We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the holiday”
Review of Daphne's Barbados

Daphne's Barbados
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Essex/London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great start to the holiday”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had our first dinner of the holiday here as we were staying at The House next door. Despite feeling rather tired, the combination of the fantastic beach views, good service and great food meant that we got the holiday off to a flying start. Will remain on our list for next year.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EssexFamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear EssexFamily55,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s and for your compliments.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    395
    216
    103
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oh Yes!--Red Snapper!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found great Red Snapper!
We had stalked most of the West Coast retaurants on out recent trip, but forgot about Daphnes until lunch on the last day and found red Snapper at last! --and how good it was!
This is a lovely restaurant--and very informal at lunchtime as its right on the beach.
Must go there more times when we next visit the island. Forgot how good it was.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Clive H,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s and we look forward to seeing you on your return visits.

We also thank you for your re-affirmation of our quality. It truly means a lot.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A tasty dining experience !”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We dined here as a celebratory meal for my fathers wedding. There were 4 of us.
The restaurant is nicely decorated, open planned, plenty of space and looks out on to the beach and sea.
To start i ordered smoked mussels marinara. Always had mussels the traditional way so this was an experience for me. They were sooo tasty. The smoked effect was delectable and the tangy tomato sauce was also divine. The chef even came out to explain to me how it was done and asked if I liked them. Great personal touch. Others had the meat selections and goats cheese. They all said they were delicious. For main I chose the steak, cooked medium to rare. Cooked to perfection, melt in the mouth, it came with a potato crouton style side with green beans. The steak was also surrounded in a lovely gravy style sauce. Others had the penne pasta, catch of the day which was swordfish and the lamb cutlets. They all said it was stunning.
We couldn't fit a dessert in but the restaurant made a lovely gesture for the newly weds by presenting them with a plate saying congratulations in chocolate, strawberries and handmade chocolates. They were gorgeous.
Staff very attentive,informative and happy!
Reasonably priced for a formal meal. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Karen S,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s.

Our Chef especially thanks you for the compliments on our Smoked Mussels Marinara dish which we recently introduced as a special.

Maybe next time we’ll entice you to join us for dessert.

We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for choosing Daphne’s.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were staying at The House Hotel, next door, so were in the lucky position of sampling Daphne's food daily - all meals were excellent. I can personally recommend the Melanzane Parmigiana followed by the Lobster Spaghetti. Divine.

I have to say that the dinner on the beach on our last night, exactly two years after we got engaged was the icing on the cake. It was the most special evening. The food was incredible once again, staff fantastic and can highly recommend to anybody considering going.

Please try the peach bellini's here - you won't look back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear FrancescaR89,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s.

We are very pleased that we were able to provide you with consistently great meals throughout your stay and that your evening on the beach was especially nice.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime and thank you once more for your review.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Got it right this time”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Following my last rather average review the Manager contacted my Hotel, arranged to refund the cost of our rather indifferent meal and invited us for a complimentary meal. More than generous. The second meal experience could not have been more different the food, service and ambience were all first class so well done Daphne's you got it spot on second time round we look forward to returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Richard W,

We thank you for your other review of Daphne’s.

As discussed with you on your last visit, we communicate frequently with many of the hotel concierge desks in Barbados. In the event that a guest relates a bad experience to them, we follow up as was done in your case. While we do check TripAdvisor frequently, it is this link that we prefer to have as we are able to react in a faster time since TripAdvisor reviews may take a while to be posted.

We are quite pleased that we were able to make amends and that ‘we got it right’ the second time around.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the island.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daphne's Barbados also viewed

Prospect, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Daphne's Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing