We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a quick bite”
Review of Cuz's Fish Shack

Cuz's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 114 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
South Pole
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Only went based on Trip Advisor reviews. Its a tatty looking shack just off the beach up from the Hilton Hotel.
If you like fish fillets in a sandwich, you will love this place!
Full of flavour, and real Barbados character.
Two sandwiches and a Coke cost about $20 BD, and they are very filling.
If you are staying at the Hilton, its a place you must visit. Otherwise, try and drop in if you are passing.
Its pretty busy on a weekend, so expect a little wait.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sr1234Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    275
    70
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious fish sandwich”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Definitely get it with cheese and egg -- fish + cheese + egg. It's plenty flavorful without any of the sauces. Splash some hot sauce on it if you like heat :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Cuz's fish shack is the place to have lunch! it is popular in Barbados with the locals and is excellent quality!! me and my family went there 2 days for lunch and the Marlin fish rolls are superb! It is cheap aswell and the Banks beers are only around £1 each! Bargain!!
if you stay in the Hilton in Barbados or if you are around that area definately give it ago you will gbe amazed with the fish!!!
Thank you :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinVickyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I had to try a fish sandwich after seeing the review in Newsweek!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had saw in the nation newspaper (Barbados local paper) that this restaurant was the voted one of the best places to eat in the world. Therefore I arrived there one lunch ready to try a sandwhich. When my husband saw the shack he was a little taken back and did not want to eat there due to his concerns about hygiene etc. I convinced him not to worry about this we eat at fancy restaurants and don't know what there kitchen looks like. While we were debating several people came and the line got long this helped to change my husbands mind. We both got a regular marlin fish cutter sandwhich. They were $16 Barbados each. Sort of pricey for Barbados. The sandwich was good. Nice flavoured and served warm. I would give it overall 4 out of 5. Note: the fish at Oistins is very good as well. My favorite stall there is Uncle George.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leticia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“busy little business”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

what a great idea, and so popular, great for a cold drink, or a fish cutter. the smell makes you hungry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jandancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuz's Fish Shack also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Dover, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Cuz's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing