We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Impressed,but pretty once you get there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crane Beach

Crane Beach
Union Hall, Barbados
2464236220
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$180*
and up
Barbados Coastal Beach Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eighty-foot cliffs overlook this beach, making it one of the most beautiful beaches on the island.
Williamstown NJ
Level Contributor
178 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Not Very Impressed,but pretty once you get there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited Barbados while on a cruise and rented a van to do some sightseeing on our own.
Crane Beach was one of our stops.

The beach is not very well marked to get there. The signage was poor. Once we located it, It was down a narrow road with a small parking lot for about 6 cars.No parking spots were open. We ended up parking on the road like several other cars. There was barely room for a another car to get by. We had to back the van up several hundred feet to turn around when we left to find a spot wide enough to turn around

There is a beach Resort/Hotel on the right at end of road, and I think all the cars were the worker's vehicles. The public beach is on the left. The path to Crane beach was littered with trash including broken glass and other debris. The path could use a major cleanup. You also pass a private house entrance on way to beach.

Once you get down to the beach, it was pretty/scenic. The beach sand was soft. There were cliffs with caves located on beach that looked like people were living in. Lots of trash inside them.
The waves were rough that day we were there, breaking almost to cave entrance.
We stayed about a hour to walk on the beach and take photos which were pretty, but for all the effort getting there we were not impressed with the beach. No one else was on the public beach while we were there. We did see people at resort beach but no one was in the water.
Crane Beach needs some serious housekeeping. The signage and parking also needs improvement.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    155
    54
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,285 helpful votes
“Pink Sand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Another beautiful beach with stunning pink sand, great waves for fooling around in, and a cliff for the boys to jump from, down side no wash room facilitys or refreshment, take along a picnic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank scotlass508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Angelic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Crane Beach was outstanding! You start off by overlooking the beach from the top of a cliff. The sand is as pink as it is soft! You go down 150 feet in a glass elevator salivating as you can't wait to get onto the beach! I go to Jones Beach in New York so I'm an expert on ocean beaches.

This beach is so clean you won't believe your eyes! A must see! When you get down to the beach there is staff waiting to set you up with a lounge chair and an "umbrelly." They also have a rum punch hut and towels! The Crane has it down to a science! The Beach... the way it should be! My only regret is that I don't live in the Coconut Grove behind the Tiki Hut! Once you heat up and then touch your toes in the water, it becomes crystal clear that you are in the right place, at the right time! If you are fortunate enough to get to this beach, you quickly become certain the Angels have smiled upon you as gratitude fills your being!

As you take a dip in the refreshing water, you realize the current is real, but manageable! As you end your day rising up to the top of the cliff in the very same glass elevator, there is only one thing that enters your mind as you look down upon the magical sand you recently walked upon, and that's how soon can I get back to this angelic beach!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealBigPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach - away from it all!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Came here on my first visit to Barbados and have come back for a day every since!!! Very scenic setting! Love swimming here - although with the waves rolling in from the Atlantic it can be a tad rough even for experienced swimmers - but you can still have lots of fun in the water! Have yet to jump of the ledge..... but next time........maybe!! :-)

Highly recommend this beach just for its spectacular setting on the East Coast if nothing else!!! Beautiful!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ThursoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited and just lived it. Peaceful, stunning scenery and a lovely breeze. .

We chose to body board which was the brilliant fun.

We also partook in the rum punches served in coconuts!! 20 bajan dollars each but well worth it AND if you speak to the fellows nicely they'll even put an extra shot in!!

An experience never to forget!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Putock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crane Beach also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Crane Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing