We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great afternoon at the races”

Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Horse Racing Experience at the Garrison Savannah Racetrack
Ranked #5 of 90 things to do in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alongside Barbados Museum, site of former British soldier barracks, now used for horse racing.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“great afternoon at the races”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed near to the garrison savannah in November and were lucky enough to be there when the races were on. They have a meeting every other Saturday.
It was very busy with both local families and tourists, but there was plenty of places to sit,it was easy to place a bet and we even won a few races! Race programmes are for sale at the entrance,it costs 10 bb dollars to go in.
There is food and drinks avaliable at reasonable prices, we had our lunch there. We stood by the winning post and had a great view of the horses. Highly recommended for a pleasant afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina-r8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    133
    13
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A taxi driver told us there was racing on the Saturday of our stay - you could pay to go into the stands but it's free to just turn up and stand round the track. We turned up at 3 - roughly half way through the racing and what a fantastic experience as you're right next to the track. There's a tote if you fancy a bet but regardless there's a great atmosphere, a lot of families go there and make a day of it with food, gazebo's and rum.
The highlight was when they bought the starting line up to where we were standing - I have never been so close to the action before and definately something I would do again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This a slice of Barbados culture served up raw. Hang around the betting cages and listen to the men squabble about the bets and the horses. Experience the wild emotion when there's a race dispute! These men are into their race results! Stand at the rail and feel the earth move as the horses thunder past you on the turf. And don't forget to get a roti from the roadside stand. A fun way to spend the afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PMdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great afternoon at the horse races”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went to the races a couple of weeks ago. It was very inexpensive to get in and a brilliant atmosphere with locals and tourists alike. Would recommend seats in the grandstand for the best view. There are plenty of booths to place bets and bars and food outlets too. Would definitely recommend and afternoon out at the Garrison. You can find the race dates/events online.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank marinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
294 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly day out”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went here on a whim to see the changing of the guard and generally look around. The locals from the Armed Forces Institute were extremely friendly and welcoming, the changing of the guard was pleasant and nearby are plenty of historic buildings to look around.

After the guard change there were a few local stalls making / selling food. This is something I found quite rare in Barbados as most stalls sell the same old tourist tat (bracelets etc) so it was nice to get some homemade food / sauces.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary07734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing