We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Alive”
Review of Lobster Alive

Lobster Alive
Ranked #5 of 114 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $200
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The restaurant initially began as a wholesale distributor for the island's hotels and restaurants. Cooked takeaway service was added; along with a friendly free beer while you wait. Shortly after that the health inspector demanded we go the whole way or "wholesale only". This was around 1998. Long time friend and fellow musician with the local VSOP Jazz band "Stu Jenkins" became the resident artist (designer) and we named the up coming restaurant "LOBSTER ALIVE and all that Jazz". We felt our way; with many of the usual restaurant mistakes. But it seems now, we have scored quite well with international critics, restaurant guide books; and our many repeat customers.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lobster Alive”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Situated overlooking Carlisle Bay, feel the sand between your toes as you feast on the freshest of lobster - pick your own from the tank. All very friendly and relaxed but gets busy when the cruise ships come in.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GECMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    278
    106
    40
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was great”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The lobster was nice and super fresh, let me not forget to say it was also flavorful! Quite pleased...though I think it was a bit pricey. Oh, and service was fantastic!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, brilliant beach, a winner with all the family”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very good food, nice wine selection and a fantastic beach side restaurant with vies to match. We all really enjoyed this, the children loved picking out the live lobsters (although very large crayfish), and we all enjoyed the three different ways that the restaurant cooked them. Would recommend to all, especially if with children ( for lunch as we did not have time to go back in the evening when live jazz is also on.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pricey considering its not much better than a beach bar!! for the price you'd expect something a little more fancy! My husband eats lobster, I don't, and I was pretty appalled at how many lobsters were crammed into the tank, with not much room to move, very cruel. Won't be returning

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chorltonred11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummm”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was the second to the best meal we had on the island. It was wonderful. And i will be dining here again, anytime I'm on the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Alive also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Lobster Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing