We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobster Alive

Lobster Alive
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $200
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant initially began as a wholesale distributor for the island's hotels and restaurants. Cooked takeaway service was added; along with a friendly free beer while you wait. Shortly after that the health inspector demanded we go the whole way or "wholesale only". This was around 1998. Long time friend and fellow musician with the local VSOP Jazz band "Stu Jenkins" became the resident artist (designer) and we named the up coming restaurant "LOBSTER ALIVE and all that Jazz". We felt our way; with many of the usual restaurant mistakes. But it seems now, we have scored quite well with international critics, restaurant guide books; and our many repeat customers.
barbados
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

On the beach on Carlisle Bay .An easy walk from the centre of Bridgetown, High quality food served here but note this is not a sophisticated restaurant but has a good ambience Also this is a seasonal restaurant for lobster so check before you go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindy6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    259
    104
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If lobster is your thing...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took a trip out here for Sunday lunch and the Jazz while staying on the west coast. As you would expect, this place is all about the Lobster. Starters were ok - lobster bisque good other starters not so.

Lobsters were huge and very tasty - little choice to accompany them.

It is pretty much a shack on the beach but a fun place to watch the beach crowd and slurp wine and eat some of the best lobster you will find. Nothing more...but then do you need more?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PauliePie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have personally been here a few times on my travels, even if we are on a cruise , we make sure this is where it stops so we can hop off and get a meal at Lobster Alive, Its one of the few places I crave going back to and can never wait, it is what it is and dont want any more or less, thank you Art , last time I even forgot my Cap there, hopefully they kept it

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sherryl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“F-a-b-u-l-o-u-s!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent a lunch time at this small restaurant right on the beach. What an experience - fabulous and friendly staff and the lobster was to die for - just fantastic!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy lobster experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The lobsters are delicious. They are different from the lobsters we have back home from Maine but they are nonetheless yummy. The restaurant is on a beautiful beach near Bridgetown so it is good to combine the 2 experiences together. Expensive but well worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank Philly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Alive also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Lobster Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing