We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little hotel anywhere.”
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Island Inn has pulled us back many times over the past twenty years
It was fabulouse to see old friends again, patrons as well as the wonderful
Staff .The opportunity to a quiet couples holiday or an inclusive get together
With other guests is the perfect recipe for a stress free "laid back" holiday on
Beutifull Barbados.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 587 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have just finished 16 days at the hotel. It's not everyone's cup of tea - small with only 24 rooms and a very small pool. 100 yard walk to the beach in Carlisle Bay where the racehorses from the track go for a swim in the early mornings. Food is excellent and most rooms are OK - we had one of the 4 suites adjacent to the pool. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and most even remembered our names!

They do get fully booked and we had to move for our last 3 days to another hotel - unfortunately we chose the new Sandals resort and I wrote a review yesterday which was somewhat less than enthusiastic!

We will return next year!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room described as having a pool or garden view. Some of the rooms are facing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at the idyllic Island Inn where we celebrated my 50th birthday. As previously mentioned the Island Inn is very small but this is part of its charm, the staff were so welcoming and friendly and very attentive to our needs. The food was excellent, the menu choices are limited compared to larger hotels however it was definitley a case of quality over quantity! The accomodation was great, room cleaned and bedding and towels changed daily. The other guests were all very nice including the large wedding party who we had some great laughs with. There is no sea view from any of the rooms but the gorgeous Pebbles beach is literally on the doorstep, as beaches go it has to be in my top 10! On the 2nd day of my stay I had a slight mishap (not at the hotel) and unfortunately spent the next 2 weeks in a wheelchair. Thank goodness we were at the Island Inn, the staff and other guests could not have been kinder or more helpful which enabled us to make the best of a sometimes very difficult situation. We cannot wait to return to this amazing place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just got back from the Island Inn and after reading some of the previous reviews, not sure if I stayed at the same place!!!! They were so amazing to us after a long delay, Earl took our cases to our room so we could just have a drink and chill. The Island Inn is very small but because of this its perfect, the food is outstanding you never had to book a table and the staff remembered what you liked to drink. We never had a bad meal and certainly never waited any length of time (the hotel was full) The manager Miss Brown is just amazing and because of her and her management skills her staff are too. We met some lovely people there and we laughed from the minute we got there to the minute we left. When I got sunburn they even offered to get some Aloe Vera for me. My only negative would no cushions on the sun loungers!!!! Our room was great - No 18 and the beds were very comfortable, cleaned every day and fresh towels. This is a very unique resort and if you like big all inclusive hotels then this won't be for you. The beach is literally a stones throw away and is so beautiful that the guests from the Hilton come down to this beach as its much calmer to swim in. There is a little shack on the beach which serves really cheap drinks and amazing fish rolls, however, you can just walk back for lunch if you wish. All in all one of the best holidays I have ever had, and I cannot wait to go back. Thank you to everyone that works at the Island Inn

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julie-torre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked this well in advance and for my wife's 60th birthday. The hotel is converted from a small courtyard type building and has only 24 units. We were attracted by reviews and the thought that a small all inclusive restaurant would be much better than a large one. We were very happy with the room and with the staff. On reflection we would have preferred a sea view (the sea was only 100 yards away) but that was our fault. The courtyard around the pool was fine except that a wedding party of guests sometimes made it rather noisy. Meals were all extremely edible but frankly not up to the standard that I expected for the fee paid. The social life at the hotel was however a very pleasant experience. As it is so small one would end up talking (and dancing) with most of the other guests. No strong negative points but we will go for a sea view next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRJ792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first visit to Barbados and we were not disappointed. A small hotel with a big personality. Great staff, reasonable food and good location. Yes service at meals could be slow but you have to realise that this is Barbados time and just relax. I can't really add to what others have put so just read through the reviews and make your own minds up. If you want five star then this isn't for you but if you want a quiet relaxing holiday with decent food and friendly staff then give this place a go. It is three star but three star at its best. We stayed in a standard courtyard room which was nice, we did experience a problem and were moved to a room nearer the pool, this was also nice so I would say that it doesn't really matter which room you choose.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We chose this hotel because it only has 24 rooms we wanted a small quiet hotel and thats exactly what we got. We had room 14 and it was beautifula nd peaceful all the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The only disappointing thing was that a large party turned up for a wedding this is NOT the hotel for large parties it is too small. we would not hesitte to recommend this hotel or to return to it.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the pool, ideally a suite. When we booked from the UK both First choice and Virgin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#1 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bridgetown, Barbados
2.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range: $241 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing