We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Firstly, thank you Sharon and everyone at the Island Inn for a fantastic week in Barbados. There is not much more to add to the positive reviews here, its small, intimate, great location, great rooms and great food. Yes, its not your normal all inclusive with loads of choice but who cares. Its been touched upon before but the repeat visitors speaks volumes, it can seem a bit like a Caribbean home for the more mature guests (only joking) so not really one for the youngsters but thats a positive in my book as the guests add to the ambience and not noise. You can go for more luxury, partying and glamour elsewhere but the Island Inn is just a perfect little classy oasis. We flew with Thomas Cook and the St Lucia drop/pick up is an unwanted hour on a runway but the value for money outweighs this. Thanks again Island Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avisius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    161
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
59
364
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife & I spent a week @ the Island Inn in Sept. '12 for our honeymoon (review long overdue!). Very romantic atmosphere, food was superb, service was friendly and location was ideal. Nearby beach (Carlisle Bay - 2 min. walk, if that) was pristine and quite enjoyable. Can't go wrong with this European style (i.e. non-Sandals like) all-inclusive gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MainLineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just completed 2wks stay with my husband at this Hotel. Lovely,peaceful,unique,little 24 room A.I hotel. We enjoyed everything about our stay. Met some lovely people. Staff very warm and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Sharon on reception so bubbly! Food mainly a la carte,lots of variety, which was just enough and very well presented.Lovely beaches on your doorstep and the horse racing up the road was an amazing experience. We loved this little hideaway retreat which was within easy reach by bus,to all this beautiful island has to offer.A very big thank you to everyone of you at the hotel.We have stayed in bigger hotels in Barbados but enjoyed the cosy feel to the Island Inn.

Room Tip: We imagine all rooms are peaceful due to the hotel's layout.Our garden view room was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hello2uLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Small hotel rooms spotless friendly staff.near fantastic beach and lots of local history.Easy to walk into Bridgetown took us about 15 mins most of which you can do a long the beach.Food ok and services nice.Barmen Jerry and Earl charming.

Room Tip: Go for room not so close to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were on a caribbean Cruise last December, and our last day was spent on carlisle beach in Barbados. We had booked the Island Inn a year ago for our 35th Wedding Anniversary, and wanted to have a look. Arrived there early afternoon, a lady was on reception, and we said we would be holidaying at the hotel next May for 2 weeks. She looked at us and was a bit annoyed we had asked her if we could have a look around. We had a look around, not very impressive, and looked at the menu for lunch that day which was a hot dog and chips. We went back to reception, the lady said any good, to which we just left. It would have been nice to have been shown around by someone. We left thinking what have we done booking this hotel, it is for a special occasion, and a lot of money. When we arrived back home, we couldn't think of spending 2 weeks at Island Inn, so have cancelled the holiday and booked a cruise, where we know the food, accommodation and entertainment will be fantastic.

Room Tip: think again about spending a lot of money to go here
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for five nights after returning from a seven day cruise out of Barbados. Located two minutes from the glorious beach in the centre of Carlisle Bay with the huge Hilton Hotel at one end of the bay and the Radisson at the other. If you want the size, amenities and sophistication of the Hilton then this is not the place for you.Iif you want a small intimate hotel with superb service from a very friendly and helpful staff with a superb location which allows you to walk into Bridgetown along the beach in one direction and to Worthing using the new Boardwalk and beach in the other direction then this will suit you well. Within minutes of walking you are at the race track with George Washington House, Museum and Garrison all around.
We had a poolside room which was well appointed as was the bathroom. Buffet breakfast which contained a range of options and lunch and dinner were a mixture of buffet and Silver Service. Always a choice of starter and Maine course with a vegetarian option always available. Food was good but simple presentation did not do it justice. Drinkable red and white Spanish wines served with the meals and your glass was readily refilled throughout the meal.
Small pool but most of the guests preferred to swim in the sea. Many of the guests were repeat visitors which speaks for itself. If I had one reservation about the hotel it is the way it is laid out with rooms and public areas facing inwards round a courtyard area. This means that if you want open vistas or sea views you have to go out of the hotel.
Staff are superb with many having worked at the hotel for many years. Unfair to pick out individuals but Jeanette, Angela/A and Doris in the restaurant, Sharon and Carol at reception and Jerry in the bar all contributed to five very enjoyable days which rounded off our Caribbean holiday on a high note. We would certainly use the hotel again before or after cruising from Barbados.

Room Tip: Go for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Have just returned home from our 6th holiday at the Island Inn, our second home!! Everything is just so lovely here, the Staff, the food, the atmosphere and the location. To see the regular staff year after year is just wonderful, they are so part of the family, and they are so keen to make sure you have a lovely holiday. One to two new faces this year, Jerry, the new barman, is a wonderful addition to the team, what a character!!!!

Some subtle changes within the restaurant menu have been made which has added to the quality and variety of the menus. Also, the buffet menus have been tweaked which again has given a little more variety.

Naturally, all the little issues of flooding near the southern block, the roof leaking in part of the restaurant are all still the same, however, when it rains, it rains, and there is not a lot you can do about it!!!! One new addition this year, is a well-equipped gym, which was proving to be quite popular.

Whilst we met up with friends who, like us, are regular guests, we also met new visitors, the majority of which, will be returning.

Thank you, once again, Thora and all your wonderful staff for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: A room in the Souther block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbadosER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.5 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#3 of 9 in Hastings
612 reviews
12.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing