We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Barbados Resort(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$307
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Inn Hotel(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$349
$285
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados(Bridgetown)(Great Value!)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Preserve(Bridgetown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveler rating
276
241
57
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
241
57
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsann margaretbusiness hotelthe coconut court hotelthe blue roomcentro restaurantbeach accessaccra beachmama miasmall fridgefront desk staffview of the oceanrestaurant stafftapasbuffet breakfastsouth coastrum punchbeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 594 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott for 2 nights before boarding sailing cruise to the Grenadines. We have stayed at Marriott hotels for years with excellent service and amenities, but sadly this was not a good experience. The room was spacious and clean, but the bed was hard. Other Marriott's we have stayed at (even Fairfield Inn or Springfield Suites), have had pillow top beds and and rather sumptuous towels. The towels were threadbare. The breakfast was all a la carte and very limited. All other Marriott places we have stayed at usually have a delightful breakfast buffet. And the service at the breakfast was really bad. The staff seemed to be doing you a favor by toasting your bagel! Additionally they had no decaf coffee. I will continue to patronize Marriott run hotels but will never return to this one, unfortunately. Oh yes, the room was very quiet, but that is probaly because the hotel was practically empty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY_Bridgetown_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I was truly disappointed to know that we did not deliver the level of service to which you are accustomed with Marriott.

I have shared your feedback with my entire team and we are already looking at ways that we can improve. We are working on ensuring that we only have good quality towels in circulation and decaf coffee consistently available for our guests.

We have some guests who prefer a firm bed and for our guests who prefer a softer bed we have feather mattresses available on request. We will do a better job of communicating this to our guests in the future.

I have also noted your comments about the food and beverage service and although we do not provide a breakfast buffet, we do have a number of options ranging from fast and fresh to pan and griddle items. I would welcome feedback on some other options that you would prefer to see as well specific feedback on the service.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve and it is through comments like yours that we are able to identify our performance gaps and find ways to deliver the exceptional service that I know we are capable of providing.

Thank you
Kelly-Ann Mayers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel during the holiday season. We would usually stay across the road on the beach at Coconut Court beach hotel but they were full so this was our 2nd option. We were happy to give the Marriott Courtyard a try and we were not disappointed by our stay.

It is really a business hotel and typical of the Courtyard brand worldwide. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool deck. Even though the bathroom was huge with whirlpool tub and nicely designed with jalousie shutters opening into the sleeping area we felt abit claustrophobic without a window that could open.

We requested a room change on the day we arrived and 24 hours later, we were moved to a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the rear car park (main entrance). Even though we didn’t have the whirlpool tub and the bedroom was smaller, the additional balcony space to sit out for our morning coffee and observe the passing wildlife was greatly preferred and enjoyed.

Easy access to the beach thru the dedicated gate or via Coconut Court (which is better as you come out directly by the stack of beach chairs and bar). Go early though (before 10am) to ensure you get your lounger as they go fast and are in limited supply as they serve both hotels. The Marriott beach towels are tiny so it may be worth packing a large thin towel in your suitcase if you have the space or pick up one as a souvenir to use during your visit.

The breakfast options are adequate. The ham & cheese croissants were delicious! The breakfast potatoes that come with several items are nicely done and should be available for purchase on their own. The ‘Caribbean delight’ however was rather disappointing. We felt that there should have been more local options available and perhaps displayed more prominently on the board or advertised to entice visitors to sample the local fare.

We’d like to recommend to the hotel that they offer a buffet breakfast with local and holiday food at least 1 or 2 days during the Christmas season for abit of a change from the standard menu and to create a lasting memory for guests who choose to spend this special time of year away from their own homes.

The Centro’s staff efficiency really wowed us with the fastest breakfast service ever! My husband’s only peeve with the bar area was that there was no draft Banks beer in spite of there being a tap.

The lobby lounge is very relaxing and tastefully decorated. The business centre (boarding pass kiosk) is simple but nicely done. The computers were super-fast and reliable so if you only need to check in with the office a few times each day, you can feel confident to leave your laptop at home.

Our only complaint with the lobby is that it was truly cold and we heard this same sentiment from several other guests during our stay. It became freezing as the afternoon turned into evening. It did not make you feel as though you wanted to stay in the lobby area to dine or imbibe. Hence, the exterior patio was always filled during the evening.

We must make mention that the elevators were the fastest and most efficient we’ve ever experienced in our travels.

Thanks to the front office especially Sonja, Vernita and Deidre, for all your help in dealing with our various requests! Our only advice would be that the hospitality school trainees wear badges that state they are ‘trainees’ & name tags in a different colour as when you approach them and ask for assistance they either say nothing to you and look over at the next person who may be dealing with a guest (and you stand there wondering if they heard you or if they work there!). The trainees themselves said nothing about their employment status or inability to assist guests so I wonder how many people assume that the front office staff are just rude, or incapable without realizing they are newbies in training. So the hotel should pay attention to this and make sure they are truly ‘shadowing’ and not left to stand at a desk on their own.

Hotel is perfectly situated for meals at Fred's, TGI's & Mama Mia just next door. Beyond that, lots of restaurants within walking distance or short taxi ride away. If looking for a special lunch on Sunday, then try Coconut Court's buffet!

It was nice having the swimming pool though at 3-1/2 feet, it was really too shallow to swim in! We did however love soaking under the full moon and nighttime sky!

A unique experience for us was seeing the green monkeys running around the carpark, climbing the big tree and running along the back wall in ‘crocodile file’. We loved being awakened each morning to the roosters in the surrounding yards! And loved best of all that sweet horse in the back lot named Queenie! We enjoyed sneaking her some brown sugar packets in the morning at the wall!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Courtyard Marriott Bridgetown and thank you for the fond memories of holiday visit to Barbados! We’ll be back to stay again!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony on the south side facing the main road where you can just about glimpse the sea but avoid those rooms closest to the Blue Room which are noisy in the evenings into night. If you enjoy privacy, ask for a room not directly above the pool. If neither available, ask for a rear balcony overlooking for carpark for solitude and to enjoy the wildlife! It is very peaceful at all hours.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

First of all- if you want a resort hotel that has it all- do not stay here....we stayed for five days - the service is superb! The staff were incredibly nice, they couldn't do enough for you...room was perfectly clean- a/c was loud but not a real problem, and it worked well....we had a nice balcony room on fourth floor with view of ocean...pool and pool deck were rarely ever crowded- typically not more than 3-4 people- it is a long lap pool....the beach is across the street and they have chaises available, if you walk down about 100 yds. there is a newly built boardwalk that has great scenic views and leads to other beaches (all beaches in Barbados are public) and some nice restaurants, and then Accra beach....the food at hotel, although not a fancy restaurant, was very good- for breakfast, lunch, dinner or snacks, coffee bar and reg. bar there as well...in summary- very relaxing place, with the nicest staff, and good location as well....

Room Tip: rooms with balcony face ocean, but not on 2nd floor or you'll be right next to pool/deck- unless this is your preference
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drjeff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott with my husband while he was in Barbados on business. The hotel was clean & tidy, the staff friendly and relaxed and the gym was very good. The room was comfortable with a huge bed and while it wasn't in the beach it was only a short stroll to get to one. The food available all day was really good and no more expensive than any of the local eateries. That said, there was plenty of choice within easy walking distance or a short bus ride.
I also treated myself to a treatment at the "Crystal Executive Spa" next door. Tonya Emtage was my therapist and she was amazing. It was only $60 for a full body scrub and it kind of included a mini massage when she applied to body lotion afterwards - an hour of pure bliss.. I would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Room 222 was great, Quiet although it was right next to the lift and only across the corridor from the pool & gym
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for 4 days on way home from the Grenadines. Not sure I would make a vacation solely at this property, but it is a very nice place to spend a few nights as part of a longer trip. Staff are fantastic and very helpful.

All virtual concierge requests where fulfilled beyond expectations. Room upgraded to a balcony on beach side, driver was waiting at airport for us. Pool was refreshing stop after laying at beach. Not far from beach front boardwalk and some of the best restaurants. 2 miles from Bridgetown.

Many have stated that air conditioning is noisy, and it is, but not too different than some Courtyard's in the states.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Berryville_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews