We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“staycation with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Island Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Island Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“staycation with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Just return from a family staycation ,we had an enjoyable time at the resort.On arrival the front desk clerk Carol greeted and check us in and we was taken to our room.
On entering it was afternoon tea so we enjoyed that then hit pool.
The staff in all departments were friendly and helpful especially the waitress can,t remember her name and barman Jamal who my step son met and enjoyed his milkshakes
The meals were great thumbs up to the chef and his team for wonderful work.
We had a superior garden view room from bed to bath was perfect,spacious and lovely decor.We had a lovely king size bed and 2 twin beds for kids.On arrival to room it was spotless to t and up to standard.Keep ip the good work housekeeping staff,we loved our room only fault was no wifi in it.
The kids enjoyed the pool, thats all they kept nagging bout if they could stay in it hold day and night they would.
Our weekend was a bomb me and my boyfriend enjoyed it,would love to treat him alone for bithday in September .
What a ball thanks again to all the staff ....... see you all soon again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank rina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    140
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
48
321
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a lovely week at the Island Inn. The staff were so friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the food. It is nice to have the meals waitress served, which is quite unusual in an all-inclusive hotel, and we found this to be much more relaxing.

We had a standard courtyard room, which we were completely satisfied with. It was kept very clean. Good quality toiletries are provided, as well as a free in-room safe, iron and ironing board, and a kettle and tea/coffee tray (even though there is a tea/coffee machine available 24 hours a day).

As previous reviewers have said, the manager's BBQ party on Wednesday evenings is a nice touch.

We were lucky enough to see the monkeys in the hotel grounds on a couple of occasions, which was a lovely experience.

One minute's walk away is Pebbles Beach which is absolutely lovely, and probably the best beach in the area.

Thanks to all the staff who worked so hard to make us feel welcome.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are great, so anything above would be a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Janet2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having read a previous review I wonder whether we went to the same place. From the minute we arrived I could hardly find fault with anything at the Island Inn.
We wanted a quiet, relaxing holiday and that is exactly what we got. Having read previous reviews and the history of the location we knew the accommodation wasn't going to be seven star luxury. However, it was extremely comfortable and kept wonderfully clean. That also extended to the outside areas of the courtyard and swimming pool. You could always find someone cleaning or clearing up somewhere throughout the day.
I have to take a different view of the staff from a previous review. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They all seemed to be enjoying their work too, unless every one of them put on an act for ten days. In fact it was great sitting in the bar and hearing music and laughter coming from the kitchen. People don't usually laugh and sing at work if they are unhappy and miserable with their job. In particular I think Ceciline, Ahmal and Earl deserve special attention (along with the manager). They all made our holiday one to remember.
The close proximity to the beach meant we could take a stroll down and enjoy the sunset and return for a drink in the bar before dinner.
Would we return to Barbados? I think a resounding YES.
Would we return to the Island Inn? A resounding YES, especially if the same staff were there.
I think a number of named brand hotels could learn something about customer service from this small hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 21clyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Island Inn and was delighted with the ambiance of this wee little gem. Tucked away in a side street and just a few minutes walk from the beach where we swam and snorkelled every day. If you want to get up really early (like 6am) you can share the sea with the local racehorses who are exercised there. The racecourse is only a short walk from the hotel and definitely worth a visit if the races are on. We walked into Georgetown and back although there is a local bus service you can hail down from the roadside. We would recommend a tour of the island and that can be organised through the hotel reception. Great value for money and very entertaining. The hotel rooms were spacious and very clean and the (very necessary) air conditioning was a very needed relief from the heat as it was still very hot in September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I just got back from staying at this property and it was wonderful. I went to celebrate my mums 50th and I know we both thoroughly enjoyed it. In fact our only regret is not staying longer. All the staff were really nice Angela Imani and the manageress but I want to give a special appreciation to Carol in front desk who really went the extra mile to make our stay special and nothing was too much and her patience with us through a misunderstanding. I have said she is my new Bajen mum. The hotel is small but it's so lovely all the personal touches they do to make you welcome, you don't feel like your another guest, you feel like family. I loved the little invite we got to the managers cocktail party and it's hand delivered and very personal. The food is really nice and it is a good variety of local and international meals. It's a very short walk to the beach and the beach is wonderful. The rooms are spacious, with nice decor. Again I want to say thank you to all staff at the Island inn and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Temi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was different to what we would usually go for because it was only small but staff were all lovely, always happy to help. The manageress, Earl and Sharon were both great. Our room was spacious and very well air conditioned. The food wasn't amazing but good enough. To be fair we didn't dine at the hotel all the time because you can't spend too much time at the hotel in a beautiful country like barbados. We was delayed for 24 hours due to the aeroplane fault and they put us up at barbados beach hotel not a patch on island inn. Great location too. Thank you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Smileyinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Myself and 5 other ladies stayed here for a week, celebrating my 40th birthday. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was great, most of the staff were fantastic! (Only a couple weren't as nice, but it certainly didn't spoil the holiday or mood) unfortunately on the Friday evening we were supposed to be going to oistins but the weather put stop to that, it rained that evening. The hotel was only too happy to let us put our music on at the bar and have a little party, the manageress, barman and security guy all happily joined in and danced with us. It is a fab hotel and you certainly shouldn't be put off by Anne W's review, we heard from other guests about her, who had the pleasure of her company and sounds like she wanted Sandy Lanes service at Pontins prices! The food was lovely, rooms were lovely, staff great and overall a wonderful little hotel. Please don't let that review put you off and read the others...can't please everyone, but they certainly made our holiday a good one!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,842 reviews
5.6 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Saint Peter Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
7.6 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, West Indies, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing