We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Sunday lunch bajan style”

Brown Sugar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 110 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional Sunday lunch bajan style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I went to brown sugar for a Sunday lunch buffet. It was excellent food, a huge variety and gave me the opportunity to try all the traditional delicacies I have read about. Amongst all the variety you can opt for a basic roast carvery style meal which some of the fussier eaters in my family would have appreciated had they been here. My top tip is to take your time and go course by course. I made the usual buffet mistake of piling my plate with salads as well as hot food and sauces. Next time I would go up for a soup, then go back for a salad, then hot food and of course the desserts and coffee. That would also have allowed me the flying fish as a fish course instead of balanced precariously on top of everything else!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    358
    198
    56
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for authentic Bajan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've just returned from a week's holiday in Barbados and our week wouldn't have been complete without having enjoyed the delicious lunch-time buffet at Brown Sugar!
They had a wonderful array of dishes, all Bajan style and for approximately £ 17 a head it was a veritable feast.
We had intended to go swimming with the turtles afterwards.....but settled for wallowing in the shallows!

The prices are considerably pricier in the evenings; so would recommend going for lunch in the first instance.
You wont be disappointed if you're searching for something typically traditional- complete with other customers in traditional wear(on the occasion we were there!)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DorsetJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Could have been better... a lot better.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We dined at this nearby restaurant January 23 2014. It had been recommended to us by our tour guide (as authentic Bajan cuisine) and we wanted to treat ourselves to a special evening out on the last night of our stay. The PROS: The restaurant itself presents itself very well as it is nicely decorated and laid out. Actually, it's a beautiful restaurant and this really got our hopes up that it would be a great experience. The menu is varied and offers a good selection of appetizers and dinners. The CONS: Way too expensive for the quality and quantity of food received. Quite frankly, we felt ripped off. $220 Bajan or $110 U.S. for 2 dinner (no starters) and one bottle of wine plus tip. We ordered the "mahi mahi" and the "seafood medley" options from the menu. The seafood medley was supposed to be a combination of fish, crab and shrimp baked "au gratin" ... well, I was able to find ONE shrimp and ZERO evidence of crab. But the worst thing about this place is the service, or more accurately, the LACK of service. We waited an entire hour from the time we received our wine and ordered our food until it arrived at the table. ONE HOUR! Unacceptable, especially since the place was not busy. Not recommended. Should have gone to Tapas, 39 Steps, The Deck, The Ackee Tree or even Blakey's for a better experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank budosempai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by the staff at our hotel (Radisson Aquatica) for its authentic Bajan food. We were not disappointed. Our bill came to US$75, which included a 1/2 bottle of wine, 2 mains (Flying Fish, including potatoes and vegetables) and dessert.The meals were more than adequate, with all items done to perfection. The dessert (coconut ice cream in a brandy snap bowl) was to die for! Our server was competent and gracious. For a special night out, it more than met our expectations; we knew it would cost a bit extra, so the prices weren't a shock, after seeing the cost of many things on this island.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard0851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a disappointment.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The staff were boarding on rude and the food was totally inedible. Most of it went back to the kitchen. It was also rushed and they almost pushed us out of there. Not a great experience. Wouldn't recommend it and wouldn't go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CNettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Restaurant also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Brown Sugar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing