cheeseburger for me and fish and chips for my husband) for almost an hour! The quality of the dishes was average ,but the bill was really too expensive.!
Provato il primo a giorno a Barbados ,lo sconsiglio vivamente.Bello il locale,ma servizio scostante (ti chiedono in continuazione se volevamo qualcosa dal bar), attesa infinita,cibo cosi' cosi' ,prezzo finale con il botto! Lo sconsiglio.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annamariar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oh dear what has happened”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been to The Cliff, Cin Cin, The Fish Pot, Tides, etc, and were expecting great things from the Lone Star too, but what a disappointment. Not just that the food that was sub standard (still frozen fries, tough steak, to mention a couple of things ) but grumpy waitresses who barged past you, dropped cutlery, and seemed genuinely un interested!

We booked as had heard it was on a par with other excellent restaurants on the West Coast , but sadly have to report that it was by far the worst we went to in our two week holiday, so will definitely not be returning in a hurry. Shame, because it has such a great location.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon07Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous, again!!! Best value in Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

From start to finish a fantastic evening. Friendly attentive staff, stupendous setting, and amazing food. 5th visit and yet to be disappointed!! A must visit location!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roobsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Lone Star Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing