We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobster Alive

Lobster Alive
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $200
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant initially began as a wholesale distributor for the island's hotels and restaurants. Cooked takeaway service was added; along with a friendly free beer while you wait. Shortly after that the health inspector demanded we go the whole way or "wholesale only". This was around 1998. Long time friend and fellow musician with the local VSOP Jazz band "Stu Jenkins" became the resident artist (designer) and we named the up coming restaurant "LOBSTER ALIVE and all that Jazz". We felt our way; with many of the usual restaurant mistakes. But it seems now, we have scored quite well with international critics, restaurant guide books; and our many repeat customers.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went on my first day in Barbados on strong recommendation from a friend. Spent $500 (Barbados) on lunch for 3 adults and 3 small kids. I'm expecting Michelin Star quality for that price and neither the food or service came close.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    259
    104
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a table a few days in advance as there were eight of us and didn't want to take a chance. We had booked a late lunch for 3pm but the heavens opened and they were able to seat us early. We had a table on the small decking area.

Most of us had the lobster which was very very tasty and cooked beautifully. Those that didn't have lobster enjoyed their meal too! The wine list was good. It was a nice way to spend a couple of rainy hours.

The service was very good and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“visitor enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

lobster place were visitor go and enjoy there self on the sand shore ,on nice cool air ,they enjoy barbados

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank verna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great lobster and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great low-key restaurant - particularly if you enjoy lobster. Don't be put off by the appearance of the restaurant from the outside. Go through the passage and sit at a table on the beach. The lobster is very good - but not too cheap. Allow $150 for lobster for two, with a few beers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lobster Alive~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a party of eight and everyone was very pleased with the food. We dined at night and atmospher and the jazz band were the icing on the cake! The building itself is nothing fancy but a nice place to end out wonderful day on the beach. Rum punch was very good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank belaireg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Alive also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Lobster Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing