We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Famous but Disinterested”

Brown Sugar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 110 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
RADLETT
Level Contributor
179 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Famous but Disinterested”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a well know Bajun restaurant and renowned for ot's business lunch buffet. We went for a la carte dinner!!! Oh dear....We were gretted and attended too with total indifference despite trying to learn about and try typical Bajan fare. The food was tasteless and uninteresting and nobidy cared at all. Definitely not worth going.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMLRadlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    358
    198
    56
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We also tried the restaurant on buffet evening, which the owner tells us he offers once a week for 39 USD, including a drink (small fruit punch +/- rum) and dessert. The selection was good: 5 types of salad, flying fish fried or grilled, lamb, a meat stew, pudding, other fried fish, seafood curried stew, macaroni pie, and dessert: coconut bread, cheese cake, jell-o, chocolate cake, bread pudding.
The restaurant is located a few minutes on your way out of the Hilton towards Bridgetown. As stated by the previous reviewer, you are removed from the coast, buried in a setting of lush vegetation. Two musicians were playing. We were seated away from them and so not too bothered.
The service was good. It was a buffet, but our plates were removed inna timely fashion and water replenished promptly.

Helpful?
Thank Jell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Brown Sugar is located a little bit away from mainstream Bridgetown closer to the Hilton. The restaurant is clean but does not offer any scenic views. As the buffet was the only available option, we decided to try it to experience Bajan cuisine. There was a good mix of dishes all with unique tastes. Fish, baked chicken were good but the roast beef was rather bland and tough to chew. Several desserts are offered in the buffet price but none stood out. Overall, I'd say the food is good minus the beef, if you wish to try Bajan cuisine for the first time. However, if you are looking for a scenic view, this place will not offer that. We were well attended to and the price is not outrageous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hipoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had battered coconut prawns for starter which was really nice, then flying fish for main and a bread and butter type pudding which was lush! My husband had a prawn curry which he said was nice. Just a nice local restaurant

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mousekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“LOVELY SETTING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a meal here on recommendation of our taxi driver. We were glad we did. The food was so tasty. The prawns were very good, and all meals ordered by our family were excellent. The restaurant is very spacious, and you didn't feel like you were on top of the next table. The service is first class. We will definately eat here again when we return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misty214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Restaurant also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Brown Sugar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing