We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breadfruit heaven”

Ryanne's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #31 of 110 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Paynes Bay, Barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breadfruit heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Went there today after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Great place for authentic local food. JToo late for the lamb but tried the jerk chicken - yummy spicy. Breadfruit done in a tomato based sauce with green pepper & onion, baked with cheese on top. SO GOOD!!! Would go back for that alone. Lots of properly cooked mixed veg and salad, bottle of soda water to drink and only $23BBD. Stuffed enough that no dinner needed. Worth every penny of it. Will go back again when in town for a day of wandering and lunch. And, always a bonus in my book - washroom is clean & tidy!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great local Bajan food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife, her brother, sister-inlaw and myself all chose Ryanne's restaurant to dine at as many locals around the downtown area of Bridgetown recommended it. We were extremely happy with this choice as the restaurant is located upstairs and the patio overlooks the hustle and bustle of downtown.
We opted for the buffet featuring local Bajan cuisine and we were not disappointed. The flying fish I really enjoyed as well as other traditional Bajun sides. We were impressed with the personable staff and owner of the restaurant as they made our stay every enjoyable. My wife and I will return next week!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VitaminandDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“True local food and VERY tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I cant believe some people.

We went to Ryanne's on a recommendation from a local and whilst sitting down we noticed a family from "Europe" sit down then order a club sandwich and three burger and chips.

I was gobsmacked when the father said....I think ill try the flying fish and changed to a burger thanks to a chorus of "uuurgh that sounds disgusting' from his family......what the f........

They missed a truly culinary experience in West Indian food.

Yes the decor is a little rough and ready but who cares when food is this good.

I had the buffet selection of authentic home cooked West Indian food. The brown stew chicken cou cou jerk pork flying fish and macaroni pie etc were delicious.

If you are unadventurous in your culinary tastes like some of the contributors here stay away.

If you want truly scrumptious local food......ignore the slow service and decor and enjoy what was for me a memorable meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 747wade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bajan experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Food was simply delish!! Owner was warm and gave her recommendation as to what my husband and I should try. We had the flying fish and coucou and was not disappointed. Waiter was also very great!! Advertised well on the cruise ship and we were totally satisfied customers!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Latoya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Unfortunately unlike the other reviews I was really disappointed this visit . We have eaten in this place before and enjoyed the meal but not on this occasion. My husband had the Bajan Buffett which was tasty if a bit too many flavours on one plate. I chose the house salad, what a disappointment . It consisted of half an iceberg lettuce, 4 slices of cucumber, overlooked bacon and a bit of chicken oh and some smelly cheese on top!!!!. We had to wait 45 mins for the meal, whilst waiting the local people we're served before us. I would neither return or recommend this place. Try Mustors down the road!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joannaC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryanne's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Saint Michael Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Ryanne's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing