We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised! Worth a visit...especially for the wildlife in the back yard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
770 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised! Worth a visit...especially for the wildlife in the back yard!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel during the holiday season. We would usually stay across the road on the beach at Coconut Court beach hotel but they were full so this was our 2nd option. We were happy to give the Marriott Courtyard a try and we were not disappointed by our stay.

It is really a business hotel and typical of the Courtyard brand worldwide. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool deck. Even though the bathroom was huge with whirlpool tub and nicely designed with jalousie shutters opening into the sleeping area we felt abit claustrophobic without a window that could open.

We requested a room change on the day we arrived and 24 hours later, we were moved to a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the rear car park (main entrance). Even though we didn’t have the whirlpool tub and the bedroom was smaller, the additional balcony space to sit out for our morning coffee and observe the passing wildlife was greatly preferred and enjoyed.

Easy access to the beach thru the dedicated gate or via Coconut Court (which is better as you come out directly by the stack of beach chairs and bar). Go early though (before 10am) to ensure you get your lounger as they go fast and are in limited supply as they serve both hotels. The Marriott beach towels are tiny so it may be worth packing a large thin towel in your suitcase if you have the space or pick up one as a souvenir to use during your visit.

The breakfast options are adequate. The ham & cheese croissants were delicious! The breakfast potatoes that come with several items are nicely done and should be available for purchase on their own. The ‘Caribbean delight’ however was rather disappointing. We felt that there should have been more local options available and perhaps displayed more prominently on the board or advertised to entice visitors to sample the local fare.

We’d like to recommend to the hotel that they offer a buffet breakfast with local and holiday food at least 1 or 2 days during the Christmas season for abit of a change from the standard menu and to create a lasting memory for guests who choose to spend this special time of year away from their own homes.

The Centro’s staff efficiency really wowed us with the fastest breakfast service ever! My husband’s only peeve with the bar area was that there was no draft Banks beer in spite of there being a tap.

The lobby lounge is very relaxing and tastefully decorated. The business centre (boarding pass kiosk) is simple but nicely done. The computers were super-fast and reliable so if you only need to check in with the office a few times each day, you can feel confident to leave your laptop at home.

Our only complaint with the lobby is that it was truly cold and we heard this same sentiment from several other guests during our stay. It became freezing as the afternoon turned into evening. It did not make you feel as though you wanted to stay in the lobby area to dine or imbibe. Hence, the exterior patio was always filled during the evening.

We must make mention that the elevators were the fastest and most efficient we’ve ever experienced in our travels.

Thanks to the front office especially Sonja, Vernita and Deidre, for all your help in dealing with our various requests! Our only advice would be that the hospitality school trainees wear badges that state they are ‘trainees’ & name tags in a different colour as when you approach them and ask for assistance they either say nothing to you and look over at the next person who may be dealing with a guest (and you stand there wondering if they heard you or if they work there!). The trainees themselves said nothing about their employment status or inability to assist guests so I wonder how many people assume that the front office staff are just rude, or incapable without realizing they are newbies in training. So the hotel should pay attention to this and make sure they are truly ‘shadowing’ and not left to stand at a desk on their own.

Hotel is perfectly situated for meals at Fred's, TGI's & Mama Mia just next door. Beyond that, lots of restaurants within walking distance or short taxi ride away. If looking for a special lunch on Sunday, then try Coconut Court's buffet!

It was nice having the swimming pool though at 3-1/2 feet, it was really too shallow to swim in! We did however love soaking under the full moon and nighttime sky!

A unique experience for us was seeing the green monkeys running around the carpark, climbing the big tree and running along the back wall in ‘crocodile file’. We loved being awakened each morning to the roosters in the surrounding yards! And loved best of all that sweet horse in the back lot named Queenie! We enjoyed sneaking her some brown sugar packets in the morning at the wall!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Courtyard Marriott Bridgetown and thank you for the fond memories of holiday visit to Barbados! We’ll be back to stay again!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony on the south side facing the main road where you can just about glimps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    218
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
81
140
34
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

First of all- if you want a resort hotel that has it all- do not stay here....we stayed for five days - the service is superb! The staff were incredibly nice, they couldn't do enough for you...room was perfectly clean- a/c was loud but not a real problem, and it worked well....we had a nice balcony room on fourth floor with view of ocean...pool and pool deck were rarely ever crowded- typically not more than 3-4 people- it is a long lap pool....the beach is across the street and they have chaises available, if you walk down about 100 yds. there is a newly built boardwalk that has great scenic views and leads to other beaches (all beaches in Barbados are public) and some nice restaurants, and then Accra beach....the food at hotel, although not a fancy restaurant, was very good- for breakfast, lunch, dinner or snacks, coffee bar and reg. bar there as well...in summary- very relaxing place, with the nicest staff, and good location as well....

Room Tip: rooms with balcony face ocean, but not on 2nd floor or you'll be right next to pool/deck- unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjeff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott with my husband while he was in Barbados on business. The hotel was clean & tidy, the staff friendly and relaxed and the gym was very good. The room was comfortable with a huge bed and while it wasn't in the beach it was only a short stroll to get to one. The food available all day was really good and no more expensive than any of the local eateries. That said, there was plenty of choice within easy walking distance or a short bus ride.
I also treated myself to a treatment at the "Crystal Executive Spa" next door. Tonya Emtage was my therapist and she was amazing. It was only $60 for a full body scrub and it kind of included a mini massage when she applied to body lotion afterwards - an hour of pure bliss.. I would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Room 222 was great, Quiet although it was right next to the lift and only across the corridor from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days on way home from the Grenadines. Not sure I would make a vacation solely at this property, but it is a very nice place to spend a few nights as part of a longer trip. Staff are fantastic and very helpful.

All virtual concierge requests where fulfilled beyond expectations. Room upgraded to a balcony on beach side, driver was waiting at airport for us. Pool was refreshing stop after laying at beach. Not far from beach front boardwalk and some of the best restaurants. 2 miles from Bridgetown.

Many have stated that air conditioning is noisy, and it is, but not too different than some Courtyard's in the states.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berryville_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

For a night's stay I think it's ok. But for longer I would have to put in many requests. Our air conditioner in our room was so loud while it was running and when it started up. The air conditioners are so loud u can hear them in the next room. We arrived and first off were given the key to a room that was already occupied. Then we were upgraded to a king size bed on the 4th floor. It was hard as rock. I can never understand why hotels have these super soft, nearly non-existent pillows. Two of them can barely support your head let alone give you a good night's sleep! Staff were very helpful and very friendly. They were very apologetic about the room mix up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staff really friendly, rooms very comfortable and modern. Air conditioning was noisy but didn't need it at night anyway so not a problem. Deli food great and huge portions! Pool small but not important as beach just cross the road. Convenient for the boardwalk for a run, stroll or watching the sunset. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citypog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here a week whilst on business. The hotel is fairly new so the decor is modern and pleasant. The room was decent and quiet and the bed comfortable. WiFi Internet was free and provided reasonable speeds. There is no room service and only breakfast is provided - the actual food is ok but they have a very inefficient process for ordering it, meaning if you can be standing in a queue for many minutes. The gym is pretty good but the pool is tiny. However, the beach is only a few minutes walk away which was a pleasant surprise. If I return to Bridgetown on busines I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,649 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados

Property: Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings | Christ Church, Bridgetown BB15156, Barbados (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Courtyard by Marriott, Bridgetown is a contemporary 118 room Barbados hotel opened in 2011, featuring well appointed guest rooms accommodation with spacious work areas, plush bedding and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel is located within the well known Garrison district,and across the street from the beach offering beach access to the Coconut Beach with complimentary lounge chairs for guests. The hotel features an outdoor pool, business center, and restaurant. TGI Fridays and a Spa are located next door. The Courtyard is also a short drive from the famous St. Lawrence's Gap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bridgetown Hotel Bridgetown
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing