We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little tired”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This Marriott did not fall into the category of the ones I have stayed at in other parts of the Caribbean or in the USA. Absolutely no little extras in the room such as bottled water, no complementary coffee in the lobby or manager' s appreciation evening which is so common in the islands.
The staff were helpful and friendly but even this could not compensate for the room which are in need of a face lift.
Cleanliness was not an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony. You might want some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NB1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear NB1632, the Courtyard Brand is one of Marriott’s select service brands, which does not offer as many amenities as some of the full service brands in our portfolio. However we do offer amenities such as complimentary high speed internet and in room coffee just to mention a few.

I would like to hear more from you on the room that you were in so that we can identify those areas needing attention and work diligently to rectify them.

Thank you for your feedback and please reach out to me at cy.bgicy.reservations@courtyard.com with any further details about your stay.
Best Regards
Kelly-Ann Mayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    218
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
81
140
34
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Any downgrade on this hotel is more a commentary on Barbados than on Marriott. Hotel was physically fine...fairly new...rooms are nice and have all amenities working perfectly. A/C; Wifi; Pool; restaurants nearby; satellite tv with all channels; Breakfast was NOT included or even offered to a Gold Member...no help at all in taking your bags to the room...security man just watch me struggle with an indifferent look on his face; food in the hotel was AWFUL...had one meal...a microwaved, overprice disaster....BAD. Staff barely do the minimum it seems. Spent the next two days at The Crane...quite the contrast. Would I stay here again? Possibly...but not eat and would know what to expect.

Room Tip: Eat in the nearby restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestcare_CY, Manager at Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Doctorbird41:
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. We noted your comment on the lack of bell service and we will follow up with our Front desk associates who are more than willing to assist our guests with their luggage upon arrival. Delivery of exceptional Food and Beverage service remains one of our top priorities and if you would like I would really appreciate if you can share with me in detail the meal you had so I can share this vital information with my culinary associates. Please contact me at cy.bgicy.guestcare.mgr@marriott.com to further discuss your recent stay and the issues you encountered. Rest assured this information will be shared with my team and we will use your feedback as a training opportunity. We thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott, Bridgetown and I look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Deidre Greene
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Positives - Reception area was good and the staff were friendly.
Negatives - Food was very expensive, Pool was tiny

Location was ok, would probably avoid the restaurant outside as it made me ill.
Exclusive beach access is literally next to the public beach access so quite pointless really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Andy G, I have shared your positive comments with our associates and they truly appreciate the recognition. With reference to the public beach access, as one of our community projects, we regularly maintain the area ensuring that it is clean for public use. We also wanted to provide a clean and secure area that was properly illuminated and convenient for our guests so we created the private area accessible by room key only as an additional amenity for our guests to enjoy. We know that you had many choices of places to stay and want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing your feedback.

Warm Regards
Kelly-Ann Mayers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This trip was much much better than the last! Compared to many places Courtyard in Barbados is really great! It's location is perfect for walking to restaurants and shopping centres/areas as well as for getting on the beach and onto the fantastic boardwalk! Room was really comfortable, they're pretty much all the same! But we had a good stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for giving us another opportunity to serve you better. We know that in Barbados you have many options and are delighted that you have choosen to stay with us again after only a few months.

I will share your comments with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back for future visits. I would love to meet you on your next trip back to personally thank you for sharing your feedback so please let me know when you are returning so that I can make myself available to you.

Warm Regards
Kelly-Ann Mayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

You get what you expect from this Courtyard.Rooms are good with all you need and comfortable beds.Reception staff are pleasant.They do need bell man though.
Several staff (male) standing outside the entrance watched me struggle to unload my luggage,.
I parked and came back and met the luggage exactly where I had unloaded it.They then watched me make 2 trips to take it into the lobby.I can only assume they were security and they don't feel it is their job to assist guests.

The lounge area is pleasant with a work station area.However food is very expensive.
Cereal with yoghurt cost US$10 for breakfast.

The gym and pool do the job but this is no resort hotel and would suit business people as its not far from town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback on your recent visit. Your comments, especially your disappointment with the lack of bellservice was noted and we are looking at various options to improve this aspect of the arrival experience.

Best Regards
Kelly-Ann Mayers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from a five day stay at the Marriott Courtyard,Hastings, Barbados.
our group had four rooms.The rooms are very clean and well appointed.Our room with balcony was above the small pool and had a view of the ocean on the other side of the street.
The staff here is well trained, polite and very accommodating.We have previously stayed at the Accra Beach(also good staff,location etc&), but we will definitely return to the Marriott on our next stay.The location is very good for easy access to Bridgetown and to AccraBeach,Oistins etc.
No complaints from anyone in our group.

Room Tip: If you are there for a few days, a room with a balcony facing the main road would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bree011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard on April 21st. Was a very nice Clean Hotel. Excellent service at check in. Room was large enough for the two of us. I be live this Hotel lives up to the Marriott tradition. Excellent location near the Beach, just a stroll across the street, with public access. Very close to the Cruise Terminal as well. Found it to be a bit pricey for a Courtyard Marriott. Not sure I would want a lengthy vacation week here, but for a few days it would certainly work well for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a Top floor, which has the best view of the Ocean and you won't hear any noise from Neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palomah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados

Property: Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings | Christ Church, Bridgetown BB15156, Barbados (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Courtyard by Marriott, Bridgetown is a contemporary 118 room Barbados hotel opened in 2011, featuring well appointed guest rooms accommodation with spacious work areas, plush bedding and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel is located within the well known Garrison district,and across the street from the beach offering beach access to the Coconut Beach with complimentary lounge chairs for guests. The hotel features an outdoor pool, business center, and restaurant. TGI Fridays and a Spa are located next door. The Courtyard is also a short drive from the famous St. Lawrence's Gap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bridgetown Hotel Bridgetown
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing