We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got it right this time”
Review of Daphne's Barbados

Daphne's Barbados
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Got it right this time”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Following my last rather average review the Manager contacted my Hotel, arranged to refund the cost of our rather indifferent meal and invited us for a complimentary meal. More than generous. The second meal experience could not have been more different the food, service and ambience were all first class so well done Daphne's you got it spot on second time round we look forward to returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Richard W,

We thank you for your other review of Daphne’s.

As discussed with you on your last visit, we communicate frequently with many of the hotel concierge desks in Barbados. In the event that a guest relates a bad experience to them, we follow up as was done in your case. While we do check TripAdvisor frequently, it is this link that we prefer to have as we are able to react in a faster time since TripAdvisor reviews may take a while to be posted.

We are quite pleased that we were able to make amends and that ‘we got it right’ the second time around.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the island.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    394
    212
    101
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Watermelon martinis a marvel at this great restaurant on the beach. We recently enjoyed two dinners here and found the food and service to be good. Try and get a table overlooking the beach as the tables further inside are a little exposed for my liking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jawoodall75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jawoodall75,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s.

It was our pleasure to offer you two wonderful experiences and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, quality food....expensive but worth it!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We recently went back to Daphne's after a three year gap. Our first experience was slightly marred by poor seating however we thought we would give it another chance and booked a waterside table for four to celebrate a birthday and our wedding anniversary. The table was perfect this time. A table right by the waterside overlooking the beautifully lit beach. Cocktails upon arrival, sitting in the lounge were a fantastic start to the evening. The meal could not be faulted. Service was good and the staff attentive to our needs. The lobster chosen by two of us was cooked to perfection and my friend was raving about her appetiser, this being foie gras. For me the desserts were out of this world. I chose frozen berries with hot white chocolate sauce. Amazing!!! Whoever thought of that is a genius. Now this is not a cheap option. It's expensive and frankly comparable with London prices, however you know what you are likely to pay when you book so there are no surprises. For a special occasion it is fabulous and I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you don't fancy dinner then I would highly recommend sundowners. They have happy hour at 5 pm with cocktails two for one or half price depending upon how you look at it. We have been numerous times. Arrive at 4.50 pm and choose the best seat, order your cocktail and watch the sunset and the world go by. Perfect. I would recommend the Piña Colada and the Mojito wilts my husband says they do a very good rum punch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Tracie E,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s.

We are so happy that you and your party enjoyed yourselves so much.

Our Bartenders were very happy to read what you mentioned about the drinks as well.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon and thank you once more for your review.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our lovely last meal on the island.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had had lunch in Daphnes in the week and it was so good we decided to go back for our lat night.

My husband popped in lunch time on our last day to book a table - so disappointed - no tables. But when we got back to our villa he rang and asked if they had had a cancellation. The front of house person said that due to his persistance she would try to fit us in but it wouldn't be by the sea - no problem as we were in!! Result!!

We arrived a little early so were shown to the bar where my husband and I had aperitifs but very soon the table was ready for us.i

We had very attentive staff waiting on us and my friend and I both chose the barracuda - it was amazing!!! My husband had the beef which he said just melted in his mouth. We had a bottle of white wine to go with it. We did not have starters or pudding and the bill came to over 400 Bajan dollars - a lot for what we had but we were paying for the standard of food and the setting. A really lovely end to a fantastic holiday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear chris3101,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s and for the nice comments on the food and service; so pleased that we were able to provide a nice end to your fantastic holiday.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime and thank you for choosing Daphne’s.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Daphne's - She ain't no lady,”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our third visit to Daphne's and our last.  Our first time (2011) although expensive, the food and service were both outstanding. Last year service was dull but we put that down to it being Valentines and so we gave them another try...  Our mistake!  We were seated and to their credit they had taken our food and wine orders and even provided bread within 15 minutes.  In another 5 minutes or so the wine was tasted and that was it until 40 minutes later - yes 40 minutes.  Then they decided to bring both our salad and pasta at the same time - their attempt to somehow address the slow service?  They "agreed" to take the pasta away and when we were ready, the gnocchi was fresh and tasty.  Between the the pasta and the meat course it was yet another half-hour!  Although the meat was perfectly cooked the sauce was well, pretty lame.  Given it was getting close to sun-up we declined dessert and waited a further 20 minutes to receive/settle the bill.  Maybe we are picky but then again their prices are steep period.  Buyer beware, Daphne's is a lady in name only.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco A, General Manager at Daphne's Barbados, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Tim M,

We thank you for your review of Daphne’s and have discussed your feedback with our team as we strive to make our service better.

We apologize for the delays you had experienced on this occasion and hope that we will be able to make it up to you on another occasion.

Sincerely,

Marco Alleyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daphne's Barbados also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Daphne's Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing