We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Lobster Alive

Lobster Alive
Ranked #5 of 113 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $200
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The restaurant initially began as a wholesale distributor for the island's hotels and restaurants. Cooked takeaway service was added; along with a friendly free beer while you wait. Shortly after that the health inspector demanded we go the whole way or "wholesale only". This was around 1998. Long time friend and fellow musician with the local VSOP Jazz band "Stu Jenkins" became the resident artist (designer) and we named the up coming restaurant "LOBSTER ALIVE and all that Jazz". We felt our way; with many of the usual restaurant mistakes. But it seems now, we have scored quite well with international critics, restaurant guide books; and our many repeat customers.
Lewisville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The lobster was good, but at $114 for a small lobster split between 2 people (just for the lobster) I was expecting more. We were one of 4 tables occupied in the restaurant. Very rustic. Service was just OK. Our waitress sat at the bar in plain view of us but did nothing to earn the 10% added to the bill. For the same price, go to Champers or Naru. Better food, better service and better atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank redwhitetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    273
    106
    40
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing night”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to lobster alive yesterday for the jazz evening. I can honestly say it was the nicest lobster I have ever eaten. The atmosphere is great , beautiful location, relaxed, no dress code, impeccable service and great jazz... We are heading back there this week for lunch as we like it so much. This is the true essence of the Caribbean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lobster ALive”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unlike most other islands, fresh lobster is not common in Barbados..and it's not cheap either..but if you have a craving for it , then Lobster Live will fill you up and you will lick your fingers>
I particularly like the fact that it's right on the beach in Barbados.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoastalCarRentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Jazz”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited on a Sunday lunchtime, great location with wonderful jazz musicians playing as we ate. My partner had lobster which he said was delicious, and I had the lobster salad which was also great. Only criticism is that we ordered fries with our meal, and they arrived long after we had finished, despite reminding the waiting staff on several occasions

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberleyjane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lobster lovers paradise”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have to start by saying that I consider lobster to be a very overrated food - why go here? My wife loves eating lobster! The food was very fresh and met with her absolute approval so full marks there. The menu gives you a choice of small, medium and large ('no medium today, sir'). We asked for guidance as to the difference (don't know about you but I find weights hard to judge as a meal on a plate). We were helpfully informed that one was small, one medium and one large (but still no medium). We ordered a small and a large and a large is two smalls! Not hard to describe I thought. The atmosphere at lunchtime was OK, I thought it s bit scruffy, but it is a beachside bar. So in summary, if you love lobster, you'll love this place, there is other choice on the menu, but it is not extensive. Oh and by the way, it isn't cheap, but then where do you buy cheap lobster? Lunch with wine was £100 for two.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westyorkshireman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Alive also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Lobster Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing