We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fish Cakes”

Legendary Hot Fish Cakes
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Bridgetown
Restaurant details
Mt. Calvary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy fish Cakes”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Fish cakes in Barbados are out of this world. They are the best I have ever tasted. My husband and son loved them too! These are a must try when you are in Barbados.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WHERE DE FISH?”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Tasty fish cakes but where's the salt fish? We are ruining our traditions by not adhering to the original recipes...just put more fish and all will be well! That's when you get five points.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bajan fish cakes”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a very popular place to buy fish cakes and can be found all over

Helpful?
2 Thank HighlyFavoured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Try the hot balls of something or other”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I love the atmosphere at this stand, but that's about it. The place seems popular, and it's a very local menu. The hot cakes are served hot, but I'd hardly call them legendary. Eating one, I couldn't tell what it was. It could have just as easily been a piping hot zeppole (fried dough ball) from an Italian street fair.

I'm glad I went. The fish cakes are cheap, and you might as well try one if you walk by, but don't order much more.

Also, I tried the homemade mauby, a local drink made with water, bitters, and sugar. It's heavy on the bitters, so while it may be a local delicacy and worth sampling, it was far too bitter for my taste.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
2,743 reviews
1,087 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,516 helpful votes
“The best fish cakes in Barbados”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We discovered this place when we were exploring Bridgetown (doesn't have too much to see).
These hot fish cakes are very similar with a Portuguese recipe. They are really yummy. When I was in Barbados I tried lots of fish cakes and I think that these ones are the best!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legendary Hot Fish Cakes also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Rockley, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Legendary Hot Fish Cakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing