We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great information for true chocolate lovers.”

Agapey Chocolate Factory
Ranked #23 of 71 Tours in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Love dark chocolate? We are a traditional bean to bar chocolate shop. Drop by to purchase luxury dark chocolate and if you have time to spare, come and take a tour with lots of chocolate tastings. Learn about the history of chocolate and how it's traditional made with rare vintage machinery. Limited tours on selected days. Reservations are highly recommended. $18 USD per person. Private tours available.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great information for true chocolate lovers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I made reservations for our group when we stopped in Barbados during our cruise. Very simple to do via their web site. The cab drivers do have a hard time finding the place so bring a map they have on the site. It is at the back of the old Colgate building. We didn't know it was in the back until we had the driver try it.
The tour is by the owner and his assistant. They tell you all about the company. Also shows you all the old machinery he uses. You can take some photos but he asks you don't post them online for privacy issues. You learn about the ingredients he uses and why. You also try all the raw ingredients. It is a little warm in the building but still comfortable. Wonderful tour.
The chocolate is hard to find on the island. I finally found it at the cruise terminal shop. Must buy. Very wonderful texture.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Starfire_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    27
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, IL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We prebooked this tour ourselves after seeing great reviews on here. It was very interesting and something different. The owner kept in touch with us via email before our cruise and gave us detailed directions on how to get to his factory along with pictures and tips on how to best travel there. We actually showed up way too early and they were just opening up, but they were very welcoming anyway. The tour is small, but very interactive and informative. You get to try samples of all of the different ingredients and the chocolates. We would highly reccomend this tour! Thank you for a great morning in Barbados!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I visited Agapey Chocolate Factory while on a cruise. Location was within walking distance of the pier. Derrick, the owner, gave a wonder presentation with tons of excellent information and plenty of taste testing at different stages of the process. This is a must do when visiting Barbados. I wish Derrick would find a distributor in the US since the chocolate we bought after the tour went fast. Thanks Agapey for an exceptional experience and some GREAT chocolate.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank cruiseaholic_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good morning out away from the beach and rum shops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Chocolate Factory Tour - Agapey - Bridgetown Barbados
As this was listed as the number one attraction on TA and my wife loves chocolate we had to visit here during our stay in Barbados. Donald, the owner, only runs the tour about twice a week so I would recommend booking and printing off the directions and map as it is very difficult to find. It is on an industrial estate on the outskirts of Bridgetown on the road out to Holetown, near the Kensington Oval but don't let that put you off. As luck would have it it was raining the morning we had booked so we didn't feel we were missing any sun but it would have been worth it anyway. 
We started the tour with some tastings of sugar and chocolate so we could appreciate the quality of the ingredients used, I can't help thinking that Donald found this part a bit of a chore and sales is not really his forte. However, he did shine when showing us the machines  and processes used and his training in engineering shone through here. 
We got to run through and see the whole process and at the end we had an opportunity to purchase some of the gorgeous chocolate at a reduced rate, yum.  I have to admit I was surprised at how highly rated a chocolate tour  was but it was a fun morning and I would recommend it as a change from the beach and rum shops.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Phatbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our first time on Barbados. After getting through the gauntlet of aggressive taxi drivers on the pier and cruise terminal area, the four of us walked to the Agapey Chocolate Factory. We enjoyed the intimate tour and detailed breakdown of how chocolate is made. Out of the things we could have done in Barbados, we are glad we chose to do this tour. Hint: This tour takes place in a portion of a large warehouse. There is no A/C. Dress comfortably.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agapey Chocolate Factory also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Agapey Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing