We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast”
Review of Kensington Oval

Kensington Oval
Ranked #6 of 89 things to do in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Had a blast”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

i went to the oval the first time for the hennessy artistry concert in 2012, then came back for Brewster road a few times during crop over...so kinda hard to rate it outside of partying lol never watch a cricket game

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Romeowfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    94
    24
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“This has been a humbling experience!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

To be honest, I was quite thrilled to know that I would be visiting Barbados soon in my new Caribbean Itineray. Cricket is an Indian obsession and many legendary matches and cricketers have played and been a part of Kensigton Oval. It was definitely a place I would not miss.
The place is a brisk 20 minute walk. I decided to walk becuase I wanted to see Bridgetown and I walked out of the Port and took an immediate left. You will find a lot of cab drivers waiting for you and will try and confuse you and dissuade you from your path. Give them a smile and stick to your path. The road looks confusing but just keep following the main road and you will walk past industrial areas and residential areas until you come past the Barbados Cricket Museum. You will definitely see the huge floodlights standing tall over the Stadium.

The place stands tall right in the middle of a busy street junction and an impressive statue of Sir Garfield Sobers stands tall right at the entrance. There are Kensington Oval Guided Tours which you can take as well. The Stadium itself is quite impressively built and has modern facilities. The North Wing is the entrance and all around you will find a lot of trees. Do not forget to take a picture at the road side which says "Kensignton Oval".

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlobeDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great cricketing events and a great modern, fun venue”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

In walking distance of the centre of Bridgetown, it only takes about 15 minute minutes! There are many coffee shops along the walk from the town centre, including big chains such as Starbucks, but also local shops that are unique to Bridgetown. All coffee shop sell refreshing ice drinks that help with the summer heat.

When you arrive at Kensington Oval, you will marvel at its modern architecture. There are statues around the outside of the stadium to pose with, which provide great photographs.

It is worth saving the money and being in the cheapest stand (I cannot remember the name of the stand, just ask at the ticket selling office). We sat here, and views were unrestricted, and actually higher up that the views given in other stands. This gave an almost birds eye view of the games.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice building”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A very nice temple of cricket. Its architecture is modern and elegant. It is well located near town and there are regular bus or ZR routes that go past. You can walk and take wonderful pictures. It is an iconic place of B'town an Bim.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Huge cricket fan, so had to see the Kensington Oval. It was excellent! Very near to the centre of Bridgetown, in walking distance if you have a map!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kensington Oval also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Kensington Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing