We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelled Expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelled Expectations.”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We have just returned form the Island Inn on the 10th January 2011. This was a late booking due to the snowy conditions at home, we had some concerns that this hotel was only graded at 3 stars but only going for a week we decided to take the risk.
How wrong we were, and delighted at the hotel when we arrived, what a find and I reluctantly write this review as I would like to keep this place a secret and ensure availability for the next time we want to go.
The hotel has been refurbished recently and has a modern boutique apperance, the bedrooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard. The air conditioning is the best yet, quiet but very efficient and easy to use. Whilst we were there , there were only 26 guests in the hotel which lent itself to being a house party, the ambience was relaxed and friendly with all the guests mingling easily around the bar or courtyard in an evening. The service was personal and attentive, the staff really could not have been better and the humourous banter was an added bonus. The food was simple and not much choice , but it was always cooked and presented well, breakfast was served buffet style and you could order omletts , poached or fried eggs if you wished. Other meals were mostly served to the table and you choose from a menu that gave two choices for each course.
The bar stocked most drinks but closed at 11pm, this was not a problem for us as we ordered two drinks before it closed and then went to bed around 12 ish. If you like a party holiday this is not the place for you , or if you have teenagers! Most of the guests were middle aged. The beautiful beach is a 3 minute stroll away, but there are no sunbeds to hire and this was a bit of a problem, if only the hotel could provide a folding chair or sunbed to hire for the stay it would be perfect. I have made this suggestion.
However I am a fequent visitor to the Carribean and was delighted with this hotel the staff and the location and will definitely be going back. In my opinion this hotel has been under rated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186337Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    155
    59
    18
    12
See reviews for
56
355
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uybouyb
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We had 9 nights at the Island Inn for our honeymoon, and it was truly magnificent. We wanted something small that didn't have the over-opulent resort feel, but having an all-inclusive package was important, because we didn't want to have to think about meals three times a day. This was perfect. The food was great, the staff wonderful, the other guests very friendly but not prying. We had a good look around the island too, and we think the best beach was Pebbles, which is 50m from the hotel. It's a beautiful 15 min walk up the beach to Bridgetown, so it's close enough to the action if you want to go looking for it. Magnificent snorkelling 200m north up the beach too. Barbados is a perfect size for a week trip too - big enough to look around, but not so big that it takes too long. We would recommend the Island Inn very highly, particularly for a quiet honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guygiuyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel when all the refurbishment was going on the bar or rooms wernt even ready. But the staff at the hotel was fantastic stayed across the road and had our meals at the island inn with everything going on nothing was to much trouble for them all are friendly great small hotel will recommened it to anyone

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueb2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed at the Island Inn for just one night following a trans-Atlantic cruise on Silversea's Silver Cloud. Our travel agent located this all-inclusive little gem of a property and we're glad he did. It was just perfect for our needs.

We arrived and were shown to a newly refurbished room (#22) right in front of the pool. It was just lovely. At 6:45, we were treated to a Manager's Cocktail reception, followed by a BBQ dinner alfresco, with a DJ playing tunes for our enjoyment.

The next morning, we had to wake up very early (4:30 a.m.) to catch our flight home. When we arrived at the airport, I realized that I had left my diamond earrings at the hotel--aaah!! I phoned the hotel before getting on the airplane and the front desk clerk said she would inform both the housekeeper and the manager of what had happened. Upon arriving in Miami 4 hours later, I phoned the manager, Thora, to see if the earrings had been found. Indeed, they had been, and we made arrangements for them to be FedX'd to my home.

24 hours later, they arrived on my doorstep. Thanks to everyone at the Island Inn. especially the manager, Thora. If I had been staying at a larger hotel, I doubt I would have had this outcome.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FitTravellerLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Just returned from our 9th visit to this beautiful island and hotel - we love it. Re-firb still in progress but does not stop you enjoying everything about the hotel. The staff are great, the food is very nicely done with a good choice, the rooms are very, very nice to what they were and the ambionce is wonderful. We love it there and its a very small hotel so you meet the other guests and it becomes a large family atmosphere - great. Roll on next year when we shall go again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzimoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh-on-sea, essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Our 21 year old daughter treated us to a holiday at the Island Inn as a "Thank You" for her education - she had graduated from Cambridge in June and wanted to spend some quality time with us and totally chill out after working so hard for her degree and completing her successful Internship, before she started work.

The flight with Virgin was a pleasure and the usual "arrival chores" at the airport were none too stressful. We were greeted by our transfer with cooling bottles of iced water and were soon on our way. We arrived at the Island Inn in no time and were delighted to discover that we had indeed arrived at an "Island Paradise". Our room was brand new - we were the first guests to stay in it - and can only be described as what one would expect to find in one of the best boutique hotels. We spent the first evening sipping cocktails in the courtyard and were warmly welcomed to the weekly Manager's Cocktail Party. Thora, the Manager, is one of the nicest people you could hope to meet and even joined in the dancing with us on our second week at the next cocktail party. The food was really good, albeit not quite as good as the food at its sister hotel, Mango Bay, which we visited on two occasions during our stay (this is complementary as part of your stay at II).

Breakfast was buffet style but orders were taken for eggs, omelettes, etc. Celerine, our waitress, couldn't do enough for us and always welcomed us with a beaming smile. Lunch and Dinner was a la carte, with 2 choices of starter, 3 choices of main course and mostly a choice of ice-cream for dessert, but other choices became available for dessert as our holiday neared its end. A choice of white, red or rose wine was served at dinner and was available, on request, at lunch.

Drinks were in abundance and were not restricted to local spirits and included a wide range of premium brands (there was even more choice at Mango Bay). The bar staff were more than attentive and went out of their way to provide more than 100 per cent service. Most of the staff have been at the II for many years and it is obvious that they have a real affection for the place and the guests. We were made to feel part of the family.

The hotel has recently undergone a complete refurbishment and looks amazing. The pool, although small, was kept spotlessly clean and was perfectly adequate for our needs and was much deeper than the pool at Mango Bay. There was no shortage of sunloungers; however, cushions on the beds would have improved the comfortability factor and, due to the shortage of shade, umbrellas need to be provided. Our suggestions were listened to and we were given to understand that umbrellas would be ordered and that fans were being ordered for the dining and bar area, which was uncomfortably hot at times.

We spent most evenings, after dinner, sitting in the courtyard with our fellow guests, discussing everything under the sun and putting the world to rights. In the first week, our daughter, Hayley, must have felt that she was on a SAGA holiday, as the average age of the other guests, including ourselves, was 50+. However,, she thoroughly enjoyed the company and was pleasantly surprised by the arrival of some younger guests in the second week, including a couple on their honeymoon. Hayley went clubbing with a young American guest to Harbour Lights (fantastic value at 30 Barbados Dollars for entrance and all your drinks) and felt very safe walking there and taking a cab back., There seemed no problem with walking anywhere but you were advised not to walk on the beach at night - which seemed only common sense, as you would never consider doing that at home! We walked along the beach into Bridgetown on more than one occasion and had great fun using the local buses everywhere, including to/from Mango Bay. Oistins Fish Friday is a must as is the duty free shopping in Bridgetown.

Hayley was very impressed with the free Wi-Fi. During our stay there were between 9 and 14 guests; this was partly due to the fact that only 10 rooms were ready - the other rooms having been finished but mattresses for the beds were awaiting delivery.

We had a fantastic stay and cannot praise the II highly enough. Earl and Cain were amazing and the staff "go the extra mile" (with one or two exceptions, but that is bound to be the case) and would jump over hoops, if you asked them to. If anyone wants to see the ultimate in "multi-tasking", they should look no further than the Island Inn.

My husband and Hayley dived with the dive shop in the grounds of the Hilton Hotel and were delighted with the service. Their first choice was Eco Dive but they were uncontactable while we were there. They also experienced the Segway Tour and had a fantastic time, during which they were filmed by Carnival Cruise Line and will no doubt be showing in a cabin near you in the not too distant future. We all took the lunch cruise with Calabaza and had an amazing time. Swimming with the turtles was the most amazing experience of our lives and is something we will cherish for ever. The crew were amazing and we had a whale of a time with the other guests on board. The beauty of the Calabaza is that she only takes a maximum of 12 guests, so you are made to feel that extra bit special. We dropped anchor for lunch outside the villa that Simon Cowell uses in the X Factor - it was gorgeous (a snip at 1.3 million US Dollars rental a week).

This was our first visit to Barbados and it most certainly will not be our last. We wont be back for a few years (and we don't usually holiday in the same place twice) but when we do, we will most certainly be heading back to the Island Inn., It is a hidden paradise and anyone who stays there will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smiler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Just spent a week at the Island Inn. As previous guests we were delighted to be shown our room. No. 14 (although it had No. 12 on the door). It was stunning. The food was diabolical, really gone downhill. The service was worse than the food. Some of the staff were ok, some rude. We won't be going again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#1 of 9 in Hastings
501 reviews
12.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing