We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Taste of Barbados”

Brown Sugar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Commack New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Taste of Barbados”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant is walking distance from The Hilton. The atmosphere is very nice. you feel like you are in someone's home. The food was delicious offering a sampling of bajan fish. chicken and pork. If you are on a budget, this place can get expensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank adyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    367
    203
    57
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The best pickled bread fruit in the Caribbean”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The welcoming the settings the set uo of dining room the atmosphere the service the murals the guests the music the quality this restaurant has it all 100 percent bajan cuisine at its best
All you can eat for a very good price healthy authentic West Indian dishes and dessert buffet is impressive a must go when in barbados !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seasunstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recommended: full of locals for lunch!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the TripAdvisor comments, before we went to Barbados, said "Authentic"; another said "traditional Bajan cuisine", so this was on our list even before we got there. When we mentioned to Ted (see Ted's Tours; highly recommended) that we were going he too said it was a good choice. We were not disappointed!
It was a steamy hot day, we were wilted from a morning of Bridgetown shopping, and we were a bit dismayed to find the entire restaurant is al fresco: no A/C! But after we were seated, in a garden setting, the breeze proved sufficient to lower our temperature (and our tempers!)
The cuisine truly is Bajan, served buffet style. All the expected dishes were there: fried flying fish, fish cakes, macaroni pie (I had three helpings!), peas and rice, fried plantains. There were also a couple of traditional stews: fish, lamb and beef. Everything I tried was very good to excellent (I still prefer the macaroni pie in Oistins!) and, since it was all-you-can-eat you can keep going back until you can't eat any more.
As far as we couldd tell, we were the only tourists in the whole place; all our fellow diners were formally dressed for the office with ties and skirt. Our casual attire was not a problem, however.
The service was appropriate with drinks and refills when needed.
Before we left we asked whether they had a recipe book, and they brought us the generic "Bajan Cooking: In a Nutshell". I hope they take my advice and develop one with their own recipes; their version of Bajan cooking deserves to be shared!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tobocrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flavourful”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great food and great atmosphere. The soap in the picture was very nice, a must have. Had a wonderful time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This restaurant was located within walking distance to hotel I was staying.

The place is quite cosy with a relaxing feel. Lots of plants.

Our meal was tasty and the waitress was helpful in our selections.

It was quiet for a Saturday night, so that suited us perfectly.

No complaints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Restaurant also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Brown Sugar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing