We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Lunch Buffet”

Brown Sugar Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Bridgetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Good Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great for lunch. A wide variety of Bajan cuisine in a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHNSED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    363
    201
    57
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must go”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

When visiting Barbados enjoy a superb local cuisine night at Brown Sugar.
Top food and service in ideal setting.
A three course meal and drinks(rum and cokes plus beer) cost £60 for the two of us which was excellent value for the evening.
Make a reservation and go!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hally31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, OK food”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Great service, friendly staff. Very good and strong rum punch. The flying fish and baked potatoes are good. Everything else was average. The environment was OK, no AC, tree frogs are loud, I got Mosquitos bites on my legs and arms.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farmsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Friendly relaxing atmostphere”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had a reservation for a meal on a Monday night, when we arrived we were advised to try the buffet. We were shown all on offer before we decided. We were given a lovely table in a very relaxed atmosphere. We decided to try the buffet. We were not disappointed at all, there was plenty of choice and you could go back as many times as you could manage. The pepperpot and stew lamb was excellent. The service was great and the food was excellent especially if you know caribbean food. The waitresses were very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the buffet so much we decided to go the following evening for the restaurant meal and again were not disappointed. The restaurant was a short walk from the Hilton where we were staying. The Manager Viincent was extremely friendly and welcomed you with open arms. All in all an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Hopper2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average if not a little disappointing!”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The menu is mid-priced for the area and the ambience and service fits the bill.  However, the food was disappointing.  Portions were very small for the prices and the shrimps didn't make me feel I was eating the best of the local catch. I had crab cakes for starter which was nice followed by coconut shrimp curry which was tasteless.  The bread pudding with rum source was tasty but not good enough to overcome the feeling that I'd paid over the odds when the bill came! 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Restaurant also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Brown Sugar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing