We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicous Lobster Spring rolls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lobster Alive

Lobster Alive
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $200
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant initially began as a wholesale distributor for the island's hotels and restaurants. Cooked takeaway service was added; along with a friendly free beer while you wait. Shortly after that the health inspector demanded we go the whole way or "wholesale only". This was around 1998. Long time friend and fellow musician with the local VSOP Jazz band "Stu Jenkins" became the resident artist (designer) and we named the up coming restaurant "LOBSTER ALIVE and all that Jazz". We felt our way; with many of the usual restaurant mistakes. But it seems now, we have scored quite well with international critics, restaurant guide books; and our many repeat customers.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicous Lobster Spring rolls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We walked to Lobster Alive from the Hilton, it was about a 30 minute walk with little kids with short legs. The kids enjoyed watching the lobsters in the giant lobster tank and the grownups enjoyed a table in the shade looking out on to the beautiful beach. The food was great our favorite was the lobster spring rolls. The whole lobster was delicious and my son loved the challenge of getting the meat out of the little lobster claws. Also good was the lobster pasta and lobster crepes. The lobster samosax were our least favorite of the things we ordered.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy_twin_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    265
    106
    40
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mahi Mahi was good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I had mahi mahi which consisted in 2 huge steaks of fish fries and salad. Good price-quality ratio

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debra_Shalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love/hate relationship with Lobster Alive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We visit Barbados at least once a year and usually go to Lobster Alive a couple of times each visit. As the reviews reflect it has a real mixture of both negative and positive attributes.

As for the good; it is really enjoyable to listen to a darned good jazz band and eat lobster while your feet are in the sand. Not to mention the view of Carlisle Bay.

And the bad; the service isn't the friendliest but don't take it personally, they treat everybody like that. Barbados is an island of such friendly people - what gives?. My husband jokes that he has to tip big because he believes that one day he will win over the ladies that work there. The food is extremely expensive compared to other restaurants in Barbados and the lobster can sometimes be a little tough. (stick to the lobster though)

Sometimes we swear we won't go back but we always do.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Fab experience - as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Everytime we go to Barbados we make sure we go back to Lobster Alive, which never fails to disappoint. The lobsters couldn't be fresher - they are alive and you "choose" them from the giant tank with the help of the hands-on chef, who weighs them in front of you and lets you hold them and take pictures if you like. Great for kids (and non-kids too in my case)!

They are normally steamed and accompanied by garlic butter and spicy fries. I asked for normal butter, no probs.
We shared extra-large lobsters (which didn't look enormous), one for each couple, and it cost less than getting an extra-small per head, so it's good value. But it's not cheap. Converted to pounds, our meal cost around £35 each (including soft drinks and coffee).

It's a really casual, relaxed place, with people wandering in from the glorious beach outside, so no stuffy dress code. Staff were very friendly, as usual, and service was fast and courteous.
Added bonus: The toilets, for which you have to ask for the key at the counter, are spotless.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lobster alive? What a dive!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

My boyfriend wanted to try lobster so I looked in the Barbados in a nutshell guide and saw this place. In the guide it clearly states that it has a varied menu with lots of non sea food options on it!!!!! I do not eat fish but as it said the menu was varied with lots of options I just figured I would try something else. When we arrived one of the front tables were occupied by an overweight man in swimming trunks just what you want to see while eating! We asked could we sit outside on the other table not being used and got a stern no. So we were led to a table inside that had not been cleared yet and given the menu. The place looked filthy and smelt repulsive. The waitress had an unbelievable attitude problem I can't believe she hasn't been fired. After looking at the menu that had only steak as the only non fish item on the menu we very politely said to the waitress that we were going to leave it as I wouldn't eat anything on the menu and sorry for the inconvienience. We got a mouthful of abuse and attitude saying "well it is called lobster alive what do you expect".. I left fuming. When we got back to our car I went and got the nutshell guide and went back into lobster alive to show how their advert said varied menu with lots of non sea food options and told them to change their ad. Please save your money this place is a dirty shack on the beach with views of sunbeds with immensely rude staff. The prices are similar to that of the cliff with the quality of chefette.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Littlechoobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Alive also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Lobster Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing