We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First Rate Operation”
Review of Calypso Cruises

Calypso Cruises
Ranked #6 of 74 Tours in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come join us for an award winning, relaxed fun day of sailing a 43 foot catamaran boat that cruises along the coast of Barbados! We sail with limited numbers to ensure a more personal and intimate experience. Our 5 hour tour includes pick up from your hotel/resort/ship, snorkeling with the turtles, ship wreck or reef and a leisurely lunch stop. We provide snorkeling gear, hors d' houerves while we sail, a full 'Bajan buffet lunch [this includes local fish, baked chicken, macaroni pie, pasta salad, potato salad, tossed salad and dinner rolls/garlic bread & delicious deserts] and an open bar to keep you hydrated and relaxed. We serve wine, rum punch, coffee, tea, juices and soft drinks throughout the day! We have cruises during the day and evening cruises. Warning: don't save this for your last day, you will want to do it again during your stay in Barbados! You can also book a private cruise! Our boat is available for private charter for those of you that want the boat for a birthday party, wedding party, or just an intimate getaway. For this we charge by the hour, with a minimum of 3 hour or for as long as you would like the experience to last. We usually take a maximum of 14 guests but we allow up to 20 people for these cruises. Calypso Girl is a 2003 43ft fontaine pajot sailing catamaran that is very comfortable and stable, perfect for just about every one. She has a custom ladder making it easy to get in and out of the water. A huge head (bath room) , indoor and out door seating so you can get just the right amount of sun, and a big front net for you to relax on.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A First Rate Operation”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked this snorkeling cruise in mid-December for Christmas Day. Many other tour operators were not working on the holiday; but Calypso Cruises had room for 2. They have policy of not more than 14 passengers - a great benefit for the passengers on this type of cruise.

Snorkeling was at the usual local site for turtles and then at the several wrecks in shallow water. These spot can be quite busy; but we were there early and avoided the crowds.

We then sailed down the coast to a protected area near a beach for more swimming and an excellent lunch. Of course, the bar was open with some very cold beer and lots of other drinks.

The hospitality of Nick and the rest of the crew - his dad, his girlfriend, and mate - was wonderful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patuxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    1
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Top-Notch Tour!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a great day! We spent Christmas with Nick, Val and crew on their beautiful catamaran. Unfortunately, the weather was cloudy with rain, so we couldn't enjoy the nice front deck and net as we sailed. However, Nick and crew went above and beyond to provide a fantastic day!

We had 14 passengers, and right from the start we were treated to delicious food and drink. The bar was fully stocked with a plethora of beer, wine, liquor, soda and the best rum punch with fresh grated nutmeg! We were served smoked salmon, cheese and fruit, veggies and dip, hot sausages, etc as appetizers AND a full meal of chicken, fish, salad, Mac and cheese, potato salad, on and on...plus cheesecake! Wow!

The snorkeling was fun, although crowded with other boats. We did see several turtles and three shipwrecks. Plus we stopped at a local beach area to eat then were allowed to swim. We went ashore and walked the beach.

Oh, and did I mention the monkey? Nick and his girlfriend have a baby green monkey which totally entertained us! We held and snuggled him, then he ran around eating a candy cane! Priceless!

Do not hesitate! This is a total class act company, from booking through the entire cruise. You will not regret it! Thanks Nick for a memorable Christmas!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NcGhiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Day and evening cruise, just great”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Enjoyed the day cruise with Captain Nick and his Dad so much we went for a cruise down the coast at sunset. As I have been on other cruises in past years I would definitely recommend checking the Calypso out and enjoy a great time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sue1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome day!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Best day ever in Barbados. There was about 12 of us on this excursion which permitted all of us to move freely. Swimming with the turtles was amazing! Food was great, veggies with dip, followed by cheese platters, followed by a sompteous lunch. All inclusive drinks served with a smile as soon as we stepped on board. Cool story that Nick and Val have. They offer a great relaxing time, I will be going back again next December....and cannot wait!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vercat067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Snorkel Tour in the Caribbean!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This Catamaran Snorkel trip is hands down the best day of snorkeling our group has ever encountered throughout the Caribbean, simply incredible. The crew Nick, Val, and Dwight were nothing short of AWESOME!!! You guys ROCK, what a wonderful surprise I highly recommend this excursion it's much more than a tour, best day on Barbados ever. Thank you so much

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Cruises also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Calypso Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing