We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tasty dining experience !”
Review of Daphne's Barbados

Daphne's Barbados
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Consett
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A tasty dining experience !”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We dined here as a celebratory meal for my fathers wedding. There were 4 of us.
The restaurant is nicely decorated, open planned, plenty of space and looks out on to the beach and sea.
To start i ordered smoked mussels marinara. Always had mussels the traditional way so this was an experience for me. They were sooo tasty. The smoked effect was delectable and the tangy tomato sauce was also divine. The chef even came out to explain to me how it was done and asked if I liked them. Great personal touch. Others had the meat selections and goats cheese. They all said they were delicious. For main I chose the steak, cooked medium to rare. Cooked to perfection, melt in the mouth, it came with a potato crouton style side with green beans. The steak was also surrounded in a lovely gravy style sauce. Others had the penne pasta, catch of the day which was swordfish and the lamb cutlets. They all said it was stunning.
We couldn't fit a dessert in but the restaurant made a lovely gesture for the newly weds by presenting them with a plate saying congratulations in chocolate, strawberries and handmade chocolates. They were gorgeous.
Staff very attentive,informative and happy!
Reasonably priced for a formal meal. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Karen S,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s.

Our Chef especially thanks you for the compliments on our Smoked Mussels Marinara dish which we recently introduced as a special.

Maybe next time we’ll entice you to join us for dessert.

We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for choosing Daphne’s.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    394
    209
    101
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were staying at The House Hotel, next door, so were in the lucky position of sampling Daphne's food daily - all meals were excellent. I can personally recommend the Melanzane Parmigiana followed by the Lobster Spaghetti. Divine.

I have to say that the dinner on the beach on our last night, exactly two years after we got engaged was the icing on the cake. It was the most special evening. The food was incredible once again, staff fantastic and can highly recommend to anybody considering going.

Please try the peach bellini's here - you won't look back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear FrancescaR89,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s.

We are very pleased that we were able to provide you with consistently great meals throughout your stay and that your evening on the beach was especially nice.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime and thank you once more for your review.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Got it right this time”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Following my last rather average review the Manager contacted my Hotel, arranged to refund the cost of our rather indifferent meal and invited us for a complimentary meal. More than generous. The second meal experience could not have been more different the food, service and ambience were all first class so well done Daphne's you got it spot on second time round we look forward to returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Richard W,

We thank you for your other review of Daphne’s.

As discussed with you on your last visit, we communicate frequently with many of the hotel concierge desks in Barbados. In the event that a guest relates a bad experience to them, we follow up as was done in your case. While we do check TripAdvisor frequently, it is this link that we prefer to have as we are able to react in a faster time since TripAdvisor reviews may take a while to be posted.

We are quite pleased that we were able to make amends and that ‘we got it right’ the second time around.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the island.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Watermelon martinis a marvel at this great restaurant on the beach. We recently enjoyed two dinners here and found the food and service to be good. Try and get a table overlooking the beach as the tables further inside are a little exposed for my liking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jawoodall75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jawoodall75,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s.

It was our pleasure to offer you two wonderful experiences and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, quality food....expensive but worth it!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We recently went back to Daphne's after a three year gap. Our first experience was slightly marred by poor seating however we thought we would give it another chance and booked a waterside table for four to celebrate a birthday and our wedding anniversary. The table was perfect this time. A table right by the waterside overlooking the beautifully lit beach. Cocktails upon arrival, sitting in the lounge were a fantastic start to the evening. The meal could not be faulted. Service was good and the staff attentive to our needs. The lobster chosen by two of us was cooked to perfection and my friend was raving about her appetiser, this being foie gras. For me the desserts were out of this world. I chose frozen berries with hot white chocolate sauce. Amazing!!! Whoever thought of that is a genius. Now this is not a cheap option. It's expensive and frankly comparable with London prices, however you know what you are likely to pay when you book so there are no surprises. For a special occasion it is fabulous and I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you don't fancy dinner then I would highly recommend sundowners. They have happy hour at 5 pm with cocktails two for one or half price depending upon how you look at it. We have been numerous times. Arrive at 4.50 pm and choose the best seat, order your cocktail and watch the sunset and the world go by. Perfect. I would recommend the Piña Colada and the Mojito wilts my husband says they do a very good rum punch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Tracie E,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s.

We are so happy that you and your party enjoyed yourselves so much.

Our Bartenders were very happy to read what you mentioned about the drinks as well.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon and thank you once more for your review.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daphne's Barbados also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Daphne's Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing