We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Buffet”

Brown Sugar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
St. Louis, MO USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average Buffet”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Brown Sugar is located a little bit away from mainstream Bridgetown closer to the Hilton. The restaurant is clean but does not offer any scenic views. As the buffet was the only available option, we decided to try it to experience Bajan cuisine. There was a good mix of dishes all with unique tastes. Fish, baked chicken were good but the roast beef was rather bland and tough to chew. Several desserts are offered in the buffet price but none stood out. Overall, I'd say the food is good minus the beef, if you wish to try Bajan cuisine for the first time. However, if you are looking for a scenic view, this place will not offer that. We were well attended to and the price is not outrageous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hipoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    372
    205
    57
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had battered coconut prawns for starter which was really nice, then flying fish for main and a bread and butter type pudding which was lush! My husband had a prawn curry which he said was nice. Just a nice local restaurant

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mousekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“LOVELY SETTING”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a meal here on recommendation of our taxi driver. We were glad we did. The food was so tasty. The prawns were very good, and all meals ordered by our family were excellent. The restaurant is very spacious, and you didn't feel like you were on top of the next table. The service is first class. We will definately eat here again when we return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misty214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Authentic Bajan food - buffet style”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am sometimes put off by buffet dining - I like to be served at the table - but this is a definite exception! The food is typically Bajan, and the lunch menu is exceptional value for money ($55 BDS per person). The variety of food is amazing, and the quality is first class. You can pile your plate high, but make sure you leave room for dessert too! :) I ate here with two Bajans, both of whom also raved about the food.
The welcome and service were warm and efficient, and the fact that this is buffet dining means you have less dependency on the server. Nonetheless, our water was kept topped up throughout the meal.
There are many overpriced restaurants in Barbados, but this is certainly not one of them, and I cannot wait to return. I'm hungry now just thinking about it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barryjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Brilliant Monday night buffet”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited on a Monday evening, didn't realise this was a buffet night but am so glad we visited. The waitress walked us around the buffet and told us about everything, really helpful. The service was very good, but the food was amazing! We tried so much we would never have ordered off the a la carte, left feeling very full and satisfied.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglandCls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Restaurant also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Brown Sugar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing